We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I visited from 7.2.2013 - 10.2.2013 for a pre-valentines weekend.

Highlights
- Upgraded to a suite upon arrival - thank you!
- Stunning views of the Lake from our room
- Room and bathroom was spotlessly clean
- Bathroom had a shower (big enough for two) and a single bath
- Valet parking
- Central location
- Good concierge and reception service (Paul)

Lowlights
- No wifi (btopenzone in main areas only)
- Over priced breakfast, which really wasn't very nice. Go elsewhere!
- Drinks were expensive in the bar/lounge but service was good
- Spa overrated, only visited once and didn't go back. Not luxurious
- Steam room not very steamy!
- Sauna not hot enough
- Average pool

We will go back and look forward to staying here again, but wouldn't go for the Spa or breakfast!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,896)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,296 - 2,302 of 2,896 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel many times in the past and had a good experience I recently booked to use the spa and have a few treatments while staying at a nearby hotel.
There's a great pool, sauna and steam room. Unlike other places it has a terrific ice room too. I was looking forward to an afternoon of pampering.
Unfortunately, being the weekend, it was quite busy and there were a quite a few children around so that part of the experience wasn't a relaxing at all. However the treatment area, which is upstairs, did have the peaceful, spa ambience. The treatments were wonderful and very well delivered.
Sadly there are a few housekeeping issues since my last visit. The towels smelled heavily of stale massage oil and the bathrobes and slippers I was given were a bit grubby. I also noticed that the towels on the beds in the relaxation room were not changed between guests lying on them. Given the high price of treatments I expected a much higher standard.
Another annoying issue was that just after my fabulous massage and while I was totally relaxed in the therapy room and in need of a drink of water the therapist tried to sell me beauty products!! I couldn't believe it - how unprofessional and crass.
I don't think I will be returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2HappyTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We had paid extra for a lake view and we did have a superb outlook from our room although slightly obscured by bird muck on the window. The room was also very dated and overdue a refurb. The furniture was tatty mahogany and very old fashioned. We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was lovely but at breakfast we couldn't believe it was the same place. It was chaos with no system at all and we waited more than an hour for our breakfast. We only managed to order after getting up to ask a passing member of staff to take our order and finally got our food after complaining, along with many others, that it had been an hour. The wrong dish arrived but we were too hungry to complain again. There had been similar chaos at the spa the evening before when we went for a swim only to be told it was full and there was a waiting list. After waiting in our rooms for 45 mins we phoned the spa and were told we could now come down. When talking to others in the sauna we discovered they were from another holiday complex nearby and had been given use of the facilities! We were furious to have paid for a hotel with pool only to be made to wait due to guests from other places taking priority. All in all a very stressful experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yorkshirelass98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Large hotel in central village location yet overlooking the lake. Nice bar and restaurant. Fortunate enough to have stayed in a suite.....and it did not disapoint, though the cost is considerable.Comfortable, well equiped room with large modern bathroom. Stunning lake views.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We held a wedding anniversary party at this hotel, so cannot comment on the accommodation. We used a lovely small room which will seat up to about 20, overlooking the lake, called the Bay Room. Our meal was a Sunday lunch, with around three choices for each course. It was beautifully served and tasted excellent. All our guests were impressed by the hotel interior and the view from our private dining room. The young Events Organiser called Kim had been most helpful with all our requests from first visit to the day itself. They even offered us use of the spa although we weren't staying overnight. We would definitely recommend this hotel to hold a private function, the only downside is the additional bar drinks are expensive. I'm so sad it's all over!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highfieldhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as a birthday treat check in was efficient ,my husband and I were taken
To our room which was well furnished. The staff were helpful and the food was excellent.
The views from the dining room were amazing would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StocktonSween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just stopped here for a relaxing weekend break, service in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast was amazing, very polite staff, staff friendly when walking around the hotel, makes you feel special and individual not just another guest. Car park not the easiest to find, we nearly stopped in a pay and display as the instructions were not clear, luckily we found it at the last minute. Room was very large, separate seating area, good facilities, separate bath and shower, iron, ironing board, proper hairdryer, very comfy bed, we had an amazing nights sleep on both nights. We used the spa and this was very nice, sauna, steamroom, iceroom and swimming pool. Very nice hotel overall.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mac20088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
438 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $179 - $394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing