We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff very attentive...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“staff very attentive...”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We have just stayed for the weekend at the hotel 7th march gone and although its being remodelled the room we stayed in was very nice. The staff where very very nice and they couldn't do enough for you which I truly think it makes it a cut above the rest...
we are going to revisit the hotel in Sep when all the refurbishment is finished as the location is excellent too. the breakfast was very good and lots of it nothing too much trouble. The hotel itself has lots of character and I do believe its owned by Laura Ashley and as we all know that's counts for taste.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drew57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be very attentive. Each and every member of the team work hard to meet each and every guests needs and will be exceptionally pleased that you believe this makes the Belsfiled a cut above the rest.

You are correct that the hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment from Laura Ashley. This is due to be completed in July and involves each and every bedroom being redecorated and some cases redisgned and finished with Laura Ashley products throughout. The downstairs lounges are also having a full makeover, a long with the bar and restaurant. We are currently most excited about however, the new Brasserie that we are creating. We belive that this will give our guests the option of having a different option as the focus is on making classic British dishes with a slightly more informal environment.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    360
    161
    69
    40
See reviews for
227
780
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 5nights what a superb hotel it will become once the refurbishment has been completed. Stayed in a refurbished room with heated toilet seat, what more could one want. Staff very attentive, meals in the Adam room still first class. A big thank you t Albert and Ian so attentive.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ljp1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am extremely pleased that you describe your stay with us as 'wonderful' and specifically enjoyed the heated toilet seats. I couldn't agree more, what more could you want on a cold winters morning.

With the refurbishment ongoing, as you mention dining is currently in the Adam room. We are currently in process of refurbing the restaurant and also creating another dining option, the Brasserie. The Brasserie will be a slightly different stlye food from the Nouvelle cuisine which we will continue to serve in the restaurant and will offer guests the option of some British classics in a slightly more relaxed environment.

Thank you once again for you your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We just stayed for a weekend and even though the room was not a refurbished room it was clean and comfortable. There was no hassle in checking in or out and the staff were very polite and helpful. When we took our own wine back and asked for glasses and ice it was no problem and was even brought to our room. The breakfast was not the buffet as the work is on going but the cooked breakfast was hot and adequate with a good cold selection. Looking forward to returning in the summer. All in all a very pleasant stay in a fantastic location.

Room Tip: We had room 44 and even though it was good it does not have a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siddy180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that your stay was excellent and that you found the location to be fantastic. We are extremely fortunate to be located on a bank with unimpeded views over Bowness Bay, Lake Windermere and the fells beyond. This magnificent view is also shared by 25 of our rooms. All of which are currently ongoing a vibrant refurbishment form Laura Ashley.

Sleep quality is also something that we do not take for granted here at the Belsfield and I am glad that you rated yours as 5 star. During the current refurbishment we are upgrading each and every bed in the hotel and it seems all of our guests are enjoying this.

Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Belsfield in the summer.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just returned from a weekend here at the Belsfield and it was fantastic. It is undergoing a refurbishment throughout but it did not spoil our time there. We had a newly renovated room which was absolutely gorgeous with a lake view. Laura Ashley designed, the bed was HUGH with a matttress to die for!! The bathroom had under floor heating, drench shower & bath with wonderful touches and lighting. A;though the restaurant was out of action they had designated another room to serve breakfast & dinner which was lovely. The waiter staff that served on were AMAZING.....they couldn't do enough for you and so very friendly and chatty. It makes so much difference when you are given VIP treatment. Albert seemed to be the head guy and he really was a lovely man who put everything into his job....but everyone of them was equally lovely and hard working.Thank you guys for making our stay so enjoyable, you were all diamonds.....we have stayed before and will certainly be back. Couldn't fault anything!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am increidbly pleased to read that your recent stay was 'fantastic' and that you found the staff to be wonderful. You are correct that Albert is our Food and Beverage Manager. He and his team work exceptionally hard at making sure each and every guests needs are met and will be most pleased to read your comments.

The ongoing refurbishment is a constant talking point and I am delighted that you approve of the work. As you mention, each and every bedroom has a brand new bed with incredibly comfortable mattressess. The high standard of the bathrooms is the same in all of the rooms, with under floor heating and night lights throughout.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed at the hotel last night and despite the renovation work it did not have a impact on our stay and we are going to be very happy to back once the renovations are completed to see how the place will look. Our room was beautiful and the Laura Ashley touches around the room were lovely. We had the valentines package and there was a rose in the room as well as champagne. It was also nice that we were given a glass of champagne before dinner as well. The food was amazing!! and breakfast was wonderful. The staff were extremely attentive and were all really nice. I can not wait to go back again as the place is lovely and in such a good location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slocker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the room in particular. As you mention, the refurbishment is in full swing and the results have been immaculate. To date, 14 of the bedrooms have been fully designed and finished with Laura Ashley products. From the wallpaper, right down to the bedding. The next phase of bedrooms are also die to be finished in April, as is our restaurant and brand new brasserie.

Service is one area that we believe we do work hard on and our staff try immensley hard to deliver a standard of service that we can all be proud of, for each and every guest.

Chef will be most pleased to read your comments regarding the food. We currently have one restaurant and with the afforementioned creation of the brasserie, we are hoping to offer our guests even more choice.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Despite the fact that we'd booked during the hotel renovations I was happy to find that we'd been given the very first suite that was renovated. More than happy to wait whilst the finishing touches were being applied that very afternoon !

Tastefully fitted with all things Laura Ashley & a glorious view of the Lake. I understand our room had the best view in the hotel.

Will definitely be going again !

Room Tip: I really wish I could remember the suite number!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted that you had an 'excellent stay' here at the Belsfield and specifically enjoyed your brand new room with Laura Ashley finishings. We are currently very excited to be able to start letting out the first of our brand new rooms and to date have had some lovely feedback. The rest of the rooms are currently being worked on and will offer the same high standard finish.

The view of the lake is something that a number of our guests tend to comment on. We may be slightly biased but do believe that we have the best view over Lake Windermere and the fells beyond. A view that is shared by 25 of our rooms and suites, as well as the restaurant, bar and lounges.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed Xmas eve and Xmas night. Staff great. Xmas dinner beautiful. Duty Manager friendly. Being done up to a high standard. Lovely memories
Only one thing is could have done with some evening entertainment over the festive period as all local bars shut or limited opening.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am incredibly pleased to hear that your stay was 'excellent' and specifically found the food to be beautiful. With the ongoing refurbishment we are currently creating extra dining options for our guests by building an extra restaurant. In future we are hoping to offer three styles of food for our guests and hopefully build on the positive comments we are currently receiving about the food.

Thank you for your feedback about the evening entertainment over the Christmas package. This is something that we can look at in future as feedback is vital for us to ensure that we design an enjoyable package for all of our guests.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,838 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
654 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
960 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Property: Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing