We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2008

After having read some reviews of this hotel I had to admit to having some doubts over choosing this hotel to host our wedding and reception as the big day grew closer. How glad I was to have stuck with our decision!
From day one we had nothing but polite,helpful and experienced staff dealing with us and nothing was too much trouble for anyone.
My main concern was the differing views on the quality of food but we can vouch that the reception food was fantastic as were the breakfasts we enjoyed every morning.
Unfortunately the two ladies that had dealt with our plans had left before our wedding (nothing to do with the hotel quality and the reasons explained to us) but the day went perfectly. The numerous staff involved had the ceremony,reception and food all bang on time to the schedule we had planned months earlier and made the whole day a happy and very relaxed event.
There was a slight mix up when we arrived over how many nights we were booked in for which was dealt with immediately and I was slightly dissapointed with the standard of our bathroom for the Four Poster Room which we had booked but we were offered a room change if we so wished. No problem at all with the cleanliness or size, just being one of the better rooms it could do with being updated as soon as possible.
That said it most probably has the best lake view in the hotel which more than makes up for the slightly tired decor.
Would definately go back and would recommend this hotel to any couple who want a friendly and relaxed intimate wedding

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CumbriaBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,387 - 1,393 of 1,446 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2008

In order of excellence:-
Food, variety, taste, always hot (unlike some breakfasts we have experienced), in really smart surroundings
Staff, pleasant, nothing too much trouble, they like their job and their customers
Sw pool, good size, private, enjoyable
Room, comfortable and well equipped, one of us found bed too hard but ok, high ceilings plus superb views over Windermere
Noisy corridors as walls must have been thinner than thought, but no detriment overall
Old fashioned lift added character

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gastronome2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We stayed in room 10 which had been refurbished and was very good if not a little bit small- reading other reviews and looking around am aware that not all rooms in this large hotel might be as nice as this. Another reviewer has posted pictures and our room was the same.We didnot have a view of the lake from the room but instead we had patio doors which opened into the gardens - this had table and chairs so we could sit out (when it wasn't raining!) which was really nice. Would rather have this room than a poor one with a view. If you want these rooms they are rooms 1-12, with 7-12 having a patio, 1-6 being on the first floor.
This hotel has terrific views, get a window seat for brekky if you can and enjoy as you eat. Sit alfresco and do the same with a beer in the evening. Large and lovely grounds and only seconds from the lake and Bowness pubs and food but yet secluded and quiet with lots of free parking which would have been a problem elsewhere. Ideal really. Breakfast is sligtly disappointing - given the price of the stay more choice and fresh fruit and buffet service would have been in order ( the orange juice is the worst I've ever tasted but the haddock was good!) but this is nit picking really.
We paid £140 per night for the room and breakfast for 2 in high season which is on the pricey side (but less than the £200 the McDonald hotel was asking for (without breakfast!!) round the corner) but The Lakes is an expensive place to stay.
No probs recommending this hotel if you get the right rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank joeyredeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2008

Hav e just returned from a one night stay at the Belfield following a holiday in Northumberland. Would agree with the mixed views of this hotel, clearly it depends on which room you stay in. Ours 77 and 75 were not refurbished and were some what shabby, curtains were dirty and the bath was cracked in one room. The hotel generally needs a make over. One guest who said they have been staying at the hotel for some 20 years said they have seen little work undertaken on the building in all of that time, they return because of the excellent location of the hotel and the wonderful views from it.

Corus are very definately drawing on the location which is very sad as this could be a really excellent hotel.

We definately did not experience rudeness from staff who were extremely polite and very helpful. The manager when we complained about the state of the room almost insisted we made written comments about the hotel on the feedback sheets provided.

My advice would be, if staying at the hotel check your room upon checkin and make any comments necessary, don't panic the place is not so bad as to avoid it at any cost. Sadly the problem is the building demonstrates how good it could be when compared to itself!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Densley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

I booked for my husbands birthday with another couple and after reading the website was saying how lovely it looked, the swimming pool was great so on and so on!

Oh dear!!! Have never experienced staff so rude upon checking in as i handed the receptionist my card for authorisation my husband asked the way to the room being told "I will do that when I am finished doing this" in a very rude voice, thought oh well everyone has off days!

Our room was dreadful, the bathroom had brown grouting and was tiny!!! There was even a washing up bowl outside of our room for catching the leak!!!! We were overlooking the car park but did not want to bother with paying for lake view as we weren't going to be in the room much!! When we told reception about our bathroom we were told they only had lakeview rooms and if we were unhappy with the room they would move us but for another £80!!! Wasn't bothered about moving to a lakeview room but just another room that had a decent bathroom but was told they had none!

The breakfast was awful cheap sausages, fatty bacon, only scrambled eggs available and after asking twice no tea only coffee, went out the for the second breakfast to a lovely cafe up the road!!

Don't bother asking for hot lunches at 2 minutes past 2 they stop at 2!!!!!

The one redeeming feature of the hotel is the view at the front but not keen on paying £300 for two nights for a view will not be going back!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r00m1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at the Belsfield, and really enjoyed our time there. I'd read a few negative reviews about it, and nearly cancelled the booking as a result! I'm so glad that I didn't as I really feel that I couldn't have booked a better hotel. It's excellent value for money - the room was clean, the atmosphere relaxed and friendly. The breakfasts were great, and the views across Lake Windermere are wonderful. If you pay a supplement on your room rate you can make sure that you get a view of the lake from your bedroom. I didn't pay the supplement, but had a lovely view of the garden, and could still also see part of the lake too which was nice. I was in one of the newly refurbished rooms, and was really pleased with it. The other people in my group had paid the room supplement and definitely had the better view of the lake, but they were situated in the older part of the hotel, so their bathroom wasn't quite as nice and new as ours, although it was still fine. The hotel is very central for boat trips and bus trips as well as the shops in Bowness. We will definitely be staying at this hotel next time we visit the Lake District, which will probably be next summer holidays, as we had such a great time there this year.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Katie049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

W e recently stayed at the belsfield for one night and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Ok parts of it may need abit of updating but on a hot sunny day there is no better view of the lake sipping a cold glass of wine on the verandah outside. It is so close to the lake side you can virtually step right in it when you go out of the hotel grounds. It is possibly the best located hotel to everything around you that you could stay in in Bowness. The breakfast was lovely and a good tip ...eat at the Villa Positano in the evening..wonderful. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,916 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
990 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $174 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing