We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Booked in for 2 nights for my wife's Birthday. Upon arrival, we were checked in very quickly earlier than the noted check in time and the car was parked up on our behalf. Our room was very good with a fantastic view of the lake. We dined in the hotel restaurant on the 6th March and the whole evening was an excellent dining experience. The food & service could not have been better. We had breakfast on both days and again the quality was very good. Breakfast was cooked to order - unlike most hotels these days were the food has been sitting for some time and is self service. We used the leisure facilities once and again we found the pool, steam room and sauna very clean and well presented. We will definately book another trip to this hotel in the near future - it has a great location right on the edge of the lake and very close to shops, and other restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,962)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,350 - 2,356 of 2,962 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

We've thought about staying at the Old England a few times, and finally got round to it this week. After a nice trip across to the lakes, we got checked in and took the car to the car park. The car park is a short walk because of the lack of parking space at the hotel, however this is fine, as the concierge had it all under control.
Our room was clean, tidy and welcoming with a nice view across Lake Windemere. The bathroom was spot on, en suite, with a very good shower.
We got sorted and went to the Spa. Again, very clean and tidy, the facilites were all really good, but being a bit of a wimp, I could have done with the pool being a couple of degrees warmer, however swimming in a pool with a view of Windemere was pretty spot on. Steam room, sauna and shower were quite a bit warmer! A few people have commented on the lack of a Jacuzzi, and whilst it would be a useful addition it wasn't such a big miss.
Following that, we had a cup of tea which was accompanied by the best shortcake I have tasted in a long time - well worth a try!
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant after a drink in the comfortable lounge. Our food was served piping hot, and was excellent. Cost of drinks/wine however can cause a bit of a sharp intake of breath, but the house white is perfectly acceptable. The restaurant has a view across the lake, and it certainly has a nice atmosphere. Service was spot on with helpful, friendly staff.
The bed was firm enough for me, and comfortable, there was a lack of noise even though the room is near to one of the lifts. However it is possible in the morning to hear some noise from the spa, buts its definately not intrusive.
Breakfast in the restaurant was really good too. We had the full English which again was served piping hot - nice toast too!
All the staff were friendly and helpful, and nothing seemed to be too much trouble. I really liked the hotel which has blended an old hotel with a more modern extension, without loosing character.
We came away from the hotel feeling relaxed and rejuvinated, it was a bit of a treat for us but worthwhile. We would definately stay here again, but there is a whole chunk of Scotland to explore next!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake, its worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mart924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night with my husband, a Sunday night. The Location of the hotel is ideal, gorgeous views across the lake. We got parked in the hotel car parking no bother and managed to check in before 4pm which was a bonus.

Staff on reception were lovely and very professional. We had room 130 which was an executive lake view. Amazing views, bed was amazing and a spacious bathroom with an amazing shower!

We used the pool, steam rooms etc but no treatments, I do think the treatments are over priced but the hotel have a captive audience at the end of the day. Would be lovely for a treat though. The pool was a decent size, and has lovely views over the lake.

We ate breakfast at the hotel which was great, plenty of choice, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, then you can order your full breakfast. All very nicely done.

All in all I would return to this hotel, the location is ideal, and would be lovely in the summer!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gc_scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just back from a three night break with our son. Staff here are outstanding, helpful and friendly. We were allocated a beautiful executive room with a view over the lake. The bathroom was 5* with corner shower and deep tub. The breakfast is excellent (if little tepid) and you should try to get it included in your booking as it is charged at an eye watering £17.95 plus supplements. My one concern about the hotel is its pricing of food and drink. It is off puttingly expensive. A glass of white wine starts from £7.95 and a peppermint tea an unbelievable £4.95! Had the prices been more attainable we would have stayed in the hotel and spent more. I must add though that our son is on a gluten and dairy free diet which was fully catered for at breakfast and not only that the waiting staff remembered the details every morning. Overall we love this hotel and would recommend it to anyone. The hospitality was excellent and the McDonald chain should rightly be proud of its outstanding staff.

Room Tip: Lake views are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueeyeskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Good hotel right next to the lake, amazing pool with Sauna, Steam room, Ice room, Aromatherapy shower. Staff were helpful. We booked a feature suite overlooking the lake that had fantastic lake views ( the only complaint it had a really hard uncomfortable sofa and chair ) The breakfast was reasonable the first morning however the toast arrived 15minutes before the cooked breakfast but a good buffet choice available.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lololois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Recently stayed overnight with my husband bed and breakfast, our room which was located on the Ground floor was immaculately clean, en suite and room very spacious, bathrobes and slippers included. The view from our room was Stunning, Lake Windermere in all its fabulous glory, different scene each time you looked out.
Spa and pool are well maintained. Therma suite comprises of a steam room, sauna , ice room and aromatherapy shower.
Pre dinner drinks were a bit of a shock, £14.50 for 1 pinf of regular beer and a large wine with soda water, I even had to ask for ice for my drink!!. You really do pay for that view!!
Overall a beautiful hotel which has managed to keep its oldey worldy feel but intergrate modern city prices!!.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allywalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights for a romantic gateway. The package includes breakfast. Our room was located behind the lakes , overlooking the pub. The room was spacious with good sized bathrooms. The bathroom includes bath and good sized shower cubicle that can fit 2 people.

The breakfast area was lovely overlooking the lakes. It was nice to relax listen to classical music , having a nice cup of tea and enjoying the view of the lakes. I ordered a vegetarian cooked breakfast and was not too keen with the vegetarian sausages. My husband enjoyed his cooked breakfast.

We used the spa and swimming facilities and it was good. The ice room was 'interesting'.

In general staff were polite and friendly.

Location is good ,very close to the boat centre, attractions, restaurants and shops. Handy walk to tesco express for late night shopping.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends and will come back here again.

Room Tip: Ask for Lake Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunriseprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,470 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $155 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing