We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break to the lakes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Perfectly located with free parking and wifi. Lovely little touches such as sherry and biscuits in the lounge which is welcoming after a long day out. Other touches such as the facility of having use of the spa at the macdonald hotel is a welcoming refresh at the end of the day and homemade biscuits in the room. Breakfast was good and plentiful the place is very clean and we took our dog with us which was no problem. Great location for both village, walking, exploring and eating out. We stayed in room 4 which is roadside and although you can here the road it didn't really bother us but the room was surperb with a very comfortable 4 poster bed, spa bath and a fridge which was a bonus for the dog food. Would definitely recommend anyone staying and if we return to the lakes would stay there again ourselves.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear any noise then maybe the back but although the road is busy at times i...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pongo1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
There are newer reviews for Virginia Cottage Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

595 - 601 of 757 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

My wife and I were there just 2 weeks ago, and we LOVED our stay. We were shown in by Graeme, who is super friendly and was so helpful. The room was immaculately clean with excellent cookies and biscuits baked by Shirley, waiting for us on the table. The bathroom was 10/10 and the location is very good too.

Breakfast was VERY good: my wife claims that the scrambled eggs were the best she's ever had, and the coffee was fresh and strong. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Just perfect for a really relaxing break. Fabulous friendly hosts, excellent breakfast. Room was of high standard, very comfortable and quiet. The whole cottage was very clean. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 247Sallyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Lovely, lovely overnight stay. Room clean with really nice touches, we had a four poster bed a first for us! Spa bath ummmm, really relaxing. Delicious breakfast. Owners are really nice people. Great location, plenty of restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lorraine960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed this Cottage. I rang Graham and he did me a good deal on the superior room. The photos actually don't do the rooms justice, really enjoyed the four poster bed, the spa was nice (it's only a 1 or squeezy 2 person one) but more than comfortable.

The hotel is very centrally located and all the facilities are a short walk from the Cottage.

Breakfasts are really good english breakfasts, as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Situated right in the centre of Bowness with everything you'd need a couple of minutes walk away, this was the ideal location. Add to that a fantastic old house, great rooms and superb service and you have a recipe for 10 out of 10 in m book!! Great place to stay, loved it! :)

Room Tip: The Suite is so peaceful with such character!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Me and my partner booked the weekend at Virginia cottage to have a peaceful and relaxing break away before we have our baby. Hotel is situated in a very good location a few minutes walk away from all the amenities. The room was lovely, clean and tidy and the spa bath was amazing. Breakfast is lovely with plenty of choice and very filling too. This was our first stay of many we stayed in room 4 with four poster bed and spa bath will be requesting this room again if possible. Will be back as soon as we can following the baby.

Room Tip: Room 4 is amazing
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kirsty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,896 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
412 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Cottage Guest House

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $117 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Virginia Cottage Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Cottage is a quiet and relaxing guest house situated just two minutes walk from Lake Windermere, where you can catch the many ferry boats around the lake, and the centre of Bowness with its many bars, restaurants and excellent shopping. The cottage has WiFi throughout including the bedrooms. The Beatrix Potter Museum is less than 5 minutes walk away. It is ideally placed for seeing all that the Lake District has to offer and local bus services are 150m away. All rooms are en-suite, some with four poster beds and spa baths, and they include a TV with DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits, a fridge and hair dryer. Pets and children are welcome by prior arrangement in specified rooms, private parking is available and free leisure facilities can be enjoyed at the Old England Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Virginia Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Virginia Cottage Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing