We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed opinion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was a good hotel in a great location but they keep the heating off most of the day so it was freezing, the wifi is terribly slow and the children's portions are bigger than the adults. All in all this was a ok hotel but seeing the old england hotel we will be staying there in future

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,219 - 1,225 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked 2 days the day after boxing day - the location of the hotel could not have been better - we had a ground floor room overlooking the gardens and lake - although the weather wasn't too good
not too good if you have mobility problems as bowness is particularly hillly
although hotel is literally short i.e. 5 mins from all the shops/restaurants and a very good selection at that
breakfast was very disappointing - the egg tray was constantly empty the beans kept needing replacing sausages hard and cold - bacon also cold - scrambled eggs nowhere in sight - seemed very disorganised for such a large hotel - wish we had just booked room only as there was a pub facing the lake offering all you can eat breakfast for £3.99

Room Tip: a good room in the summer would be a basement room with lake views -these rooms have patio doors lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janetb637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Excellent hotel, perfectly situated in Bowness with easy access to Lake Windermere itself as well as all the facilities of Bowness, it was literally just ashort 5 min walk to the nearest pubs/restuarants/shops etc...the hotel has superb grounds/gardens which would be ideal in the summer, together with a nice good sized swimming pool. Hotel service was good, bedroom was clean and spacious and well equipped.

Negative points....the bathroom in the bedroom was cramped and only had a small size wash basin which is not what you expect from such a nice quality hotel.....price of breakfast was expensive @ £15 per person.....

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidPiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed for one night during the off-season. I had a twin room overlooking the lake and my friends had a triple room overlooking the car park. The triple room was huge although not very warm at night and the bathroom was on the small side. My twin room had a wonderful view of the lake as promised and was decorated in quite an old-fashioned style. The bathroom had been partly modernised and the grouting and sealant around the bath was faultless unlike in some other reviews. The heated towel rail didn't work and needed a new electrical connection as it had suffered heat damage. The bath was deceptively small, probably the shallowest bath I have encountered in a hotel. The wall-mounted soap-dish was cracked which rather spoilt the look of the new tiling. Overall the bathroom had a 2 star budget hotel feel about it.

However my main gripe was over the poor quality of the mattresses on the single beds. Despite my being very tired and always a sound sleeper, I awoke at 6 in the morning due to the bed. The mattress was thin with creaking springs, offering no support for someone of adult size.

Because there were only 11 guests in the hotel, breakfasts were cooked very quickly 'to order' but they weren't particularly tasty or memorable. I didn't use the swimming pool but I did try and use the sauna but gave up as it couldn't reach a high enough temperature in the time available. However the wi-fi did work extremely well. The reception area has been renovated and looks very smart now with button-upholstered sofas and a stag's head on the wall.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and the location is stunning. We loved the grounds of the hotel and the paths down to the lake. As another reviewer has mentioned, the paths and car park become incredibly slippery with a coating of ice in the winter so care was needed in negotiating the paths late at night and early in the morning.

The problem for the owners of the Belsfield is that many of its guests will also stay in the mid-market chain hotels such as Premier Inn, Holiday Inn Express, Village, Jury's etc which really set the standard. I don't think the Belsfield matches them for comfort, bathrooms, facilities etc. Overall we were a bit disappointed but the location could not be faulted.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunkbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of December. We arrived at 6.30pm & were surprised at that hour to find that no sand/grit had been put down around the hotel entrance; it was like walking on glass. However, an hour later, as we left the Hotel, a small amount had been put down which made walking a little easier.

We had a front facing room which would have been great if we had been there early enough to see the view! We found the room, although quite basic, to be clean & comfortable; tea/coffee making facilities were provided. The bathroom was in need of some TLC but nevertheless was clean & provided everything one needs for an overnight stay.

Breakfast was excellent from the service to the food; plus we had the additional bonus of a table in the window overlooking the beautiful misty lake & snow capped mountains.

The Hotel had added appeal to us as it is only a brief walk away from the heart of the village.

To summarise; I'm not sure I would want to pay full price for a nights stay, but if you can bag a deal, it's certainly worth a visit.

**The reason I have not given full marks on service is because the week before we visited I emailed twice for some help & did not receive a reply on either occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is a 19th Century grand house converted to a hotel. It has an interesting history and the architecture is splendid. From the dining room and bar, It has, possibly, the finest view of Lake Windermere. A wonderful location within easy walking distance of restaurants in Bowness. The staff were lovely, extremely helpful and friendly. Rooms have been converted from former rooms at the house, so they will vary in size and shape. Our room was fine but the bathroom (well, shower room) was tiny. We were a little disappointed with the swimming area. It was a bit gloomy. The sauna operated on a 30 minute timer so it never reached optimum heat.

Overall, this is a good, friendly hotel in a superb location. Thank you to all the staff. We will return.




Stayed: December 2012
2  Thank Steely707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having stayed at the Belsfield many years ago for our Honeymoon it was with with great expectations and rose - coloured memories that we returned as an anniversary treat.

The title of this review sums the experience up.

The hotel screamed "tired " and in need of refurbishment. Our room was at the rear of the premises overlooking an enclosed courtyard and staff quarters - not a good start.

The room was quite spacious, immaculately clean and well presented. The bed was very comfortable.

The restaurant lacked atmosphere and clearly catered for touring coach party trade. The dining experience was saved by the exceptional lake views and the quality of the food.

The furnishings in the bar ( tables and seating ) were well worn, marked and in need of replacement and the service was hardly attentive- tables left with spilled drinks from previous customers.

Room Tip: Always insist on a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edward R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,963 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#12 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#5 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $179 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing