We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel well worth a visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Stayed at the Virginia Cottage Hotel for three nights from the 10/08/09, the hotel is ideally situated minutes from the lake and the many pubs and restuarants, we were given room no1 at the front of the hotel, the room was spacious and very comfortable and was decorated in a cottage style which maintained the character of the hotel, our room had a hydroshower, flatscreen tv / dvd player, cd player and complimentary tea & coffee service and was spotlessly cleaned every day.

The breakfast service is exceptional with self service starters and a choice of cooked meals all well prepared and plentiful amounts and served with a smile by the hotel staff who we found to be most pleasant and helpful throughout our stay.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Virginia Cottage and will be returning in the near future, we would definately recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgewallis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 777 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2009

Great breakfasts, Fab hydrobaths, decor very dated. Rooms on front noisy with traffic.Rooms spacious and very clean. Mattresses need upgrading, no separate sheet on beds only quilts. Central location with everything only minutes away.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lstevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vircot, owner at Virginia Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2009

Thank you for your review
We do not have any mattresses over 2 years old so we will certainly look at it to see if there is a fault with it and replace it if necessary. We replace any mattresses over 2 years old for hygiene and comfort and now use memory foam mattresses instead.
With regards to the decor it is also only 2 years old and was the latest line at the time. I am sorry it was not to your taste but we have put pictures of all our rooms except room 9 which is in the same style as room 2, on our website for everyone to see. We clearly state we do not offer minimalistic or retro style as we try to keep the traditional look using modern styles. If you did not like the look it is a little strange to book.
We do not put a top sheet on the bed as we change the duvet cover everytime there is a room clean. A lot of guest houses will put on a top sheet as it means they do not have to change the bedspread from one guest to the next. It is a way of saving on time and it is cheaper to clean a sheet than a duvet. We think this is unhygienic and personally we would not wish to sleep in a bed that has been sat on or laid on by other people in their dirty clothes or even worse with no clothes on !!
If it is not good enough for us then it is not good enough for our guests
We make every effort to make sure our accommodation is as clean and hygienic as it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

weekend in WIndermere. Booked late and the only place we could get booked in was Virginia Cottage - I wonder why!!??
At £75 a night it's not expensive but not exactly cheap either. Good points is that it is really central - literally less than 2 minutes to the lake and the same to the shops/pubs. The guesthouse is old and advertises it's 4 poster rooms with spa baths. We were in a 4 poster which was cleanish. It had a spa bath which you weren't allowed to use between 9 at night and 9 in the morning as it made too much noise. No showere - there was a mixer thing attached to the taps so you could use it to rinse your hair. Breakfast was OK but only available 8.45 to 9.15 - a very small window in which to have breakfast - too bad if you want up and away early. check out time is 10.00 a.m. granted you can leave your car until 1 but you are out at 10. Too early. The room itself we didn';t spend very much time in but it was really in need of some decoration. Wallpaper hanging off the ceiling and the carpet in the loo looked as though it was antique. Some of the furniture was falling to pieces and the floor was so uneven. Staff - no idea what they were like - didn't see them at all except to hand over keys and pay. There is absolutely no garden or outside area so if you are a smoker then you are out of the front door and sitting on the main road to have a puff. The really funny thing was all the signs about non smoking (fine with that) but the celing was so yellow it looked as though a hundred fags a day were smoked in the room!!
If this all sounds really negative then sorry but it is all true the way we saw it. Last time we were in the area we stayed in the Craig Manor which was around the same price but so much nicer with beautiful gardens, a bar and atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vircot, owner at Virginia Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2009

All the furniture in this room is new and is in excellent condition. The ceiling is painted yellow to match the decoration it has not been smoked in as it is a no smoking establishment. We ask guests not to use the spa bath after 10.00pm not 9.00pm out of respect to other guests. Breakfast is served from 8.45am to 9.30am as written on the menu. Our accommodation is not cleanish we pride ourselves on the high standards of cleanliness we have

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

We had a great time at Virginia cottage. This b&b is right in the center of Bowness and in walking distance to all the restaurants, shops and the lake is a minute walk away.

We stayed in a 4 poster bedroom which was lovely and cosy. The room was very, very clean and kept this way through out our stay. The multi jet shower was great and we had a flat screen TV with a DVD player. We did have a problem with our DVD player not working but this was quickly resolved and an even better tv/dvd player was put in its place. We really enjoyed borrowing from the DVD collection, borrowing quite a few DVDs at a time!

The breakfast in the mornings was really well organized and the food was really tasty! Although many people have mentioned the busy road we did not find this to be a problem noise wise (and our room faced the road). This was also the case with the rooms, we were unable to hear others in the surrounding rooms and it was a nice quiet relaxing b&b.

When we were checking out we were able to leave our bag at Virginia Cottage while spending the day out (as we came on the train.) This was great as it meant we could enjoy the day without having to carry heavy bags around. The lady at the desk also booked us a taxi for when we were leaving which was also really great!

Overall we found the service excellent and would defiantly return again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerseysideBeat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Virginia Cottage is in an excellent location, less than 5 minutes to the lake with shops and restaurants right outside the front door. Considering it’s location it still managed to be quiet and peaceful. As mentioned the car park is about 30 yards from the building and your car is not visible behind a wall however we had no issues during our stay – it seems well patrolled as several illegally parked cars were clamped!

We found the staff very hospitable and the service great – the welcome glass of wine along with the sherry and cup cakes left out for guests is a nice touch.

It looks like the management have taken other comments on board as we had no issues with towels or musty smell on our visit and turned up for breakfast between the allotted hours without having to queue or wait to be seated. They do ask you to pre-order your breakfast choice by depositing a menu into a box on the front counter the evening before. The choice was good and quantity plentiful.

I definitely recommend Virginia and especially to dog owners – they are very accommodating in this aspect and as mentioned do not charge extra.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smidster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

We were due to stay at Virginia Cottage for a long weekend, but didn't end up even unloading the car. The website quote the car parking is "a few" yards along the road, but it turned out to be some 20-30yds, where the car cannot be seen. We mentioned this on arrival and that this had not been clarifed on the telephone when we made the enquiry and our comments were met with very rude remarks. My husband was extremely disappointed and the staff showed no sign of sympathy and were somewhat rude in their attitude. When my husband stated that he was so upset he felt like going home, the manager replied that that was probably the best thing for us to do! We were shocked at his attitude.
To be fair, we cannot rate the rooms and accommodation as such because we did not stay to find out what that was like. But my first feeling is that if the customer care of the proprietor is not helpful and friendly to start with, then it does not bode well for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Pimmslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vircot, owner at Virginia Cottage Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2009

We explained on the phone that the car park is across the road in the Belsfield Hotel car park and also offered a ground floor room to help. As the customer was shouting in the middle of the road that 20 - 30 yards was too far away we agreed for them to go home as they would not be able to get to the shops, lake or restaurants as they were 100 yards away and so would be too far.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2009

Virginia Cottage has excellent location, in walking distance of shops and marina, but still quiet and peaceful. Very old building, covered in virgina creeper on outside and quite atmospheric inside. We found the staff very welcoming and the service good. We had three dogs with us and got the suite which was huge and more than adequate for us. Would definitely recommend for dog owners as there is very little accommodation in the area that will accept dogs, even quiet, well behaved and hotel friendly ones like ours. There was no extra charge for them, whereas the hotels charge £10 per dog per night on top of the room tariff! We were out and about a lot and didn't make full use of the facilities which included complimentary cake and wine on arrival, flat screen tvs, cinema room and spa bath. Someone is a teddy bear fan as they are all over the place. Decor is quite fussy with lots of floral fabrics and wallpaper, cushions and teddybears, not my taste, but somehow it felt in keeping with the Lake District vibe and the very old building.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxyNorthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
588 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,035 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
997 reviews
1.8 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Cottage Guest House

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $117 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Virginia Cottage Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Cottage is a quiet and relaxing guest house situated just two minutes walk from Lake Windermere, where you can catch the many ferry boats around the lake, and the centre of Bowness with its many bars, restaurants and excellent shopping. The cottage has WiFi throughout including the bedrooms. The Beatrix Potter Museum is less than 5 minutes walk away. It is ideally placed for seeing all that the Lake District has to offer and local bus services are 150m away. All rooms are en-suite, some with four poster beds and spa baths, and they include a TV with DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits, a fridge and hair dryer. Pets and children are welcome by prior arrangement in specified rooms, private parking is available and free leisure facilities can be enjoyed at the Old England Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Virginia Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Virginia Cottage Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing