We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

Just returned for a lovely two day stay at the Old England Hotel. We stayed in the new part of the hotel in a very spacious and clean room. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful although a couple of waitresses in the restaurant were miserable. The hotel bar was very expensive. The spa was beautiful and gym was better than previous hotel gyms I have been to. Overall, I would definately return to Bowness, beatiful place and hotel although, if you are planning on visiting Bowness in January, many of the restaurants, etc are closed for the month.

Room Tip: I would request a room in the newer part of the hotel, as these were more spacious, cleaner and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helenclaire86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    815
    437
    210
    131
See reviews for
460
1,661
43
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

Went old England for 4th consecutive Christmas, 2011 worst by far. Food was average, but service usually makes up for it. Not this year, waiting an hour between courses some days. Prices of drinks was excessive, £4.50 for a 330ml bottle of ale. Rest of stay was good, but not magical like previous, but the food, which let's face it, is a big part of christmas , ruined the holiday, be wary.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davebarker_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

this wasnt the best hotel ive stayed at in this price range the breakfast was standard at best ,my room overlooked a pub which unfortunately was showing a game so i didnt get the peace and quiet i was looking for ,,,parking not great ,,,,expected more for 150 pounds per night

Room Tip: shop around the lakes there are many fantastic hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mirdada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

I can imagine this hotel in summer to be a lovely place to stay. It has a beautiful view of the lake and sits in the heart of Bowness. We stayed with friends for one night on the 28th December. We sat having drinks in the lounge and found it to be very cold and draughty. Everyone was complaining of being cold even myself, and we asked for the fire to be switched on which was a waste of time. We all went up to get showered and we all came down saying the showers were luke warm. Following morning the breakfast looked lovely, it was tasty but unfortunately was cold. I would stay again at this hotel if we got a good deal on price but it would have to be in summer!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h0lidayfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Have just returned from a between Xmas and New Year break at this lovely hotel. It is situated right in the middle of Windermere and is a perfect location and you also get a great view of the lake. We generally didn't eat in the hotel expect for the last night when we treated oursleves. For breakfast we found a little coffee shop just across the rood called Brysons which did a full english breakfast for £7.95. There are plenty of cafes and restaurants around the area. We would also recommend Rumours for dinner.

Our room was large and airy, although only a velux window, The bathroom had a large shower and separate bath. Coffee and tea making facilties were good and you could request fresh milk from reception to compliment this.

The hotel also offers a car valet service which proved extremely efficieint as the side parking at the hotel is very limited. This service is offered without an extra charge.

We really enjoyed our stay and found that this hotel was a great base for exploring the area. Unfortunately it rained the entire time, but this didnt spoil the relaxing trip.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aintree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous, the place is spotless and the decor is amazing. The down side is the staff! The lady on reception did try her best but was by no means trained in hospitality, the gentleman along side her was rude and really unhelpful. The waitress in the lounge was also very rude and the staff in the spa were hopeless. They didn't adhere to the alloted chidrens time and did nothing when a group of teenagers decided to start throwing a rugby ball around the pool!
There is a lovely terraced bar which we tried to have a drink in but there was no staff, when we asked at reception we were told we'll just have to wait as the bar staff were off doing other things!
Although this review is derogatory, it is only of the staff, itwould not put me off staying here again as the hotel and location are absolutely amazing, its just a shame some staff have let this lovely place down.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Yinyang76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Sayed with friends on a DBB basis and really enjoyed the 2 nights we spent in the hotel. Public areas are superb and really nicely laid out with plenty of huge windows overlooking the Lake and complimentary newspapers to enjoy. Shame there wasn't a real fire in the main Drawing room as it's the Lakes and it feels out of place not to have a roaring fire, something to think about maybe for the hotel.
The room was in the side extension and was smallish with old seconday glazing so was a bit draughty and noisey. Nothing special but adequate, next time I would ask for the older part of the hotel I think. Staff were all very nice and polite, especially at the desk and the porter area. Could maybe have been more local people employed in the restuarant.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and the location is the best in Bowness.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MWRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#19 of 20 in Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.3 mi away
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel & Spa
The BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel ...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.9 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa

Property: Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Address: 23 Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#3 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa is one of the finest 4-star Lake District hotels. Set on the shores of Lake Windermere - England's largest lake - our hotel offers the best of breathtaking scenery and exceptional facilities. From unrivalled views over our mature lawns, to private jetties and moorings on the lake - our hotel proves a popular choice for family holidays. Our hotel in Cumbria is perfect for country adventures - hire a private jetty on our lake and marvel in the glorious scenery we have on offer. And once you've finished exploring, we recommend a visit to our spa and thermal suite for a relaxing steam before you dine in our award-winning Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Old England
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa Bowness-On-Windermere, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing