We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Paignton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dive”
Reviewed August 23, 2007

Paid £109 for a double with breakfast, room clean but very basic, not worth £109, have stayed in better travelodges.
The room was cold, told recpetion, they said they were about to turn on the heating as someone else complained. When I went to my room I lifted up the metal cover where the heather was supposed to be, but it was gone! So just put up with it.

Hotel is very grubby around the edges, needs major refurbishment. Pool and sauna are dreadful, don't even go there! Pool very dirty and grubby.

On the TV in our room, it said they offer a late check out on sundays until 4pm. Called reception, he said they dont do that. So he said he would give us until 1pm instead, fair enough. Then at 11.30 they were ringing the room telling us that check out was at 11!

Breakfast not too bad.

Only positives about this hotel is the lovely views it offers and the gardens outside are nice. Lovely views overlooking the lake.

If you can get a cheap room go for it, but don't pay top rate to stay here, not worth the money. If you want to stay somewhere nice, go to the Old England Hotel close by!

Lisa on reeption was very friendly and helpful.

  • Liked — The views of the laks
  • Disliked — The pool and sauna
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leepinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    743
    364
    162
    71
    41
See reviews for
232
789
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2007

The whole place smelt like a retirement home. The Sunday lunch was unbelievably bad, the worst food we had seen in a long time, it was uneatable, ruined our special occasion. The service was terrible, we had to ask them to move the dishes between the meals, ask them for a drink etc, they kept leaving all our finishes dishes lying on our table whilst we had our next meal! The food ran out on sunday and we were left with the remains that were stuck to the bottom of the tray. The soup felt like sick! The deserts had all gone, they didnt care. The receptionist KATARINA needs a personality check. The toilets stunk and needed a clean. What a waste of what could be such a good place but its ruined and we will never stay there again or eat there. We felt ill for the rest of the day after we had sunday lunch there. The table next to us were also saying the same. The sunday lunch was the strangest example of a roast I had ever seen and looked liked the day befores left overs! This place needs refurbishing badly. Its very unprofessional here there is many more much better hotels in windermere than this dive! The only good thing about it is the position of bowness. Why dont they employ professional english staff who know what customer service is. The whole place are foreign, when you explain problems to them it goes in one ear and out of the other.

  • Liked — the view nothing else
  • Disliked — everything, the rubbish staff
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank beatrixp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2007

A great hotel, lots of history and beautiful views. Staff get 10/10 for their helpfulness. Hotel and our room were clean with everything needed in there, coffe/tea making facilities, hairdryer and trouserpress, TV and sky facilities. However the room did need refurbishing as did parts of the hotel. Very creaky floorboards but added to the charm.

  • Liked — the history and views
  • Disliked — need of revamp
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havenhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2006

I'm surprised at a hotel group like Corus - here they have the jewel in the crown of hotel locations in the UK - yet the place is in a state of 'neglect'. That said, the staff make this place - every credit to them. Clean sheets, clean towels aside though and the establishment looks tired with threadbare stair carpets, indifferent states of decor, rotting window frames, loose bathroom tiles and filthy shower curtains not impressing even the ardent of travellers. The swimming pool is a joke - it just proves that in the case of the promotional brochure the camera can lie! And as for THAT lift - well really!! Come on Corus - you can do better.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank Lakeslovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Long
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2006

The Belsfield now have some newly refurbished rooms at the north wing and they are fabulous! The room was equipped with ironing board and LCD TV. Tea and coffee making amenities are available and the coffee was of good quality. The bathroom was also sparkingly new and clean, also well equipped with good amenities.
The hotel is well located right across the piers and at the city centre of Bowness. The large yard in front of the hotel also add to the relaxing atmosphere around this 160-year-old classy hotel. We also played the table tennis in a luxury room, but we just didn't have enough time to swim in the pool or use the saunna. At the rate of 75GBP the hotel is really good value and remember to request to stay at the refurbished rooms next time you check in.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KahOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, Tyne & Wear, England
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2006

My husband and I are great lovers of the Lakes and in particular Bowness. We have stayed at the Belsfield many times and always rated it as our favourite.

The location could not be better and the on site car parking is brilliant - however, the hotel is a little tired in places and in dire need of a little TLC.

The staff are most helpful and friendly. However, the reservation staff are something else. We tried have tried to book for a Saturday night only, and for two nights over a Bank Holiday - only to be told this was not possible in a not so nice manner. We were once told they could only take a reservation for DBB even though we only wanted BB - the answer was to pay for dinner but don't take it! Most unprofessional.

Breakfast is served in the dining room with the most wonderful views over the Lake - however, if feel the portions are stingy - I feel most uncomfortable having to join a queue and tell the server what I would like on my plate - it would be much better to just help myself!

Bowness itself is a fantastic place. There are so many great pubs/restaurants right on the doorstep.
There is just about everyhting, we have tried most places and we cannot give a bad report about any. Therefore, there is no need to take dinner at the hotel, it's nice to get out for the evening!

The bedrooms are on the whole clean and tidy, we have stayed in serveral rooms some with great views, some with the exact opposite. We have never had reason to complain about our room and have never experienced some of the dirty stains etc that other reviewers have mentioned. We once stayed in a room that housed the emergency exit, (it overlooked the Car Park and main entrance) the key to the door was on a hook outside should access be required - therefore, there was a key to our room just hanging for anyone to use!

Overall the Belsfield is a wonderful, interesting grand place, it is let down a little by the decor and mis-matched carperts everywhere but it has the best location and view of the Lake.

However, due to the problems we have with the strict rules this hotel imposes over weekend and Bank Holiday bookings we now stay elsewhere. Our new choice of hotel has a great location with good views and car-parking facilities, so there are other "good" hotels to be had in Bowness as well as the Belsfield.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank Sandancer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2006

Those areas that have been decorated are good e.g. dining room, lounge, lobby, exterior facing the lake. Those areas not decorated are long overdue e.g. the bedrooms.

Spent two nights there as part of a meeting. I stay in a hotel most weeks and can safely say that they were the second worst nights sleep I have ever had. The beds are rock hard, the pillows have enormous lumps in them , the toilet driped onto the bathroom floor all night and it was far too hot. Only had a sheet on my bed, window open 24 hours, and radiator off and it was still too hot - in February when the hills were covered in snow and ice! The second night I tried the other bed and fared no better. The overwhelming majority of those at the meeting had a similar experience (around 30 people).

Restaurant food was OK for the price. On the second night eveyone who ordered the linguine sent it back because it was inedible (laced with salt). To their credit the staff removed the dishes, brought the menus back and gave our table two complementary bottles of wine with a minimum of fuss. Breakfast was average for a hotel of its class.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cubic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,857 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
968 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing