We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Tired”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2006

I stayed at the hotel for one night with my wife and two children. I am sure the hotel was once a really great place but it is now very tired and clearly overdue for a total re-fit. I had to book two rooms as the hotel has no family rooms or rooms that accommodate more than three people. Both were cold, one had an electric radiator and I called to get another. Both rooms had bathrooms en-suite but the wash basins were in the bedroom. OK if it was a guest house or maybe if it had one star not three or if we were still in the seventies but by today’s standards not acceptable. The hotel advertises a snooker room. It hasn’t got one. There is a room in which there is a pool table but it is occupied most of the time for staff meetings it seemed to me. I went to the hotel bar to get a drink to find the bar un-manned with a sign directing me to reception in order to muster service. The hotel has a great location and we were able to escape easily in order to enjoy a really good meal at the Porthole restaurant in Bowness. Breakfast was OK. Overall Tired/Shabby and overpriced best describe the hotel in its current state.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    344
    157
    68
    39
See reviews for
214
748
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
north east england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2005

We stayed here for 2 nights, two adults and one young child.
After reading the other reviews I must admit I was slightly worried about what we would find. No need to worry we received an excellent, professional reception. The room (suite) was excellent and overall the hotel was nice and clean,the facilities were adaquate although some money could and should be spent, i.e. carpets, furniture and the lift.
Overall we were very happy with our stay, the hotel has a fantastic location and is a lovely building, OK some modernisation is needed but the hotel does its best with what it has got.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neildturnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2005

Returned to The Belsfield for another stay in the Lake District this weekend. For the price and rating of this hotel, it's great.

It is a little shabby around the edges, but the staff and location are fantastic - would recommend it everytime.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2005

We have just returned from stopping at the Belsfield and had a great stay , the staff were very friendly and helpful , This hotel was built in the 1800s and has a fantastic view over the lake . Our room we stopped in was room 68 which was quite large with a large bathroom, Yes the hotel is old and the lift has to be seen to believed, but this adds to the fascinating atmosphere the hotel has . The breakfast were very good and plenty to eat and the waitress asking if we wanted any more toast or hot drinks , The breakfast was very hot with a good selection . The only negative part I can say was the hotel pool , very cold , in fact that was a under statement , I was expecting to see ice floating on the top ! The sauna resolved that
If you are going to stay at the Belsfield you will not be disappointed ! The hotel receptionist deserve a mention they are very professional and very welcoming .

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sclarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2005

IF YOU ARE STAYING IN BOWNESS/WINDERMERE - THIS IS THE PLACE TO STAY! I have stayed in hotels in Bowness for the past ten years and nowhere touches the hospitality of the Belsfield House (NOT BELSFIELD HOTEL)! The rooms are spacious and luxurious, the owners are friendly and will do anything for you and the location is GREAT! Trust me - book here - you won't be disappointed.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2005

I read the review of this hotel, which was posted on 1st August this year, and wondered what I'd let myself in for. I had already booked via the Corus website and thought about cancelling and booking another hotel. I was glad I didn't. My opinion of the hotel was the exact opposite of the author of that review, which goes to show that in this situation there is no 'right' or 'wrong'...only opinion!
This is a grand old hotel built in the 1840's and whilst it is old and the floorboards creek and the furniture isn't from Ikea and it isn't the most up to date building and my mate caught his finger in the old lift door (ha ha), this is all part of its charm and appeal. The reception staff and very friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room (61) was modern, clean and we couldn't fault it (could do with some better instant coffee though). The standard of cleanliness, decoration and furniture was faultless. We didn't use the hotel for any meals as we had booked a value room-only break but there were plenty of people taking tea in the bar and lounge when we arrived which is a good indication, to me anyway, that the quality of the food and drinks is good.
I've been coming to The Lakes, in particular Windermere and Bowness for years now and this is the first time I've stayed at The Belsfield. Based on my experience I will definately be booking to stay here again. I would also recommend The Belsfield to anyone else.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing