We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

I found this B and B through a "Dog-friendly" website,so I was taken aback by the interrogation about my dogs size and breed, when I rang to book, and unfriendly attitude. No mention about the car park being some way away across a busy road. There are steep steps at the front straight into this road. The room was dingy and overlooked a very busy and noisy pub, the loo was tiny and the shower filthy. Horrible loud pop music at breakfast and the most revolting sausage I have ever tasted.Grim and dark decor.Awful altogether.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank diamond069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vircot, Owner at Virginia Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Thank you for your review
I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit with us but we we unfortunately did not enjoy cleaning up after you. We do not expect to adults to wet the bed and then to cover it up and leave without telling us. We have charged you £50 towards the replacement of a new mattress, hence your unpleasant review, but £50.00 is not a fraction of the cost we have been left with.
WIth regards to your comments.
We asked what kind of dog you had because we do not take a dog larger than a border collie but you would not tell us. This was because it was a large bull dog. Even then we agreed to let him stay as you could not find anywhere else that would. To be fair he was the well behaved one.
It takes approx 20 seconds to walk to the car park so i do not know how you walk your dog if you think that our car park is some distance away.
If you thought we were unfriendly when you booked and then arrived to find a dingy room which was dark and unpleasant and then the shower was filthy it is more a reflection on you that you would accept and stay in that kind of accommodation.
We always ask if everything was alright for you when you leave and you did not mention any problems at all. If we arrived to find the accommodation you describe i would walk out immediately and not stay 2 days.
We noticed that you have taken comments from other guests and not used your own thoughts but we mentioned the sausages to our butcher after a previous guest thought they were not nice and so we now have different ones. You would not have realised this as you are just being vindictive.
Our rooms are shown clearly on our website and so i think most people can see there are not any dingy rooms.
We expected this reaction from you when we made the charge and we hope other people reading the reviews will realise this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    143
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
44
532
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

Virginia Cottage is a good place to spend a weekend in-and-around the Lake District. You're only a short stroll to the shores of Lake Windermere and within crawling distance of the many pubs, shops and restaurants that the wonderful town of Bowness has to offer.
In terms of the accomodation at Virginia Cottage, it was perfectly nice. The rooms were a little dated, but this shouldn't be seen as a negative as the cottage was very charming and the owners couldn't have been more hospitable.
Breakfast was equally okay. I would neither say it's the best B&B Breakfast I've had, nor, by far, the worst.
All-in-all, for the price you could do a lot worse that Virginia Cottage. The location is great, the owners very friendly and the rooms are more than adequate.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandalaism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vircot, Owner at Virginia Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and to the lakes.
I would like to just take the opportunity to point out, as we have before, that our accommodation is decorated in a traditional style. The majority of the walls are papered, and not plain painted, with toiles and similar styles we feel in keeping with the cottage. They have all been decorated recently, so are not dated, it is the style we choose. The room you had was redecorated only last year and so has a very latest paper but again is in keeping with our style. We understand that the general theme at present is just painted plain walls and appreciate we offer a different style to this but please try to understand that it is still modern but just not the same as the rest. We do clearly state on our website that if you want minimilistic and contemporary then this is not the place for you. We have put our room pictures on our website as well so you can even see the style of the rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterlee, County Durham, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2010

My wife and I travel to the lakes nearly every year and normally stay in bowness in a different b&b each time. Although they're all pretty much the same, I think this one has the edge over other ones we've stayed in. Compimentary drink and choc on arrival, very clean, good room and decent location. The main downside for me was that it's right next to a main road and witness single glazing it kept me awake on the first night quite a lot. The second night i had to keep the radio on to drown out the road noise. Apart from this I couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aceyy2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vircot, Owner at Virginia Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Thank you for your review and we are very pleased you enjoyed your visit
I was sorry to read you were disturbed by the road as it is usually quiet through the night as it is a link road to Kendal and used mainly by work traffic.
Every room has got double glazed windows so i am not sure why you thought it was single glazed.
WIth the windows closed the rooms are relatively quiet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

Stayed in room 10 for 3 nights. Location of this B&B is excellent with a 2 min walk to the lake and a pub right next door. Owners very welcoming, approachable and friendly.
The room itself was pleasant, although may need updating in the near future.The shower room and toilet was very small and would benefit from some redesigning.
The bed was comfortable clean and cosy with plenty of pillows and cushions.
Breakfast was nice, service at the table & selection of food was good however, I would recommend to the owners if maybe the breakfast times could be adjusted to eat earlier.
WIFI available in the cottage, I couldnt get a signal in room 10 but found a perfectly good signal in the lounge downstairs.
Very dog friendly place with a "take out" sausage at breakfast included for the dog.
Would I stay again????
YES...... but not in the same room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davina18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vircot, Owner at Virginia Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, September 26, 2010
Thank you for your review
We are pleased you enjoyed your visit but are sorry you were not too keen on room 10. It is quite strange that this room has all of a sudden got very mixed reviews. There are pictures of the room on our website and it was redecorated last year so it is not out of date it is the style of the room.There are pictures of room 8, taken by a guest, on tripadvisor, this room is almost identical to room 10 and was also redecorated last year at the same time. We do not offer plain contemporary rooms. They are individually decorated in a traditional homely way we feel is in keeping with the charm of the lakes and is what many of our guests come back to us for. If this is not what you are looking for we do say not to book with us. We accept the en suite facilities we have in a few rooms are not large areas but this is again is stated on our website, but there is no way to redesign rooms any differently to increase the size of them. This is a traditional guest house after all and so the rooms reflect this in size, shape and style.
With reference to the breakfast time we have changed the time to be a later service as we were getting complaints that it was too early. We now serve from 8.45am to 9.30am which seems to meet the vast majority of guests requirements. An earlier breakfast can be requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

My husband and I stayed here in September for my birthday and have mixed feelings about the place, First on a arrival no one was around to check us in we had to call them on the telephone to tell them we were standing in the lobby waiting to be checked in, The lady was very nice and welcoming when she took us to our room offering to carry bags etc, also a glass of wine and chocolates was offered which i thought was a nice touch. we were in room ten which has a four poster bed and hydro shower ( instructions are definately needed), Very clean and tidy though , overlooking a pub and main road, not too noisy. Breakfast was full English (order the night before) but suggest they use Cumberland sausages not cheap ones that were served, also they need to change the spicy potato wedges for maybe a hash brown, first B &B Ive stayed in where the toast is served after the cooked breakfast has arrived.....Any issues we had were quickly resolved by the owners who I think was having a stressfull time while we were there as quite a few things seemed to be going wrong all at the same time for her .. All in all beautiful cottage frfiendly owners 2 mins walk from all the shop , pubs etc, Two nights of staying there and still could not find the cinema room they highly recommend using (If you find it let me know)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliebowilsonhanx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

we stayed for 3 nights and were given room 10. was a small bay windowed room overlooking the pub car park next door and the main road. there wasn't a bathroom in the traditional sense, but a toilet and wash hand basin in a tiny room which obviously used to be a cupboard and a separate shower room which wasn't much bigger. was disappointed not to have a spa bath. because we were on the main road the room was quite noisy with cars zooming past quite late at night and from early in the morning. the room was clean but a bit tatty - you could see it had been decorated but could see where the decorators had stopped painting the cornice above the 4 poster bed and some of the wallpaper was coming away. the four poster bed was lovely though and had a lovely cosy duvet and pillows. breakfast was nice, but cereal quite limited - the lady serving breakfast was very nice though.location is excellent though with pubs, restaurants and the lake very close by. quite pricey at £80 per night, would think £40 or £50 is more like it. one final point, it states check in after 1pm - we had a leisurely drive down and received a phone call from the owner at 3pm asking us when we'd be arriving as they wanted to walk the dog! they should ask for a estimated arrival time on the booking form if they need to know this

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twinclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vircot, Owner at Virginia Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, September 24, 2010
I am sorry you did not enjoy your visit to Virginia cottage but hope that you still enjoyed the lakes.
It is always disappoiting when a guest feels their expectations have not been met and we do all we can to try and improve our accommodation where possible. With regards to the size of room 10 i was very surprised you found it small as it is quite a good sized room for guest house accommodation and is far larger than the tourist board guidelines for a room for 2 people. The reviewer prior to you also stayed in room 10 but had a very different opinion.
The toilet is a purpose built room and has never been a cupboard, which is really quite obvious. We do have some larger bathrooms including a spa bath for 2 in one of the four poster rooms but we unfortunately do not have the practicality to make every bathroom really large and so we do not advertise that we do.
As you booked online through Booking.com you would not be able to reserve a spa bath so i am not sure why you were disappointed not to get one. We had no contact from you or any request that you would like one. However to guarantee a spa bath they are usually more xpensive so you probably would not have wanted to pay the extra.
After reading your review we checked the room and the decorator has missed a small area above the four poster bed so we thank you for pointing that out to us. However, as you said, you can see the room has been decorated so it seems strange you thought it was tatty. As with all guest houses there is a little wear and tear from the summer which we shall address in November but a room that was decorated earlier in the year is certainly not tatty.
Virginia cottage is on Kendal road, which is not the main road, and there is traffic throughout the day but this does drop considerably early evening and is usually quiet through the night. The vast majority of guest houses are near a road by the nature of the area and where we are it is far quieter than the main road from Windermere to Bowness.
WIth regards to our breakfast we offer a choice of 9 items on the cooked breakfast and 6 different cereals along with porridge ( in the winter ) fruit salad, grapefruit, prunes,yoghurts and 3 fruit juices. We do not offer childrens cereals, such as coco pops etc, as we do not cater for children. Our accommodation is for couples wishing to relax in a beautiful part of the world with the lake and attractions less than 200 yards away.
As you booked online your mid week price includes a commission charge but for a direct reservation we have special offers from £30.00 per person for a double room and £35.00 per person for a four poster room. This is extremely good value for money considering a lot of nearby accommodation starts at £35.00 per person for a standard room.
Neither we nor our usual guests would wish for us to accommodate the clientel that comes with a price of £40.00 or £50.00 for a room. The accommodation providers and restaurants have worked very hard over the 9 years we have been here to detract this clientel from the area and by doing so have created a safer and more enjoyable atmosphere.
One final point. We run Virginia cottage in a traditional relaxed and homely manner. We do not have rules and regulations everywhere and sometimes, when we get the chance, we will ring the last arrival to see when they are thinking of arriving and will arrange to walk our dogs around their arrival. We rang and asked you when you would like to arrive and we walked our dogs too suit you. If you had read your booking form correctly it does actually state that we would appreciate an arrival time.
We will take on board your constructive critism and will get the piece of coving painted very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2010

We had stayed here earlier in the year and had really enjoyed our stay. Booked for over the August bank holiday and this time with my elderly mum. We stayed in room10 and mum had room9.
Another fantastic stay. No compaints from us or my mum. Thank you and see you again.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkHabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Cottage Guest House

Property: Virginia Cottage Guest House
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Virginia Cottage Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Cottage is a quiet and relaxing guest house situated just two minutes walk from Lake Windermere, where you can catch the many ferry boats around the lake, and the centre of Bowness with its many bars, restaurants and excellent shopping. The cottage has WiFi throughout including the bedrooms. The Beatrix Potter Museum is less than 5 minutes walk away. It is ideally placed for seeing all that the Lake District has to offer and local bus services are 150m away. All rooms are en-suite, some with four poster beds and spa baths, and they include a TV with DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits, a fridge and hair dryer. Pets and children are welcome by prior arrangement in specified rooms, private parking is available and free leisure facilities can be enjoyed at the Old England Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Virginia Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Virginia Cottage Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing