We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Previous reviews seem a little unfair. The hotel has a great history, once a private residence where the owner walked to his private jetty through the wonderful gardens which surround this hotel. There are jetties below used for local boat tours. Views from the terrace are great, just minutes from the centre of Bowness. Whilst we were not fortunate to have a room with a lake view, the lounge and restaurant have them and we had a great breakfast overlooking the lake. You had to get a key to use the swimming pool since it was not manned when we were there. Equipment in rooms a little dated but overall very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joseph_Cobb, Deputy General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the great location of the hotel. As you mention in your review, our proximity to the lake is rivalled by only a few. We are also extremely fortunate that even though we are so close to the lake, we are nicely raised which gives us magnificent views of the lake and the fells beyond. We have twenty five rooms that exploit this view, all of which vary in size.

I am pleased that you enjoyed breakfast. The large sash windows give us the perfect backdrop and we have been working on the quality of the food to bring it in line with the quality of the view. Chef will be pleased to hear that this was something that you enjoyed.

Hopefully we can welcome you back to the Belsfield some time in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
There are newer reviews for Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,101 - 1,107 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel is dated, the decor in need of attention and the floor boards very uneven in the public areas. The first room we were allocated was extremely tired and tiny; it had the promised lake view and the bed was clean and well made but as we were paying £154 per night it was not value for money. The reception staff allocated us a different room which was slightly larger, with a lake view, threadbare carpets and tired decor. The reception staff were helpful and we left with no charge being made. A disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at the Belsfield Hotel. I am sorry to hear that this time we didn't match your expectations, as of course we do aim to please. The room in question as you mentioned has got a fantastic view of Lake Windermere and beyond and we are fortunate for that. With the extensive refurbishment that is due to commence, we sincerely hope that it matches expectations. In fact all of our rooms are having a fantastic refurbishment by Laura Ashley. This is a project we have embarked on due to constructive feedback from our guests. Fortunately we can also guarentee that the work that is being undertaken is being executed one wing at a time and shouldn't encroach on our guests enabling them to continue to enjoy their stay with us. We have also brought in a talented new team of chef's who have constructed a new seasonal, a la carte menu to compliment our unrivalled view from the restaurant. Hopefully all of which may encourage you to stay with us some time again in the future.

Kind regards,

Joseph Cobb
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Rooms are small and the bathroom was smaller than my dining room table (which is not big!). Possibly a bit dated this place, staff nice though and a great breakfast.

We stopped for one night on the Sunday of a bank holiday weekend so probably paid extra for that privilege (£174 for a double)

They also claimed we had been upgraded to a Lake view room when we arrived which was nice.

Very clean, which is something I suppose - however no aircon, and the room was very warm.

Room Tip: There are some amazing B&Bs in the Lakes - I will be going back to those after trying here.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FootyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

we booked this hotel as it was located in a fantastic spot to use as our base and explore some of the wonderful area of the beautiful lake district.
we had booked a room with a lake view and was given an upgrade upon arrival to the suite on the second floor with its four poster bed and a view from the room that will stick in our memory forever.
this was the icing on the cake especially as my sister and brother in law who came with us had never been to the lake district and both of us having this upgrade was a fantastic gesture from the management at the Belsfield. Thank you very much.
the Hotel is very good and we decided to eat at the hotel on the evening rather than fight the crowds in the local pubs and can only say although a little pricey the quality of the food and the service we received was excellent.
we would definitely use this hotel again and hopefully stay a little longer to visit the fabulous areas in this wonderful area of the uk.

Room Tip: for the best views the suites room 56 & 66 are spectacular.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baggyboy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The best hotel for miles for grandeur, location, style and value. We had a family room over the front door which was big and comfortable, though the bathroom seriously needs updating, and very quiet. We had a DDB deal with was incredibly good value, even more so when we tasted the food which was absolutely superb. The bar and terrace are lovely with those beautiful views, and the staff were all courteous and polite. The kids loved the gardens and the pool and the old fashioned lift. Yes it was tired round the edges in places, but my only small gripe, as always, is the lighting. Please could we have candles, not over-bright lights, at dinner? And restful music at breakfast, not clanging radio? Overall, a fantastic break and we would love to come back, perhaps for New Year??

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room. The view is unbeatable, especially at sunset.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnastasiaParkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

we had a two day break at the belsfield and although we had stayed in bowness many times before, we had never thought of staying at this very imposing hotel until a great offer arrived via an e mail.we booked a lake view double and although some of the decor is a little tired the room was very clean and spacious with a view to die for.the hotel has some great sitting rooms with big comfy settees and chairs and an outside terrace overlooking the lake and the immaculate large gardens.
every member of staff we encountered was very friendly and in particular the restaurant staff who made us feel very comfortable.although the food we ate was excellent the al acarte menu was very limited,(as was the wine menu) with liitle choice of starters and desserts(and a £2 supplement for cheese and biscuits always bugs me) and most of it was repeated on the second night which was a disappointment.
breakfast is buffet style which can often be hit and miss but on this occasion the choice was quite good and quality was excellent.
when we checked out at reception we noticed that we had not been charged for our dinner on the second night which was an error and we were honest enough to inform the staff (well we would like to return).
overall we had a great stay at this old hotel and look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: if you can afford it a lake view is a must.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harryess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Have just spent a week at this fabulous hotel celebrating our silver wedding anniversary.our suite overlooking the lake was sensational-must be the best view of the Lakes!! from the minute we arrived to our departure the staff were truly professional,courteous,friendly and hard working.the restaurant has new chef's, and the evening meals are now a la carte and the food has definately improved from our previous visit.the breakfast is self service with plenty of choice.the hotel is in a fantastic location and within easy access to all amenities.big plans to upgrade to a 4 star - can't wait to see the changes!.A big thanks to all staff for making our stay a memorable one.Andy & Angela xx

Room Tip: ask for a room with a lake view
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyw29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,901 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
419 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $188 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing