We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Lovely stay.”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

We just returned this weekend and had a lovely stay food great staff really friendly would recommend.Also the location is spot on.Rooms are lush.will return soon.great pubs nearby..........treat yourself

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you had a lovely stay and specifically comment on the service. It may sound cliche, however each and every member of staff try to ensure that all of our guests have the most comfortable stay as possible and will be most pleased that they have contributed to your stay.

The location is something that a number of our guests tend to enjoy. With the hotel being situated a stones throw from the lake, we are also a number of meters away from the village of Bowness. Giving our guests the choice of sitting in our beautiful grounds and watching the world go by below or joining the hustle and bustle yourself.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    364
    162
    71
    41
See reviews for
231
789
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed at the Belsfield for my mothers 80th Birthday weekend. They were still finishing off the renovation work which we were well aware of but we were allocated recently re-decorated rooms which were of a very high standard and very luxurious. It is not cheap but well worth a visit. The staff could not do enough for us and the evening meal on the Saturday Night in the dining room was delicious. The views alone are worth the money. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that your mother's birthday weekend was a success and that you specifically like the newly refurbished bedrooms. Each and every bedroom that has been refurbished has been finsihed with Laura Ashley products and the final phase of bedrooms are due to start tomorrow. This means that anyone coming to stay at the Belsfield is guarenteed a recently refurbished bedroom.

The new menu is something that we have also recently launched. Our new menu has a specific focus on traditional English dishes, with a more modern presentation. Over the coming months, we will also be serving a further menu to give our guests that extra choice.

Thank you one again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over Easter and were aware of the refurb works that are currently going on. It didnt affect our stay and thought the room was truly lovely. The laura Ashley theme looks stunning and im sure once this hotel is finished it will be gorgeous. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the viewa of the lake are stunning. Will be a an amazing wedding venue once finished. We will definitely return soon. Thank you

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tilly31floss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am incredibly pleased that you had a fabulous nights stay and enjoyed the refurbished hotel. With a number of public areas, such as the restuarant, brasserie and lounges being completed already, our guests are using these areas and we have received some lovely feedback to date. Further more, the final phase of bedrooms starts work tomorrow and this will ensure that any guests coming to stay at the Belsfield will have a recently refurbished room.

The staff will be most grateful for your comments. It may sound cliche, however each and every cmember of staff care first and foremost for all of our guests happiness and comfort during their time at the Belsfield.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stopped here on the way south, it isn't cheap but the view does make up for this.
The weather was gorgeous so the trip into Windermere was stop/start for the last couple of miles as, once we got there, it was packed.
Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (seems a common complaint) but the lady on reception was friendly and took our bags whilst we went for a walk. When we returned they had taken them to the room, which was nice.
Having looked at menus in the town, there was nothing we couldn't live without so we had dinner at the hotel and it was very nice indeed. The wine list is very reasonable too.
Our garden room was a bit cramped but the beds were comfortable and we both slept well.
Breakfast, the following morning, was excellent and eating at a table window looking down the Lake was a very enjoyable experience. White linen, gleaming cutlery, sunshine, the water sparkling, one or two early boats moving about... the coffee was strong enough for my wife as well. (Although why all hotels don't have a coffee machine, in the breakfast room, so you can make it yourself, is a mystery to me. It can't be that expensive in the great scheme of things.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marki50uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you found the location of the hotel to be five star and enjoyed the view in particular. We are very fortunate to be so close to the shore of Lake Windermere, whilst being raised up on a bank. This gives the hotel unimpeeded views of the lake and the fells beyond.

Breakfast is something that we have given a lot of thought to and Chef will be pleased that you have enjoyed it.

Your comment about not being able to check in to your room and this being 'a common complaint' was slightly baffling however. I investigated your comment as soon as i read it as our team work tirelessly to ensure that rooms are ready for our guests when they arrive for the 3pm deadline, which we state on our literature. However I have been informed that you arrived at the hotel at 2.15pm, were informed by our reception team that your room was unfortunatly not ready yet and that our Housekeeping team would prioritise your room so you would not have to wait until 3pm. We appreciate that a number of our guests travel from far and wide to stay with us, here at the Belsfield and our Housekeeping team will always strive to have the rooms ready as soon as possible in order for our guests to enjoy their stay as soon as they arrivce irrelevant of the time.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed at the Belsfield over the Easter weekend.
Arrived a little early,room was ready, so we were checked in by very pleasant lady. We were in room 44 not refurbished but just ok.curtain valance was hanging off rail in middle,on the whole looked very dated, bed was most uncomfortable spring or some thing protruding , fortunately bed was big enough to try and avoid it. Bathroom was the smallest we have ever had in many years of traveling, every thing worked, so it was ok.Most importantly the room was very clean
We had breakfast each morning, staff were very good, as was the food, minor thing, no rolls or bread to slice, found lack of fresh bread unusual.
The weather was very good and we were able to sit out and admire the wonderful view.
Our visit was part of our golden wedding celebration,and I have to say it didn't disappoint.We hope to return when refurbishment complete.

Room Tip: Try and get refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davewsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Managaer at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I pleased to read that your stay was a success and that you specifically enjoyed the location of the hotel. I would agree that the location is ideal, with the hotel being a stones throw from the lake, yet far enough away from the promenade to sit peacefully and watch the hustle and bustle below.

The refrubishment is coming along incredibly well and I am pleased that you plan to return once it has been completed. To date, 39 of our rooms have been completely overhauled and some redesigned with Laura Ashley finishings throughout. The final rooms will be started tomorrow which means that anyone coming to stay here at the Belsfield is guarenteed to have a newly refurbished Laura Ashley room.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from an Easter weekend break at the Belsfield. The much talked about refurb did not affect us in the slightest. You can see from the quality in the rooms that it being done to a very high standard. The bathroom floors are heated which is a nice relief after a lot of walking. The fittings are lovely with complimentary shampoo and soaps left for your use. The beds are really comfy, the quality of the linen is fab also. We booked the breakfast and it was nice, all you could want for really and who doesn't enjoy a hotel English breakfast. My one complaint was we booked in early and the room wasn't ready however they took our car reg so we went out for a wander down by the lake. When we returned I noticed some of the cars had big orange stickers plastered on the window screens telling them to remove the car or it would be towed away. I checked ours and it also had a sticker on. The thing that annoyed me was it was hard to remove so I went to complain to reception and they apologised and said the reg hadn't been uploaded. They did clean it off however I felt it was ridiculous to use such hard stickers when they could have easily placed something under the wiper blades. People were scratching them off with credit cards, this just delays people from moving the cars who shouldn't be parked there. Apart from that everything was nice and will be once the work has been completed.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank debtilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the quality of the bedrooms to be of a very high standard. Each and every room is having a full Laura Ashley makeover and this process is almost complete. A number of our geusts seem to be enjoying them as a result. We aren't stopping there however and have now finished the restaurant, brasserie, the drawing room and the library.

The breakfasts at the Belsfield are something that we are very happy with and I am pleased you were too. With the large variety of hot and cold items on offer on our buffet, as well as the more traditional items such as eggs Benedict cooked to order, we believe there is something for everyone.

I apologise for your car receiving a sticker and I am pleased that we removed this sticker for you. Due to the Belsfield's proximity to Bowness village, a certain amount of people try to use the car park when they are not staying at the hotel. During busy periods this can result in our car park being full and have a knock on effect on our guests experience and we believe this is not fair on our guests. Therefore we have initiated a campaign against this parking as we believe our geusts enjoyment is paramount. Unfortunatly, from time to time mistakes do happen and if this is the case we will happily remove the sticker for you. Once again I do apologise for any inconvenicance.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefied
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

last year very dissapointed,mainly because of the evening meals.last week not very happy with plated breakfast,this is a 20 year backwood step.the evening meals were an improvement but would like a couple more of the traditional english meals.this is our opinion.now the refurb,elegant the only way to describe it.whatever the inconveniance it is worth it,finally a word abour the staff.two of these we have known many years,but our praise applies to all.pleasant and helpfull.

Room Tip: depends on personel views.never had a bad one,did not like bedrooms with cupboard style shower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank engine77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to hear that you found the refubishment to be elegant. To date, the Restaurant, Brasserie, Lounges and the majority of the bedrooms have been completed and a number of our guests have been pleased with the results. Of course all of the rooms have been fitted with Laura Ashley furnishings and there are a number of different styles throughout the building.

The staff will no doubt be grateful for your comments describing them as pleasant and helpful. The whole team at the Belsfield are one hundred percent committed to trying to ensure all of our guests are as a comfortable as possible.

The food is something that we are currently working hard on and have recently designed a traditionally British themed menu, to accomodate the quint essentially British designs of Laura Ashley. From lamb hotpot, to eton mess we believe there is something for all tastes. However we are also due to launch a fine dining menu in the restaurant which will encompass more of a focus on Nouvelle cuisine.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
966 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing