We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband and I checked in on Friday 13th for a 2 night stay b,b &eve meal. Upon arrival the welcoming receptionist advised us we had a complimentary upgrade to a lake view room, the hotels gift for our 22nd wedding anniversary. The room was very spacious and beautiful. The views were outstanding. The food was exceptional on both days with plenty of choice. The reception staff, bar, restaurant and cleaning staff were extremely polite and nothing was too much trouble. Each morning we both made use of the pool and sauna before breakfast, the photo of the pool area on the website makes the pool look a lot smaller than it actually was. The pool, sauna and changing areas were spotlessly clean.
The hotel decor is a little tired in a couple of areas, but this really does add to the character. I tend to disagree with the comment about the bar prices, for a hotel we found the prices reasonable, you will always pay more in hotels than bars. We definately recommend this hotel and could not find fault with anything. We have stayed in lots of b&b's in the lakes and frequent it regularly, it is definately worth paying that little extra und upgrading to this hotel. We will definately re-visit.
Thank you to all at the Belsfield for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Definately recommend a lake view room, it is outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kay w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

We are so pleased you chose the Belsfield as part of your 22nd Wedding Anniversary and we met your expectations in all respects judging from your feedback. When we are able according to demand we are more than happy to offer complimentary upgrades to further enhance our guests stay.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,314 - 1,320 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2012

After 2 nights stay at the Hotel I am glad we came to it .The place was clean ,tidy and the staff friendly indeed .The breakfast is excellent as well are the staff.The place is warm and has chartacter and yes it is a bit worn in places but thats an old building for you and the lift is exellent old style which adds even more character .2 things which I think need looking into the mattress was to soft and the water pressure for the shower poor but dont let that put you off .The pool was excellent and warm and enjoyable and the views wow esp after a frost, I hope to be coming again soon as I feel this hotel is great and friendly and very welcoming indeed .Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mark d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2012

Thank you for your comments and praise for the staff, quality of breakfast and the warmth of our indoor pool. The building does have charm and character and ocassionally poor water pressure. Your comment regarding the mattress will be looked into. The views with or without a sharp frost are always inspiring and as i type this we are having wintry showers inflicted upon us. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

The hotels location must give you one of the best views of Windermere, its lovely relaxed atmosphere, makes you feel like you have stepped back in time. We enjoyed our stay so much we our returning next month.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandSte99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I totally support your views on our location and your appreciation of the informal relaxing atmosphere created. we look forward to your next viait.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay and have to say i really enjoyed the experience. The hotel is quite old fashioned in certain places but this just adds to its character, the staff where friendly and welcoming and the food both at breakfast and evening dinner was delicious. The bar prices are quite steep but i suppose this is to be expected when staying somewhere like this

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ch147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience of the Belsfield so other interested parties will be keen to stay with us.We hope to see you again in 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Stayed here last minute for my birthday and upon arrival we felt the woman on reception was looking down her nose at us. It is overpriced for what it is, as it is in need of a refurb and we were given a very small room. We also had to wait a long time to be served at the bar. It is in a great location and the view of the lake is lovely but we weren't impressed with the welcome we received so i'm not sure we would return.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beautygirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay. I can only offer my sincere apologies for the lack of welcome & hospitality you received on arrival. This is out of character for my reception team. I was dissapointed to read your comments regarding your impression of your bedroom and the hotel for as you will have noticed from earlier replies and other guest feedback we have invested in the redecoration of guest bedrooms and public areas. Should you decide to revist the hotel please contact me so i can ensure you visit will be memorable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed her to celebrate my wife's birthday, booking it last minute. The room was very good for such an old style hotel, the bed was huge and the decor was fresh (looked like it had been refurbished recently). All the staff were very friendly, it was a delight to relax in the bar admiring the fantastic view across the lake. The food was first class, from the full English breakfast to the wonderful 3 course meal we had on the Sunday. During our stay my wife misplaced her Iphone in the lounge and it was handed in by an honest member of staff.
Would/will recommend this to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gholt417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Thank you for your praise for all aspects of the hotel you experienced on your recent visit. I was pleased to read of the safe return of your partners iphone. We look forward ro welcoming you back on a future celebratory ocassion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Comfy rooms with a great view of Windermere. Beds were comfy and the bathroom was well equipped. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We enjoyed the full english breakfast which was buffet style with plenty of choice. The evening meals were nicely presented, again with plenty of choice, and variety, and we enjoyed our coffee in the lounge which had great views of the lake.
Little disappointed with the indoor pool as it was quite a trek to get to as we stayed in the 'Garden rooms', the pool looked somewhat tired and was poorly lit when I viewed it.
The reception staff were very helpful when we were booking the room and we were pleased with this.
The gardens are well kept and would be lovely in the summer, but in October they were still nice to walk through.

Room Tip: In the centre of Windermere and close to the launches - you can watch them during breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTaz2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm_belsfield, General Manager at Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your positive comments following your recent stay. We look forward to welcomong you both back in 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,941 reviews
1.7 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
997 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield

Address: The Belsfield Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EL, England (Formerly The Belsfield Hotel Lake Windermere)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $169 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Bowness on the Eastern shore of Lake Windermere and directly overlooking the "Belle Isle", the Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield is the perfect place from which to enjoy a holiday in Windermere. Set in 6 acres of landscaped gardens the boutique hotel offers unparalleled views over Lake Windermere in the foreground, and on the farther shore can be seen the often snow-capped Langdale Pikes and the Fairfield Horseshoe. The Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield has 62 designer bedrooms, including 25 Lake View bedrooms and 12 Garden View rooms, with 2 Four Poster bedrooms and Suites all enjoying views looking down Lake Windermere. Dining is provided in the Belsfield Restaurant and Belsfield Brasserie, with drinks in the Lounge Bar and opportunities to relax and take tea or coffee in the Drawing Room and Library. The setting makes the hotel the perfect location for your dream wedding, with a beautiful new glass reception overlooking Lake Windermere creating a magnificent arrival. Facilities for up to 100 guests are available. Newly refurbished meeting rooms with state of the art conferencing facilities make the hotel the ideal venue for your company event in the Lake District. We are also able to assist in organising special events within the grounds for special motivational or sales driven events using tents and various performances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belsfield Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Belsfield Bowness On Windermere
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing