We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Old England Hotel last night. We had a fantastic stay. The staff were very polite, attentive and immaculately dressed. Lovely old hotel with loads of atmosphere and ideally situated by the lake but in the town centre so you can walk to bars/restaurants/shops etc. The views from the lounge bar and the restaurant over Lake Windermere are second to none. Would be lovely to sit outside when the weather is warmer and enjoy the view. We enjoyed a glass of wine however by sitting in the lounge at the window!
We had a lovely large bedroom complete with sofa, large tv and table and chairs. The bathroom was roomy and contained both a shower and bath. The bed was large and really comfy especially the pillows. We didn't eat dinner in the hotel but had breakfast this morning. Lovely to have freshly squeezed orange juice which seems to be unheard of in most hotels. Good choice of breakfast foods. I opted for continental and my husband had a cooked breakfast of bacon and poached eggs on toast.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    826
    442
    214
    134
See reviews for
471
1,681
44
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We spent two very nice nights here during a very cold March. On arrival we parked outside the hotel as the very small attached car park was full, the concierge was a star, took the bags and the wife inside and came in the car with me to the larger private car park they have about 200yds away, a very nice welcome. We had arrived around 1130am and our room was ready so after depositing the bags and a wander around the town we spent the afernoon relaxing in the lounge overlooking the harbour at Bowness & the lake, prices are a bit steep but its what you expect for 4 star. We booked a standard room, it had a huge comfortable bed, very clean, loads of room and very quiet. A little dissapointed we couldnt eat in the restauraunt "apparently" it was full, even though we weren't asked what time we wanted to eat? In the end we found a very nice Bistro a few mins walk food was great and as it turned out probably half the price. Breakfast with a lake view, great service nice choice and well cooked. We used the swimming pool on two occasions (bit cool for me) the sauna, cool room and steam rooms were there if you wanted them. If you are looking for a nice clean hotel with character in Bowness or Winderemere with views over the lake, look no further. I noticed another review with a broken safe, ours also was broken we had no securty issues.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveAndo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I spent one night here whilst on a work trip and I can only rate it as excellent.

My room was large, clean and well appointed. Staff were helpful and professional. The bar area was well stocked and staffed by chatty bartenders.

I used the gym and the pool. The gym is small but has everything you'd need for an overnight stay. Same with the pool - it's not huge but it's nicely built, stylish surroundings and open late.

Breakfast was incredible. It's served in the door stairs garden room and the views across the Lake are epic. Overall it was a brilliant 12 hours!

Room Tip: Rooms in the old building are more classic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

friendly helpful check staff and concierge. Extra parking is about 60 yards away. Well equipped gym and reasonably sized swimming pool. Our room was town facing, so not a pretty view, but was quiet, good sized with a large bed, sofa, table and two chairs. Nice bathroom - but strangely it had no heating. Breakfast is OK, but service for the cooked breakfast is very slow but freshly cooked. Staff rush around, but the problem seems to be in the kitchen

Room Tip: lake view rooms cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjb1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

This is a very nice Hotel excellent location
Staff very efficent and polite,stayed here last week of feb2013.
However security is very laxed we were at breakfast and somebody entered our room no forced entry so obviously used key entry they knew exactly when we were both sitting at breakfast as they used my wifes mobile to make a call and stole from us, this hotel has no cctv so easy to come and go unnoticed our room was only one to to have a broken safe!!
We have recieved no correspondence or apology.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gizmorow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you're lucky enough to get a room in the origional part of the building you're in for a treat. If you're unfortunate to get one in the dated extention then you're in for dissapointemnt.

The first visit we had here was so lovely we decided to visit again, beautiful room, great view, fluffy bath robes, fantastic dinner. On return, we couldn’t have been more dissapointed. Down in what felt like the dungeon, the saving grace was once again the view but the damp and mould on the bathroom walls and bath panel, the old crispy bath robes and dated bathroom furniture soon made us forget what was outside. It was so obviou sthat this end of the hotel hadn’t been kept as well as the origional building and it was honestly grotty.

We'd booked in for dinner again but what we could only presume was a change of Head Chef made it one of the worst meals we'd ever had. Macdonald boasts about giving it’s chefs the freedom to do what they like, on this occasion, they really needed an intervention. We where told the only reservation left was 9.15pm and when we arrive dthe restaurant was empty (AND IT IS MASSIVE). The waiters began to clean down for the breakfast service around us and couldn't wait for us to go. We'd have happily come earlier but that was apparently all the reservatiosn they had (we'd booked Dinner, Bed and Breakfast that night).

I emailed my dissatisfaction to the customer services and waited over a month for someone to get back to me in which time the regional manager damnded more infomation or he couldn't look into it. I'd already given as much information as possible but considering the time it had taken for him to respond I thought that was pretty poor show.

This might seem like a harsh review but please consider that this is a 4* hotel with two AA rosettes, we saw no evidence of this during our stay or after. I would never visit this hotel again.

(I'm also new to TA, hence the late review)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tastermenuplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Bowness itself is fantastic and this hotel is right in the heart of it with stunning views of the lake. Car parking is plentiful and someone will park your car for you. The room are clean, beds are comfy, bathrooms better than a lot of hotels. Not all views are good tho! The spa is very relaxing, treatments quite overpriced unless got as part of a package deal. Sauna, steam room, ice room, aromatherapy shower and pool are amazing! Could do with a jacuzzi too!! The meals were very tasty but very expensive as is bottled water and wine. The staff were found to be unhelpful with allergy information, not taking concerns seriously, to the point of showing annoyance in my double checking ingredients. one desert was, however, indelible and when informed of this the waitress didnt appear to be bothered or offer an alternative. Breakfast was delicious with plenty to choose from, cereals, cooked breakfast, cold buffet, fruit juices etc

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen7610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing