We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 2 night stay at the Old England”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a lovely 2 night stay at this hotel. Check in was very smooth, we just parked the car outside the entrance of the hotel and it was taken to the car park, which was just down the road. We were given a lovely room and even though it didn't have a lake view, it was large and very comfortable.
We enjoyed breakfast both mornings, overlooking the lake. The atmosphere was lovely and relaxing in the restaurant, with superb views to start the day.
The location of the hotel is fantastic. We ate out both evenings, as there was so many lovely restaurants in the area.
As a travel agent I will be recommending this hotel in the future and look forward to returning again some day.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,996)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,457 - 2,463 of 2,996 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice hotel on lake side, stunning views from bedroom. Staff helpful but that's where it ends
Room had no central heating we complained and were advise they could supply a further electric heater! Big deal! Shower /bathroom had cracks on flooring and sink.Nothing to hold onto stepping out of bath / shower except the electric towel rail. All good for health and safty!
Bemused when at breakfast there was £2.50 suppliment charge for scrambled eggs and salmon
and smoked fish. £6.50 was price of a cooked breakfast (included in room price) . Annoyed on arrival they demanded my visa card Accomodation had been paid for in advance Empty fridge in room for what? to encourage you to go and stock up from local shop? strange ! Still await response from there own survey form. All in all not goot value for money

Room Tip: rooms over looking lake for views and quietness
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I booked a 2 night stay for my girlfriends birthday as a surprise. We stayed from the 10th to the 12th october.
Originally went to book online but decided to book over the phone as i wanted to make a few enquiries about organising a few extra surprises. Very glad i did as i was offered a seasonal promotion of a feature double with breakfast included both mornings and a complimentary cream tea for 2 on arrival for £300. Had i have booked online i would have booked all this seperately at a cost of almost £450 so was very happy.

Our stay was perfect... from arriving and having the car valet parked to being checked in. The young girl on reception made sure we had a lovely room (room 143) and even said once we looked at it if we were not happy she would move us but we were extremely happy.

Room was lovely and big with huge ensuite and 2 large windows overlooking the lakes.

Bed was amazingly comfortable and slept soundly both nights.. considering our room was not to far from the stairs we heard no noise.

I arranged room service for breakfast the next morning, delivered at a time of our choice and a paper of choice... breakfast was lovely as we sat by the table in the room overlooking the lake.

We didnt use the hotel restaurant for dinner on either night as we wanted to try the local restaurants that i had read alot about but the menu looked delicious and would definitely be worth trying next time.

I had arranged a cake and champagne to be placed in the room around 5pm on our return from a boat trip and as we arrived back early and sat in the lounge for a while the staff were incredibly discreet and helpful at arranging everything in the lounge instead and surprising her with the cake. The champage we had in our room before dinner.

I can not praise the staff enough.. they made our trip so lovely and helped make my girlfriends birthday extra special even remembering that it was her birthday on our first morning and all wishing her birthday wishes when they saw us. Only wish i had booked an extra night as we were definitely not ready to leave. We didnt use the spa so i have not rated it but other guest commented on it positively.

After checking out and leaving the hotel, some hours later my girlfriend realised she had left a birthday gift which was a necklace on the side of the bed. We returned straight away and spoke with reception and within 5 minutes it was returned to us by house keeping.

Hotel is perfectly located on the lakes with the pier about a 3 minute walk to get a boat to lakeside or ambleside for a day out or stay in bowness where there are plenty of shops.

Will definitely be returning in the near future.

A

Room Tip: we stayed in room 143 which was a feature double with 2 large windows with lake views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Visited this lake district hotel because of its central location .The reason was to take photos of the autumn colours (but the trees had not yet changed colour-10th oct.)
The room had a super view of Lake Windermere, was warm ,clean and the Tea making and toiletries were good quality.Good start!!
We had dinner and the staff made every effort to cater for my dietary needs.
The Spa room gets booked up quickly so if you want to treat yourself to any of the treatments
avoid being disappointed and book before you arrive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcliff_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here for our mini moon in September, beautiful hotel, beautiful view from the room and the bar area. The only down sides we had, we waited 4 hrs to check into our room luckily we had spa treatments booked in so we got on with them but 4 hrs is a very long time to wait to get into your room, when I complained about this as it as our mini moon they gave us a complimentary bottle of fizz with our evening meal, which was delicious meat was so tender just melted in my mouth :), day two we went out for a boat trip which was nice took 45 mins then had a coffee when we returned to our room, the door was wide open wedged with a towel! We walked right in a stood by the window in complete shock, the maid then walked in said hello and got on with the cleaning, I went straight down to reception to complain about this as it was highly unacceptable! I was stood waiting in a que then was told to take a seat and waiting another 5 or so mins for the manager, when I told him what had happened and how unhappy I was as we had left our wedding gifts in the room and my jewellery he replied, they have to leave the doors open for the cleaning supervisor to check the rooms! He asked me to check that everything was there and let him know, he then offered us another free bottle of fizz with our evening meal, nice gesture but still didn't take away the fact that they happily leave rooms wide open for someone to check, they have keys so they should just let themselves in! He then rang straight away to check that all out things were still there, which they were. The morning after we went for breakfast and waited 15 mins to be seating, once seated we waited a further 10 mins for our drinks to be ordered, we then waiting another 10 mins for them to come and for our food to be ordered, they had 4 people cleaning one table while they had guest sat down not having been seen to, we complained about this and the manager dealt with our complaint in a very nice mannor. Having had some many problems in a small amount of time we wer left not wanting to return, but the managers apology made us feel better. We would visit the hotel again so it wasn't that bad that it made us not want to go back again, the manager offered us to contact her when we return for our anniversary so she can make sure our next visit has no problems :) we would recommend the hotel to our friends and family.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Nici S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I love this hotel. Lovely friendly service, fab location and good rooms. Bathroom a tiny bit dated but clean. Reception very kindly upgraded us to a lake view as it was a special occasion. Restaurant was busy but the food was good and we were very well looked after by Tania - who managed to be everywhere at once! If you like uber-modern hotels and stylish minimalism don't stay here - but if you like old fashioned grandeur, fab service, a cosy bar and valet parking, book now!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BAGEL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

As a thank you for helping with their wedding our son and daughter -in- law booked this break for us knowing we harboured a wish to return to the scene of our honeymoon back in 1974.

We were greeted with a welcome smile and from that moment on nothing was too much trouble. The room we had overlooked the Lake and was very comfortable so no complaints there !!
The food was as good, if not better, than we have experienced at other Macdonald hotels so again no complaints there and if fact they were extremely good.

Had the afternoon tea one day and what an experience ! Give yourself plenty of time to enjoy the variety of goodies provided and don't book dinner as in our experience you won't need it.

As I said found all of the staff friendly and helpful but have to single out Tania who went that extra mile and always with a smile.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Lake is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianboardman64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
475 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
3 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $116 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing