We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$346
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lindeth Fell Country House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$234
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dome House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$266
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aphrodites Boutique Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$444
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,190)
Filter reviews
3,190 results
Traveler rating
1,302
923
519
261
185
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,302
923
519
261
185
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold englandfeature roomvalet serviceexecutive roomterrace barice roomrelaxation roomlake viewlovely hotelcar parkcooked breakfaston arrivalsauna and steam roomafternoon teablack puddingevening mealshort break
Filter
Updating list...
2,626 - 2,631 of 3,190 reviews
Reviewed November 29, 2012

just got back from a cracking 3 day stay at the old engalnd hotel in bowness on windermere ,i could not ask for more .the staff were the best and always had a smile .nothing was to mutch trouble even when i asked for some milk at 5 am so i could make a cup of tea brian the night manager and his team were there .the day staff as well could not do enough .if you in the lakes and want a nice hotel that gives a 5 star service this is the one .the food was 2nd to none like the service .i look forward to going again .thanks to all .

Room Tip: try the rom with the balcony its great on a nice day and the view is world class .
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Old England is centrally located in the heart of Bowness. Just a few steps beyond the front door are all the shops and restaurants and also the jetty's for the lake boat trips. The hotel is very nicely decorated, it is warm and homely and without exception the staff are super friendly. The swimming pool is an excellent size for a hotel and the gym is brilliantly equipped - the spa is frequented by private gym members from the local area hence how well set up it is. Evening meals are of good quality but we found the breakfast patchy - it was wonderful to not have a lukewarm hotplate buffet and to have breakfast freshly cooked, but given how cold it was when it arrived, I felt there was a stock of stuff sitting in the kitchen. The staff seemed run off their feet at breakfast, particularly over the weekend when wedding guests swelled the numbers. The only real disappointment was the feature rooms. They were well appointed but I paid extra for these to get good lake views and felt really shortchanged. The lake views from the feature rooms in the modern wing are quite limited. You can certainly see the lake, but your view isn't necessarily uninterrupted and you can't sit n the window and enjoy it, you kind of have to strain to see. Our view was of the roof and rear areas of the sailing club which wasn;t entirely pleasant. So, it is a procey hotel, but the staff, location and general feel are great. I didn't give it five stras because of the lake views, the impact on service to other guests when there are weddings booked and the fact that tables in the restaurant seemingly had to be booked in the morning to get any chance of eating before 9pm.

Room Tip: Try a feature room in the older part of the house rather than the new wing, they are more quirky byt the views could be better.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feedbackmatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Having stayed here before we were really looking forward to our stay...so before I get started the hotel itself still delivered, the staff are very attentive and the location is breathtaking.
However, on this, our third visit, the room was disappointing to say the least. Tired and shabby I could forgive, but a bathroom that is so dirty that we found silver worm bugs crawling on the floor was quite unbelievable! I would have happily recommended this hotel before, but having stayed here last weekend I would be embarressed to do so...so if I'd feel embarrassed, how do you feel - as the manager to read this?
Our comments refer to our stay in room 320.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MMc575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

we have just spent a few days here for our honeymoon.... it was fantastic!!! Edward the GM has fantastic staff and nothing is too much trouble for anyone. Michael the restaurant manager was wonderful too. we had a small problem with our breakfast but he sorted this out and wasn't over fussy with us, however we were confident that he had listened to us and remedied the issue. the leisure facilities are faultless. evening dinner was spectacular, the cheese souffle was absolutely perfect - (not something i say about food very often). we tried something differente every evening, but i would've quite easily had that each meal!! we had the pleasure of being served our meals by a lovely young man called Chris - he is a credit to the hotel. we both had a facial and massage in one of the "couples rooms" anna and dawn were wonderful, and we would recommend this to anyone! the pool and steam/sauna/ice rooms are great too. our room...wow! we overlooked the lake with a private balcony. it was our not-so-little slice of heaven. the service we received was first class, from friendly, helpful and very polite staff. the hotel is quite large, however the entire place is immaculate and yet still cozy. it was a pleasure to have our honeymoon there and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepeachyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Had an amazing weekend at this hotel. Pricey buy worth it. Lovely to have a pool and our room had an excellent view. Also defintely reccomend the breakfast! Black Pudding was very nice and service throughout the whole trip was spot-on.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SK90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews