We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best view in windermere for food but as this price once in too much”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We decided to go to the restaurant to get a lovely view of Windermere. Yes, we got the view, but £7.50 for a scone and tea is a bit excessive, even if it was a good scone. We also ordered some drinks which were again were overpriced. We've seen the lake from up above now, and at that price, once is enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank huge_appetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to read that you were unhappy with the price of our cream tea. As we value all of our customers, we have done vast amounts of research in to how much all other similar venues in the area charge for the likes of cream tea and set our prices in line with them as we most certainly don't want to leave a bad taste in peoples mouths.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view from our restaurant of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond. This is something that most guests specifically enjoy. We are incredibly fortunate to have such a fantastic view and this vantage point is shared by the bar, terrace, lounges and 25 of our bedrooms.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,459)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

As we've recently had a bad experience at a Corus hotel I'm shocked this hotel is from the same chain. Amazing place, staff, food and rooms (would recommend room 66).

Polish waiter was a delight very cheerful, accommodating your every need. All the other waiters were also fabulous could not fault the whole team.

Only issue was with wifi it was not working up until the last evening of our stay.

Would recommend!!M

Room Tip: Room 66 or one with lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sioned W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am incredibly pleased to read that you found the hotel to be fabulous and enjoyed the service in the restaurant. Service is an area that we are working incredibly hard on throughout the building and I am sure that Albert and his restaurant team will be most pleased with your comments.

With regards the food, it is nice to hear you found this to be amazing. We have recently brought a new chef in to our team who has a specific focus on producing quality food, sourced locally where possible. Our summer menu has been a big hit in particular and we will be bringing in a new exciting menu for the autumn, which we hope will be equally as succesfull.

I am sorry to here that the internet was not up to scratch during your stay. We have recently installed new software and it seems that we have had some teething problems with this and I do apologise if it has effected your stay with us.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night and regretted not staying for a second one. It rained but who cares! Stunning views from bedroom, hotel has lots of character in a good way. Staff are friendly and breakfast was excellent. Wedding was going on which added to the splendour and atmosphere of the place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ManCity3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

Your review was a lovely room and i am incredibly pleased you found the hotel to be perfect. Even on a rainy day. We are fortunate at the Belsfield to possess such fantastic views from 25 of our bedrooms, lounges, bar and terrace. Which means that if the weather is poor and you fancy staying in doors you can sit in our warm lounges and enjoy the view.

I am pleased that you found the service to be 5 star. Our team have a strong focus on customer service and aim to meet each and every guests needs. This appraoch includes all of our departments and in turn they will be pleased to hear that in this case they have succeeded.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel has an enviable position overlooking the lake and 100 metres from both the lake and the town. Our bedroom had a fantastic view but needs totally updating as does the whole hotel. The staff are very pleasant and the evening meal was excellent, even though the £22 per head allowed on a dinner bed and breakfast package couldn't cover 2 courses and veg which is very annoying. I can't understand why the hotel doesn't have a table d'hôte menu which can be included to avoid annoyance. Breakfast however is a different matter. The buffet was more like a motorway service cafe then a 4 star restaurant. The bed rooms, reception rooms, lounge and bar need a total updating. The ensuite was tiny and one side of our bed had collapsed. The free wifi in the hotel didn't work and the old fashioned lift was frightening. If money was spent on upgrading this hotel it could easily become one of the best hotels in the Lakes but for now its one of many tired old hotels in Windermere

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased to hear that you found the view from the bedroom to be fantastic. We currently have 25 bedrooms overlooking the lake, as well as 12 rooms overlooking the garden. Our view overlooking Lake Windermere and the fells beyond is also shared by our bar, lounges and the terrace.

With regards the evening meal, I am extremely pleased that you found the food to be excellent. We currently have a new head chef who focuses on quality and attention to detail. He sources food locally where possible and has an experienced, exciting team around him.

The dsign of the menu pricing is currently being updated thanks to feedback from our guests. We currently offer an allocation of £22 per person and have designed our menu in order to allow guests to have three courses within this allocation. However we will be rewording this scenario for future to ensure no confusion is caused.

I apologise for the wifi system not being up to speed during your stay. We have recently had a new high speed service installed and it seems that we had some teething problems with this system during your stay. I can assure you that this is now working on full capacity.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Victorian hotel is one of the best deals in that area. Stylish and, although not extremely well preserved, it has a classic flavor and an outstanding view of Lake Windermere.
The rooms are spacious, clean and well equiped. The only negative part is the bathroom being too small.
The car park is very good. As the Hotel is located in the city centre you do not need to use your car to move around.
The reception staff was very helpful.
The bar has very good views and a wonderfull terrace. We had dinner in the restaurant which was a pleasant surprise, one of the best deals of the area for what we could see around. The food was excellen at not very expensive rates. Again the view from our window table was fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miguel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you found the hotel to be one of the best deals around and enjoyed dinner in particular. We have currently hired a new chef who pays extra attention to detail. He focuses on quality over quantity and uses fresh, local produce.

The location of the hotel is often something our guests tend to find ideal and I am pleased that you did too. With our proximity to the local shops, the lake and bus tours there is something for all of our guests.

You are correct about the terrace as well. During a summer's day or evening it is a fantastic place to relax your time away. Alternatively if you want your own space to relax, our gardens are ideal if you can find a peaceful corner.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield at some point in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Just popped in for a light lunch. All very nice, seats outside with a great view. Food was good, we just had sandwiches and huge chips. All very tasty but expensive at £8 and £9 for a sandwich. Comes with some salad and crisps on a plank.

You're definitely paying for the view but all in worth it albeit an expensive treat.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank georgegibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you found the hotel to possess the best view in the Lake District. The hotel was originally built in the 1800's for a Baroness who's one request was she wanted the best view available. In turn we have inherited this magnificent view today. The view of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond is often commented on and we are fortunate to have 25 of our bedrooms that share this view, along with the restaurant, bar and lounges.

I'm glad that you found the food to be good. Many people often choose to come up and try our bar menu on the terrace or in the lounges. Whilst we also have a new a la carte menu which focuses heavily on quality, fresh and local produce.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

The room we had perfect with lake view ask for room 68. The hotel itself is a little and in need of some restoration chairs and sofas in bar and throughout need replacing to be honest but that's not to detract from a pleasant stay, reception staff were helpful and check in was smooth, bar man who served me on all occasions could have made the effort to be more greeting and cheerfully, we only eat breakfast on one morning buffet style and nothing startling to be fair certainly not £10.50 as advertised however we were only charged £7.50, still a bit rich go into town better options to be had a reasonable price. All in all have to say enjoyed my stay the points picked up are for hotel to bring up standard to be fair, would stay again if in area great location for shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnthonyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and liked room 68 in particular. We are incredibly fortunate to have a number of rooms with such a fabulous view of Lake Windermere and the fells beyond. We currently have 25 rooms that share this view, as well as the restaurant, bar and lounges.

Thank you for your comments about the reception staff. All of our staff read and value our guests comments and they will be pleased that they have helped make your stay more comfortable. I am sorry that this didn't seem to be the case in the bar. This will be a matter I will look in to further.

Thank you once again for your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,947 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
451 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $171 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing