We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, friendly and superb food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Short break after the new year celebrations at Belsfield which was a hotel recommended by a freind. Due to the ongoing refurbishment we were upgraded to a room with four poster bed over looking Lake Windermere. The room was stylish and very comfortable and the view was worth a million dollars. You can see that some of hotel has been completed and the forthcoming Laura Ashley style will look stunning. The food in the the restaurant was awesome and the quality and presentation for a set price menu was excellent. The location is to die for and extremely convenient for travel around the lakes either on foot, car, boat or bus. The staff are very welcoming, polite and knowledgeable. Can't wait to come back and stay post the new developments.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bartman1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and specifically found the food to be superb. Head chef and his team are constantly working on ways to improve our menu. Chef has started to trial new cooking techniques and methods and as a result is producing some exciting menus.

With regards the refurbishment, the work is going nicely to plan and the first lot of bedrooms have been completed and many of our guests are now enjoying the benefit of these newly refurbished rooms. Each and every room throughout the building are being given a complete makeover by Lauara Ashley as well as the downstairs lounges and reception areas.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future,

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,416)
There are newer reviews for Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,018 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

We had a pleasant stay over Christmas at the Belsfield though I feel it is certainly in need of improvement for the expense that it is and more clarity in the running of the hotel.

After booking for Christmas, months in advance, we were informed only a month or two before that the sauna would not be working, not giving us enough time to find alternative accommodation over the Christmas period. Only apologies were given.

On arriving at the hotel, clearly it is undergoing a renovation as there is scaffolding and building works. One of the 3 rooms we booked were upgraded to a superior suite which indeed made the issue of the sauna become less so.
The remaining rooms were certainly in need of improvement, though clean, the rooms often smelt of damp and the showers were uncontrollably hot and then cold.
We were offered other rooms but the scaffolding impended the view from the windows.

On Christmas day we were under the impression that we would be getting a meal in the evening but in turn we only got a small buffet. We were informed that the roast was served for lunch - this was not made clear to us and of corse this is perhaps something we should of confirmed before but we were under no impression otherwise. Staff apologised and offered left over turkey but it definitely tainted our Christmas day.
Breakfast buffet was pleasant if not same-y, maybe there could be a change of selection for different days.

It is a shame as it is a lovely period building in an excellent location with pleasant staff.
It is in desperate need of improvements which seem to be happening but I cant recommend it for the money that is asked currently.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view room. Others are either run down or scaffold facing.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leah-gregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not quite as you had hoped.

Regarding the sauna and renovation work throughout the building, unfortunatly we could not inform guests any sooner than two months before the date when the work commenced. This is simply because we were not given a start date ourselves. The day we were informed by the work team that the renovation was due to commence, was the same day that we informed our guests because we don't want to disrupt any of our guests stay.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room upgrade. We are currently increasing our amount of suites that we can offer to our guests and this, along with our 25 lake view rooms should hopefully make future stays that little bit more enjoyable.

I am sorry that the buffet in the evening was not as you had hoped. The meals for our guests staying over the Christmas package are carefully thought out and planned to the detail by chef. The reason their wasn't a roast on offer is because the guests had enjoyed a roast turkey during lunch time. We in turn can learn from this and will in future make sure that we are more transparent with our menus in order to avoid any disappointment.

Thank you once again for your review,

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We had occasionally gone to The Belsfield for their Sunday Carvery, so were very disappointed when we last visited to find that the carvery has now been stopped and replaced with an Al a Carte menu...........not cheap and very poor tasteless food. The portions were tiny and of very poor quality.
The staff are polite enough but one particular waitress rushes you through your meal, the place has no atmosphere and lacks ambience.
When the carvery was there the dining room was buzzing and appeared to be so busy. On this occassion there were only x 2 other tables in.
In my opinion you should have kept your carvery, we would not recommend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki and Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to read that your lunch experience was not as you had hoped. You are correct that back in April, we decided to focus our efforts solely on attnetion to detail with our dishes and quality over quantity and hence have replaced the carvery with our carefully thought out a la carte or Table d'hote menus. We do however constantly have a Sunday roast option available on our menu for those who do prefer a roast on a Sunday afternoon.

With regards the sizes of the dishes on offer, chef carefully balances each and every dish with the aim of leaving our guests comfortably satisfied. I am sorry if you felt the portions to not be of an adequate size.

I must unfortunatly contest your terminoligy which refers to the food as 'very poor and tasteless'. Due to the number of fantastic cooking methods and techniques that chef has at his disposal, this is not a comment I have come accross here at the Belsfield and most certainly not something I have experienced when dining in our restaurant or bar.

With regards your comment about a slightly hurried service; this is something that we will learn from and I am sorry to hear that your meal was disrupted. The lady in question is our most attentive member of staff and it seems she may have given the wrong impression. She, and we as a team will learn from this.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed here as part of a works Christmas 'do'. Whilst the hotel is a little tired looking in places it has a warm and welcoming atmosphere. Friendly and helpful staff throughout.
A lovely setting in the bar for our 'Secret Santa' session!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to read that you found the hotel to be a nice place to stay, warm and welcoming and that you enjoyed our Christmas party.

You are correct that the hotel does need a new lease of life and fortunatly we have just embarked on a new exciting upgrade of the entire hotel. Every single bedroom in the building is being redesigned and finished with Laura Ashley interior. The reception rooms are also having a full facelift and we are hoping that the interior will match the truly unbelieveable view that we have from the Belsfield.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in future.

Kind regards

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

The Belsfield is a large Victorian house, with elevated views of Bowness Pier and Lake Windermere.

Traditionally, nearly all tourists seem to make for the hundred or so yards of shoreline in front of this hotel, but the building is set back, perched on top of steep, landscaped gardens, allowing for a measure of peace and quiet.

The public rooms are comfortably furnished and the lounges provide access to tables on the adjacent terrace and lawns; pleasant on a warm day.

The food at the Belsfield is pretty good and light snacks and afternoon tea are available via a small bar in the main lounge.

Staff are friendly and helpful.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
7  Thank Howi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and specifically the location of the hotel. You described this perfectly and we are incredibly fortunate to be able to offer our guests the oppurtunity to be set back from thhe hustle and bustle of the lake side whilst being a gentle stroll through our grounds if you do wish to access the lake.

Further more I am glad that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Each guest is as important as the next and the staff strive to meet each and every guests needs.

You are correct that the lounges are comfortable. However we have decided to invest heavily in an upgrade for every single bedroom in the hotel as well as the downstairs areas as well. Hopefully this will make the hotel even more relaxing and enjoyable.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

It was good to be back at the Belsfield hotel.
We stayed for two nights in a party of twenty one people, all of whom have stayed at the Belsfield on several previous occasions.
Initially, I was disappointed to be given a room in the annexe building, but, on seeing the room, I was very satisfied.
It was warm and welcoming on a cold November evening. The room was newly refurbished (four years ago, I believe) and was spotlessly clean, with the provision of huge,soft, snowy white bath towels and nice quality Laura Ashley toiletries in the very well appointed bathroom.
I can't describe how comfortable the bed was.
We had a delightful aspect onto the garden and could see the lake beyond.
Breakfast was excellent as always and the staff in the dining room were attentive, pleasant and totally obliging.
We all had dinner in the restaurant on the Saturday night and, once again, the staff were friendly and efficient. Some of the staff remembered us all from previous visits, which was nice to know.
The standard of food was superb; delicious and beautifully presented.
Bowness is a very attractive town, with a good range of shops and not too far to drive to get some good walking on the fells.
I thoroughly enjoyed this year's stay at the Belsfield and look forward to returning next winter.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamma2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am incredibly to read your review and hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay once again. Your comment regarding the service in particular will please the staff. Each and every member of staff strives to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible and they will be pleased to read that we have made an impact on your stay.

The annexe rooms have been upgraded as you mention over the past few years and we have recently embarked on an exciting task of updating each and every bedroom in the building. Further more, the restaurant is also being given a new lease of life as are the lounges and bar.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

helpfull staff, but does need a decor uplift great location and near to good eateries namely the postillion in bowness this is a very good old traditional hotel and is certainly worth a visit much better than its cou.

Room Tip: ask the staff
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you found the location of the hotel to be five star. We are incredibly fortunate to be only a two minute walk from Bowness village itself. We also have a gate at the bottom of our beautiful grounds that leads directly to the lake side.

I can also confirm that the uplift that you refer to is already underway. We have started an exciting project in which each and every bedroom is being decorated with Laura Ashley finishings. The firstphase of bedrooms were completed in December and the final rooms are scheduled to be finished in June. The work will also encompass the downstairs, communal areas and further more we are creating an extra restaurant serving a different style of food to the a la carte menu currently on offer.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $187 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing