We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service excellence!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Although we had a deal we would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a traditional place to saty which retains the classic English feel with modern rooms. Service at all times was superb with all staff going above and beyond to help in every respect.. The location is stunning and the views complete the package. The only minor negative is the incredibly soft beds. Although we went in early February, we can just imagine sitting in the beautiful grounds looking out to the lake, watching a summer sunset. We will be back.

Room Tip: Beware of the overly soft beds. And I mean soft!!
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,417)
There are newer reviews for Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,152 - 1,158 of 1,417 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

position excellent, rooms big with a separate seating room, very clean, staff friendly, bar prices were normal. Had one nights evening meal and two breakfasts while staying at this hotel, the evening meal we had was greek salad and prawns for starters and the main we had was chicken with black pudding inside which was devine and smoked haddock.... deserts were to die for.
would definately go back again as we had nothing to complain about..

Room Tip: turn your radiator down at night time as it gets really warm in the night.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed at The Belsfield 1st & 2nd February 2013, had a thoroughly wonderful stay. Loved everything about the hotel and the staff. Matt was great when I had to make some changes to my original booking. The room was very clean & comfortable .The pool and the sauna were just right to help us both relax. We enjoyed a great meal and lovely bottle of wine at dinner on the Friday night but decided to eat out in Bowness for a change the second night. I would highly recommend staying here

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GinaLeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Great location right next to Lake Windermere and short walk into the centre of Bowness. Well-appointed Longe, Bar & Dining areas, all with lake views. Room adequate but v. small shower cubicle! Also, a little on the cold side but you soon get used to it! It was January and heavy snow outside. Would recommend if you are visiting for a short Lake-side visit like us. 2 nights, no complaints.

Room Tip: Lake View is a must!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CradsonHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great location for this hotel, central but right on the lake. Excellent staff, not pushy but there when needed and any request we had was dealt with within 5 minutes. The room was clean although dated but this is a minor quibble. We had a lake view room which gave us a tremendous vista. Dined in the hotel one night and the food was more than adequate. The buffet breakfast was good and better than average for a hotel this size. One unexpected plus was having a steep hill at the front of the hotel. There was 8 inches of snow during our stay so we had a ball sledging down the hill on the saturday afternoon. Not bad for a couple of middle aged duffers. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Trip advisor reviewer,

Thank you for your positive feedback, I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and look to be returning. My team have told me about the sledging!

We look froward to welcoming you back to the Belsfield Hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here at the end of January originally for 2 nights D.B&B but we were having such a good time we extended to 3 nights. We paid an extra £20 per night to have a lake view room which we felt was well worth it, the views from room 64 are spectacular. We could not fault the dinner, service or room we prefer our bacon at breakfast not to be so crispy but this is only a personal preference. All in all a great stay at a fabulous location only downside the drinks were a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Room 64 Great lake view and spacious bedroom
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EDDYKID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard G, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for the review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much that you extended your stay.

The Belsfield Hotel does have the benefit of having probably the best view of all the Hotels in Windermere which is best enjoyed at times from a lake view room.

Once again thank you for your feedback.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Belsfield Hotel for two nights in January 2013. We were highly impressed with the class, quality and olde-worlde charm of the sprawling hotel which is magnificently situated atop a large hill boasting fantastic views of the Bay of Bowness and the lake.
The restaurant service was top class - nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel very important! The buffet-style breakfasts were superb too.
The hotel was very quiet in the evenings. If you favour a lively, rowdy evening then this hotel is defintely not for you!
We would definitely stay there again if we were ever in this neck of the woods in future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $188 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing