We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and dog friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
barnoldswick
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Welcoming and dog friendly”
Reviewed June 9, 2010

My husband, me and the dog stayed for 3 nights in the suite room (room 6 on the website). The room was large with a small seperate lounge and a jacuzzi bath. It has also been recently decorated as it is not the same as on the website. Free parking opposite and use of a big hotels lesiure facilities which we didnt use. I will say there are good and not so good points to Virginia Cottage - so here goes:

Good - very welcoming, accomodating and hospitable owners. Lovely full English breakfasts (08.45-9.30am) and even a sausage for the dog every day! Very clean communal areas and bedrooms. Fresh towels daily. Free glass of wine on arrival and free home made cakes in the TV room. Lovely big room with beautiful furniture.

Not so good - no garden for pooches or for us to sit out in. Right next door to a pub which was occasionally very loud (although our room overlooked the beer garden so other rooms maybe less noisy). Very hot at night even with windows open. Newly decorated room but small things like a burn mark on the carpet (obvioulsy done by a customer ironing) and the wallpaper was peeling slightly at the seams. But that is nitpicking!

Overall a friendly and clean place that is full of charm and character with lovely features such as beams and wonky walls and floors - jus as an old building should be. Situated very close to the lake, shops and restaurants with lovely walks nearby. I would certainly recommend Virginia Cottage to people who want a lovely place to stay with their dogs in Bowness. To Dave and Jane the owners thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnamryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    151
    26
    4
    6
See reviews for
51
577
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Virginia Cottage for a long weekend. We were originally only going to stay one night, but when we saw how nice the room was we decided to ask if we could stay for another couple of nights, luckily another room was available for the second and third nights. We stayed in room 5 for one night and room 8 for two nights. Both rooms were lovely, room 5 is a nice double, room, and room 8 is a lovely four-poster bedroom, with dual aspect (see the photos). All rooms have tea- and coffee-making facilities, and a TV with built-in DVD player. A very large library of DVDs is available to choose from so you can watch a DVD either in your room or in the cinema room downstairs.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so very welcome by the owners, David and Jane - they are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. The car park is very close, just about 50 yards away in part of the Belsfield Hotel car park, and there is no charge. David very kindly helped us with the bags from the car. Jane also brought up a very welcome complimentary drink and some chocolates to the room when we had checked in. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated, and the bathrooms are modern white suites and are spotlessly clean. Lovely thick, soft, fluffy white towels in the bathroom, and proper supersize bath sheets! Also good quality loo roll (something a lot of B&Bs skimp on).

Breakfast is absolutely fantastic, an excellent choice of cooked food (including vegetarian - most amazing veggie sausage ever!) and fruit juices, cereals etc. Great system of putting in your breakfast choice the night before so no waiting for your breakfast when you arrive in the dining room. Plenty of tea, coffee and toast etc. And all served piping hot, on a hot plate. Breakfast is served between 8.45am and 9.30am which was perfect for us as we were away for a relaxing weekend and didn't need an early start.

Leisure facilities are available free of charge from a nearby hotel but we didn't use them. Also WiFi Internet is available free of charge. Lake Windermere is literally a 3-minute walk from Virginia Cottage, and all the restaurants are very close by. I would recommend the pizzas at Rumours Restaurant.

Virginia Cottage is dog-friendly and at least one of the guests had a dog with them, but don't let this put you off if you don't own a dog. You wouldn't really know that there were any dogs staying, we only saw the dog once on the stairs. A nice touch if you do take your dog ... Jane very kindly gives a sausage at breakfast time, yum!

We highly recommend Virginia Cottage if you want a warm welcome, excellent service, value for money and a relaxing time away. David and Jane are perfect hosts and we really can't wait to stay again soon.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triggerfish36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for one night in March and found the room to be very clean modern and it had a great view.A welcome glass of wine was recieved on our arrival and the owner was very helpful and polite nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast menu was wonderful with a selection of cereals and fresh juice and a main breakfast ranging from scrambled egg on toast to a full English. The location is fabulous easy walking distance to all shops bars pubs and restaurants. The parking is situated just to the right of the main entrance and over a road but easy enough to get to and is in the grounds of one of the larger hotels. We are hoping to go again next week and are looking forward to doing so.Thankyou to the owners for a comfortable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EP4MEUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Got a room on spec as there was a cancelletion. Fab location for Bowness with car parking facilities (which is a must). Friendly greeting with a glass of wine. Room was very nice. We liked the cottage and we liked Bowness - result.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrKnowHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

A very friendly hotel, nothing was to much trouble for the owners, brilliant location didnt need to use the car once we had got there. If you go there is a lovely chippy just a few minutes away, You get plenty at breakfast and different choices. Very clean and tidy and a spa bath what more could you ask for.
We will hopefully be returning later this year.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jubie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2010

I stayed at virginia Cottage 5th-7th March. the location is great. Just a stones throw from the lake. We had a room with a 4 poster bed and a lovely view of the hills in the distance. the ownes were both great, very welcoming. I can't believe the reviewer who complained about the car park!!!!!! Its just over the road and about 100 yards along! If that. Our room was lovely and the breakfasts very filling. Would definately reccomend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noodle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Just returned from a three night stay at the Virginia Cottage Bed and Breakfast Hoel in Bowness Windermere, which a 12 bedroom very old hotel run by a lovely couple, David and Jane, who cannot do enough to make you feel welcome.

We atayed in a double bedded room, which had everything we needed for a great stay. Power shower with plenty of hot water and the room also had a fridge which was handy for the wine!

Breakfast was just great. Full English if you wanted of continental. Yoghurts and cereals were also on offer with even the added bonus of home made porridge! Plenty of tea and coffee and toast if you wished.

Parking is free nearby and the Hotel also provides the benefit of free use of a time share leisure centre within walking distance. You can use the swiming pool, sauna steam room and jaccuzzi free of charge.
Dont forget a towel or it cost £1 to use one of theirs, which is nothing really.

Bowness itself if very pretty. You can take a ferry onto the lake and visit other parts or just get off and walk.

A car is required if you wish to visit all that the lakes have to offer.

Plenty of restaurants and pubs, serving good meals and beer etc.

Would recommend this place to anyone who loves beautiful scenery and plenty of fresh air!

Helpful?
1 Thank cdog22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Cottage Guest House

Property: Virginia Cottage Guest House
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Virginia Cottage Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Cottage is a quiet and relaxing guest house situated just two minutes walk from Lake Windermere, where you can catch the many ferry boats around the lake, and the centre of Bowness with its many bars, restaurants and excellent shopping. The cottage has WiFi throughout including the bedrooms. The Beatrix Potter Museum is less than 5 minutes walk away. It is ideally placed for seeing all that the Lake District has to offer and local bus services are 150m away. All rooms are en-suite, some with four poster beds and spa baths, and they include a TV with DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits, a fridge and hair dryer. Pets and children are welcome by prior arrangement in specified rooms, private parking is available and free leisure facilities can be enjoyed at the Old England Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Virginia Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Virginia Cottage Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing