We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$154
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$143
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$173
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$239
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$335
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$162
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$229
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,558)
Filter reviews
1,558 results
Traveler rating
837
413
182
80
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
837
413
182
80
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewbeautiful hotelmain restaurantafternoon teadrawing roomswimming poolbuffet stylelake districtcourse mealcoffee machinecream teasconeshigh standardreception areafantastic viewscar parkmy partner
Filter
Updating list...
1,151 - 1,156 of 1,558 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stayed a couple of nights at this lovely hotel and had a room with a wonderful view. We also enjoyed the peace and tranquility of sitting by the lounge windows, cosy and warm, whilst the sun set over the magnificent fells. The area is delightful and the hotel is too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPW24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that your stay was such 'a lovely experience'.

Many of our guests comment on the views that the Besfield does possess. We are incredibly fortunate to have such striking views accross Lake Windermere and the fells beyond. This view is shared by 25 of our rooms and suites, as well as the downstairs lounges and dining rooms.

We have also began a full refurbishment of each and every bedroom of the hotel, all of the public rooms and the reception. All of which have been designed and finished by Laura Ashley.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Had a fantastic weekend in September at The Belsfield Hotel where i got married, stunning hotel with fantastic views, staff were extremely helpful throughout, from the day of booking to leaving they were all great, made sure all went to plan every step of the way, had a cake disaster the day before but thanks to the chefs they provided another cake in the nick of time, a big thanks to all involved!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful, (we obviously had bridal suite) overlooking the lake which was complimentary,well done the Belsfield.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Dear Barry and Bernie,

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to read that your wedding was such a success. Everyone seemed to be having a lovely day and I am pleased that you managed to get some photos outside before it rained.

Regarding the cake, the chef's are aways happy to help out where they can and I am pleased that you were happy with the cake that they created for you. I hope it tasted as good as it looked.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Short break after the new year celebrations at Belsfield which was a hotel recommended by a freind. Due to the ongoing refurbishment we were upgraded to a room with four poster bed over looking Lake Windermere. The room was stylish and very comfortable and the view was worth a million dollars. You can see that some of hotel has been completed and the forthcoming Laura Ashley style will look stunning. The food in the the restaurant was awesome and the quality and presentation for a set price menu was excellent. The location is to die for and extremely convenient for travel around the lakes either on foot, car, boat or bus. The staff are very welcoming, polite and knowledgeable. Can't wait to come back and stay post the new developments.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bartman1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and specifically found the food to be superb. Head chef and his team are constantly working on ways to improve our menu. Chef has started to trial new cooking techniques and methods and as a result is producing some exciting menus.

With regards the refurbishment, the work is going nicely to plan and the first lot of bedrooms have been completed and many of our guests are now enjoying the benefit of these newly refurbished rooms. Each and every room throughout the building are being given a complete makeover by Lauara Ashley as well as the downstairs lounges and reception areas.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future,

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had a pleasant stay over Christmas at the Belsfield though I feel it is certainly in need of improvement for the expense that it is and more clarity in the running of the hotel.

After booking for Christmas, months in advance, we were informed only a month or two before that the sauna would not be working, not giving us enough time to find alternative accommodation over the Christmas period. Only apologies were given.

On arriving at the hotel, clearly it is undergoing a renovation as there is scaffolding and building works. One of the 3 rooms we booked were upgraded to a superior suite which indeed made the issue of the sauna become less so.
The remaining rooms were certainly in need of improvement, though clean, the rooms often smelt of damp and the showers were uncontrollably hot and then cold.
We were offered other rooms but the scaffolding impended the view from the windows.

On Christmas day we were under the impression that we would be getting a meal in the evening but in turn we only got a small buffet. We were informed that the roast was served for lunch - this was not made clear to us and of corse this is perhaps something we should of confirmed before but we were under no impression otherwise. Staff apologised and offered left over turkey but it definitely tainted our Christmas day.
Breakfast buffet was pleasant if not same-y, maybe there could be a change of selection for different days.

It is a shame as it is a lovely period building in an excellent location with pleasant staff.
It is in desperate need of improvements which seem to be happening but I cant recommend it for the money that is asked currently.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view room. Others are either run down or scaffold facing.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leah-gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not quite as you had hoped.

Regarding the sauna and renovation work throughout the building, unfortunatly we could not inform guests any sooner than two months before the date when the work commenced. This is simply because we were not given a start date ourselves. The day we were informed by the work team that the renovation was due to commence, was the same day that we informed our guests because we don't want to disrupt any of our guests stay.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room upgrade. We are currently increasing our amount of suites that we can offer to our guests and this, along with our 25 lake view rooms should hopefully make future stays that little bit more enjoyable.

I am sorry that the buffet in the evening was not as you had hoped. The meals for our guests staying over the Christmas package are carefully thought out and planned to the detail by chef. The reason their wasn't a roast on offer is because the guests had enjoyed a roast turkey during lunch time. We in turn can learn from this and will in future make sure that we are more transparent with our menus in order to avoid any disappointment.

Thank you once again for your review,

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had occasionally gone to The Belsfield for their Sunday Carvery, so were very disappointed when we last visited to find that the carvery has now been stopped and replaced with an Al a Carte menu...........not cheap and very poor tasteless food. The portions were tiny and of very poor quality.
The staff are polite enough but one particular waitress rushes you through your meal, the place has no atmosphere and lacks ambience.
When the carvery was there the dining room was buzzing and appeared to be so busy. On this occassion there were only x 2 other tables in.
In my opinion you should have kept your carvery, we would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki and Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to read that your lunch experience was not as you had hoped. You are correct that back in April, we decided to focus our efforts solely on attnetion to detail with our dishes and quality over quantity and hence have replaced the carvery with our carefully thought out a la carte or Table d'hote menus. We do however constantly have a Sunday roast option available on our menu for those who do prefer a roast on a Sunday afternoon.

With regards the sizes of the dishes on offer, chef carefully balances each and every dish with the aim of leaving our guests comfortably satisfied. I am sorry if you felt the portions to not be of an adequate size.

I must unfortunatly contest your terminoligy which refers to the food as 'very poor and tasteless'. Due to the number of fantastic cooking methods and techniques that chef has at his disposal, this is not a comment I have come accross here at the Belsfield and most certainly not something I have experienced when dining in our restaurant or bar.

With regards your comment about a slightly hurried service; this is something that we will learn from and I am sorry to hear that your meal was disrupted. The lady in question is our most attentive member of staff and it seems she may have given the wrong impression. She, and we as a team will learn from this.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews