We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,233)
Filter reviews
3,233 results
Traveler rating
1,317
930
525
267
194
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,317
930
525
267
194
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old england feature room valet service terrace bar executive room ice room lake view relaxation room lovely hotel car park cooked breakfast on arrival sauna and steam room afternoon tea black pudding evening meal short break
Filter
Updating list...
2,669 - 2,674 of 3,233 reviews
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Having stayed here before we were really looking forward to our stay...so before I get started the hotel itself still delivered, the staff are very attentive and the location is breathtaking.
However, on this, our third visit, the room was disappointing to say the least. Tired and shabby I could forgive, but a bathroom that is so dirty that we found silver worm bugs crawling on the floor was quite unbelievable! I would have happily recommended this hotel before, but having stayed here last weekend I would be embarressed to do so...so if I'd feel embarrassed, how do you feel - as the manager to read this?
Our comments refer to our stay in room 320.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MMc575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

we have just spent a few days here for our honeymoon.... it was fantastic!!! Edward the GM has fantastic staff and nothing is too much trouble for anyone. Michael the restaurant manager was wonderful too. we had a small problem with our breakfast but he sorted this out and wasn't over fussy with us, however we were confident that he had listened to us and remedied the issue. the leisure facilities are faultless. evening dinner was spectacular, the cheese souffle was absolutely perfect - (not something i say about food very often). we tried something differente every evening, but i would've quite easily had that each meal!! we had the pleasure of being served our meals by a lovely young man called Chris - he is a credit to the hotel. we both had a facial and massage in one of the "couples rooms" anna and dawn were wonderful, and we would recommend this to anyone! the pool and steam/sauna/ice rooms are great too. our room...wow! we overlooked the lake with a private balcony. it was our not-so-little slice of heaven. the service we received was first class, from friendly, helpful and very polite staff. the hotel is quite large, however the entire place is immaculate and yet still cozy. it was a pleasure to have our honeymoon there and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thepeachyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Had an amazing weekend at this hotel. Pricey buy worth it. Lovely to have a pool and our room had an excellent view. Also defintely reccomend the breakfast! Black Pudding was very nice and service throughout the whole trip was spot-on.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SK90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

stayed overnight on a business trip - good food, excellent room, breakfast first class, might even have a leisure break there at some point. Views are stunning - they will also valet park your car int heir car park as there isn't much room adjacent to hotel. decent base for a wander too

Room Tip: ask for a lake view room with a veranda - worth it even in november
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 684JohnW684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very chilled out break at half term, not a cheap break but worth every penny. Food excellent especially the evening menu, just as expected from a Macdonald hotel. loved it. No problem with parking as parked outside hotel and staff moved it for us as parking at a premium.

Room Tip: Lake view every time
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews