We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

My friend and I stopped here for afternoon tea, it was a lovely day so sat on the outside terrace with our dogs. The service was excellent and friendly and the afternoon tea was lovely, we had a nice lazy afternoon sitting here overlooking lake Windermere. The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment, but this did not spoil our enjoyment of our afternoon tea, definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank allyabbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed afternoon tea here at the Belsfield. Chef has put great thought in to our afternoon tea; from the variety of sandwiches and savouries you get for your first course, to the mixture of cakes for your dessert. Chef aims to have both traditional cakes, as well more modern and fun ideas further more. The one thing we would advise, is do arrive hungry.

The view from our terrace is something that it is impossible not to enjoy. With the unimpeded view of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond, you are close enough to the Lake to enjoy it, yet far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the promenade below to really relax.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    344
    157
    68
    39
See reviews for
214
748
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We took the Mother in Law up to the Lakes as it was one place she and my wife wanted to visit. We arrived slightly early so they showed us the lake view patio area where we had an excellent bottle of red wine. The waiter was couteous and the service spot on. The Receptionist then came out and we were shown to our rooms. I had arrange lake view rooms. What a bonus that the weather was very good. Our rooms had recently been refurbished and the hotel has clearly done a deal with Laura Ashley as the enire redec was around the LA brand. Very tasteful. First night we ate at the hotel and the food [I am very particular about my food] was spot on with ample choices. Again service was excellent.The lift had also been updated but was the old metal shutter type and 2-3 people max. It was quaint but slow. If I had to give a downside the showers could be bigger. In our suite it had a bath with shower [no screen] and a corner shower. It also had a heated toilet seat between the teo which had a warning not to get wet for danger of electric shock. It is impossible not to get the seat wet.Overall a great relaxing stay and we look forward to returning one day.

Room Tip: Obviously the lake facing rooms are best but other rooms are good but just without the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulBmusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you had an excellent stay and approve of the refurbishment work to date. We too are pleased and proud of the work, whether that be the bedrooms that have been refurbished from top to bottom with Laura Ashley finishing's, the lounges, the Brasserie, the Restaurant, bar or reception.

The food is often commented on and I am pleased this was something that you too enjoyed. We have recently added a second menu which is served in the restaurant. This concentrates on fine dining and attention to detail in particular with presentation as well as flavour. Whilst the Brasserie menu provides more rustic, traditional English dishes.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulton Broad, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

We popped into the Belsfield on a sunny afternoon having been out exploring all day. We sat on the terrace and enjoyed a couple of drinks in the sunshine. Service was excellent, especially given the amount of refurbishment going on. Would definitely love to stay here next time we're in the Lake District.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CMAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad that you enjoyed the Belsfield terrace. With the backdrop of an unimpeded view of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond, it is easy to see how so many of our guests decide to spend the afternoon relaxing, instead of venturing out in the fells themselves. With the option of Afternoon tea or the traditional English, rustic Brasserie menu, we believe there is something for everyone on the terrace.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed in the Belsfield at the height of the Upgrading and I have to say although the hotel was being worked on in all areas the staff still managed to give excellent service. I cannot wait to return to see the work that I keep reading about from fellow travellers.

Room Tip: You must certainly treat yourself to a front lake view room. Watching the ferries and the view acros...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff managed to add to this. We set ourselves high standards at the Belsfield and each and very member of staff will be pleased to read that we have helped your enjoyment of your stay.

The refurbishment programme is finally starting to come to a close and we are proud of what we see. Whether that be one of the bedrooms that have been finished with Laura Ashley furnishings from top to bottom, the Restaurant, the Brasserie, reception or bar.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I wasn't expecting much as I know this hotel is undergoing a major and long overdue refurbishment - however I was incredibly surprised.
The reception area hasn't been touched yet and looks pretty dilapidated and depressing but the lady checking us in was helpful and very welcoming.
The public areas that have undergone the refurb are exceptional with beautiful views over Lake Windermere. The gardens are fantastically maintained and an absolute pleasure to sit and relax in with stunning views of the lake.
Our room was one of those which had already been refurbished and was completed to a very high standard and very comfortable. We paid for just a standard double but I was impressed with the standard and finish of the room.

The main highlight for me however was the staff - all of whom are incredibly friendly, professional and helpful - they have excellent knowledge of the local area. They all seem to genuinely enjoy what they do and go out of their way to make your stay as welcoming and pleasant as they can. Csaba in particular was very helpful and pleasant, both behind the bar and during the breakfast service - he is a credit to the hotel. He pointed out local walks that we may be interested in, and gave some excellent recommendations on sightseeing and attractions for a rainy day.

The breakfast was excellent with a good choice from a cold buffet and a hot selection cooked to order - once again all staff were exceptional. I had mentioned on the booking that I am intolerant to gluten and they had this covered as soon as we mentioned the room number - they went out of their way to make sure I was accommodated.

I look forward to visiting again once the refurbishments are completed and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Lake District. We are about to check out but I don't want to and wish we could stay longer!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happy75london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that your stay was such a success and that the staff in particular have made a large impact. Here at the Belsfield we set ourselves high standards and I am sure that the staff will be most pleased to read that they have specifically made an impression.

You are correct regarding the old reception, it did need a new lease of life. This is why we have now created a large open, air conditioned, glass reception, overlooking Lake Windermere and the Belle Isle. This isn't the only work that has been carried out to date we are very proud of the bedrooms that have had a sprinkling of the Laura Ashley magic, the Restaurant, Brasserie, bar and lounges.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel and few times in the last number of years. The upgrading of it is really beautifully done, using Laura Ashley materials, it makes it very relaxing. The staff are always friendly and helpful. Some of them have been here a long time and there are a few new ones, but all of them are impeccable in their manner and politeness.The refurbishment doesn't spoil the stay at all. Definitely recommend, hope we can come back next year.

Room Tip: The views over Lake Windermere are stunning, especially the higher up you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LC67Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am very pleased to read that you describe the hotel as delightful and specifically your reference to the refurbishment. The updating programme is now coming to a close and this has encompassed reception, the lounges, bar, restaurant and created a brasserie.

Furthermore, the staff will be grateful of your comments. Each and every staff member, old and new are very proud of our hotel and hope that you will enjoy it as much as we do.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

I feel compelled to respond to a review by Delten submitted a few day ago. I cannot believe how/she is writing about the same hotel I have had the pleasure to stay in several times. Breakfast is cooked to order, and is hot and well cooked. Bar drinks were reasonably priced. The rooms are a delightful to sleep in,with every convenience.,
And I greatly look forward to my next visit

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am incredibly pleased to read that your review was a contrast to the previous review that you refer to. Of course everyone is entitled to an opinion and I am sorry that they were left disappointed.

Regarding the rooms, I am glad that you find them to be delightful. Each and every room has been refurbished of late and they have all been finished with furnishings throughout.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Beslfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Orbitz so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing