We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated interior and agonisingly slow breakfast service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dated interior and agonisingly slow breakfast service”
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We had paid extra for a lake view and we did have a superb outlook from our room although slightly obscured by bird muck on the window. The room was also very dated and overdue a refurb. The furniture was tatty mahogany and very old fashioned. We ate in the restaurant in the evening which was lovely but at breakfast we couldn't believe it was the same place. It was chaos with no system at all and we waited more than an hour for our breakfast. We only managed to order after getting up to ask a passing member of staff to take our order and finally got our food after complaining, along with many others, that it had been an hour. The wrong dish arrived but we were too hungry to complain again. There had been similar chaos at the spa the evening before when we went for a swim only to be told it was full and there was a waiting list. After waiting in our rooms for 45 mins we phoned the spa and were told we could now come down. When talking to others in the sauna we discovered they were from another holiday complex nearby and had been given use of the facilities! We were furious to have paid for a hotel with pool only to be made to wait due to guests from other places taking priority. All in all a very stressful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkshirelass98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    841
    449
    221
    136
See reviews for
477
1,722
45
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Large hotel in central village location yet overlooking the lake. Nice bar and restaurant. Fortunate enough to have stayed in a suite.....and it did not disapoint, though the cost is considerable.Comfortable, well equiped room with large modern bathroom. Stunning lake views.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markee13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton, uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We held a wedding anniversary party at this hotel, so cannot comment on the accommodation. We used a lovely small room which will seat up to about 20, overlooking the lake, called the Bay Room. Our meal was a Sunday lunch, with around three choices for each course. It was beautifully served and tasted excellent. All our guests were impressed by the hotel interior and the view from our private dining room. The young Events Organiser called Kim had been most helpful with all our requests from first visit to the day itself. They even offered us use of the spa although we weren't staying overnight. We would definitely recommend this hotel to hold a private function, the only downside is the additional bar drinks are expensive. I'm so sad it's all over!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highfieldhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockton
Level Contributor
291 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as a birthday treat check in was efficient ,my husband and I were taken
To our room which was well furnished. The staff were helpful and the food was excellent.
The views from the dining room were amazing would stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StocktonSween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just stopped here for a relaxing weekend break, service in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast was amazing, very polite staff, staff friendly when walking around the hotel, makes you feel special and individual not just another guest. Car park not the easiest to find, we nearly stopped in a pay and display as the instructions were not clear, luckily we found it at the last minute. Room was very large, separate seating area, good facilities, separate bath and shower, iron, ironing board, proper hairdryer, very comfy bed, we had an amazing nights sleep on both nights. We used the spa and this was very nice, sauna, steamroom, iceroom and swimming pool. Very nice hotel overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac20088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We visited The Old England midweek as part of a business conference. We stayed for one night in a double room and had a pleasant experience. The hotel has a lovely atmosphere and the rooms are spacious and well equipped. The room and hotel in general were very clean, so you could relax in your surroundings. The bed was a little uncomfortable as it was very lumpy and hard and the pillows provided are very very soft, which is not to my personal liking. The staff however, were very friendly, helpful and were happy to assist where they could. Located on the shores of Lake Windermere the views are beautiful and peaceful. Bowness is surrounded by lovely little villages and towns and i can highly recommend Windermere and Ambleside. The food here is a little disappointing and flavorless, so I would try the local restaurants, if i were to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We visited the old England it was Saturday snowy blizzards and came for afternoon tea and bottle of wine. Very disappointing service afternoon tea arrive without cutlery or side plates...... Asked then they arrived. Wine arrived the waiter didn't open the wine or offer taste!! Time to pay .... Machine not working at the bar so we were invited to pay at reception where a vocal load of visitors were checking out 20 mins later we left very disappointed

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Kjn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
360 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing