We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel is in a quiet street near the lake and a church. However, just a minute stroll and you are right in the centre of town with great access to all the shops, pubs, restaurants nearby and also perfectly placed for a lake side walk. The reception staff have someone who can park your car for you in their car park for no additional cost, so you can literally park up outside and go in and they will park your car for you. They also have a few places immediately outside the hotel which is useful for those with mobility issues or small children.

The hotel isn't what I expect from a five star but is certaily a four star. The room we had overlooked the lake and was large and comfortable. Rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the lake.

Dinner and drinks are very expensive. We did eat in the restaurant on the first night and used a gourmet society card which gives you 25% off the total bill so that helped. But you are so well placed to walk to other pubs and restaurants nearby so it isn't a problem Would recommend THE ALBERT pub. The food is lovely and well presented and the choice was excellent as was the price. You pay approx £14.95 for two courses. Also JACKSONS bistro was good but you need to book there at Easter hols etc.

The hotel has a library room with comfy seating and games like scrabble etc in there which was a nice place to spend an hour or so in the evening. On one evening we took the game into the bar and ordered peppermint tea for two and it cost £9.10 for two teas! No wonder the bar is so empty. Have to say we found the staff in the restaurant and at breakfast and in the bar absolutely lovely. They were friendly, courteous and attentive. However, with so much competition on the doorstep the prices of food and drinks need to be addressed!

We really enjoyed our stay here. The Spa is wonderful and the spa manager and the therapist I had were brilliant. The spa gets incredibly busy so booking ahead is advisable and ask about the deal of the month. I had a ginger and salt glow treatment that came with an excellent Elemis gift and really couldn't fault this spa in any way and I have used many! I would have booked more treatments but it was fully booked throughout the Easter week. During the holidays the pool is available to children from approx 10am till 7pm. So if you want kid free swimming go out of the school hols.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    824
    440
    214
    134
See reviews for
470
1,677
44
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

A fantastic location, right on the lake with fantastic views of the lake from the very relaxing traditional sitting room/bar. Not all rooms have wifi. We stayed over Easter where they really ramp up the room prices. We checked in and were given a room which was very dated (room 219). It was steet side and the to see out the window you had to stand on the window sill and for £200 per night (excluding breakfast) quite frankly it is a rip off. To their credit I went to reception and said that I didn't think the room was satisfactory, they staff knew of the room (and the one next door - room 220) and agreed and changed us to a recently modernised room which was very nice. The staff are friendly enough. We'll definitely stay again (and avoid rooms 219 & 220).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grunta22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have just spent a wonderful weekend at the Macdonald Old England Hotel and Spa. We were given this weekend away by our Son and Daughter and families to celebrate our Golden Wedding as we spent our honeymoon at the Old England. We arrived at 1.00p.m on Friday lunchtime and my husband went into reception and we were told our room was ready for us. The consierge came out and took our luggage out of the car, parked the car for us and then took us to our room with the luggage, the view from the lounge area of our suite was magnificent. The views from the dining room were wonderful and the two evening meals we had were excellent as was the wine and the service was first class. The bed was really comfortable and we found the supply of toilet preparations very good and the bathrobes very soft and fluffy. The coffee making facilities were excellent. Everything about our weekend was wonderful made so by such pleasant surroundings and very helpful and smart staff.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Macdonald Old England in Bowness, Windermere last October. They had a discount rate which made it more attractive even though we have paid full price before.

It is a lovely hotel, bed and continental breakfast, though an English breakfast is available at a small cost.
The rooms are very comfy and we always managed to get a Lake view which is absolutley fabulous on a sunny autumn morning. The bars are also very pleasant and the lounge has window table and chairs to which you can while away just watching the lake and various boats and launches coming and going.

All in all this is a great hotel with alot of amenities and local area with a variety of shops and pubs.
You could even take a stroll up into Windermere which takes a around 30 minutes passing some wonderful scenery, small cafes and pubs.

Try it.

Johnny Quest

Room Tip: Always ask for a lake side view as the rooms tend to be quieter. Look out for special offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuestyOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

What a great place to stay and an amazing location too, right in the centre within walking distance of everything! Glorious afternoon tea on the Terrace and beautiful views over the lake - what could be more English than that. Great friendly staff and excellent service to go with it, just perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizwhitenlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

After working in the holistics business for over 10 years and having taught in the industry, including teaching some of the Macdonald girls in the past, my treatment at The Old England Spa was brilliant.

My therapist not only has a clear natural aptitude as a therapist but was also attentive, professional, respectful and gave a downright super treatment, which I know calls on a lot of factors being right and they were.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wompie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stopped in here for a quick drink whilst in Bowness last week. I ordered a glass of wine, I was offered a large one that I accepted, two lemonades and a bottle of Perroni as the draft lagers were off? - Anyhow - price was just shy of £18 which was nice...

We won't do that again !

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkInWidnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing