We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Very Good”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at Virginia Cottage for 3 nights. Great Location for walking around the Coniston and Windermere area. Only few meters away from a large choice of restaurants in the center of Bowness. The room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was really good with large choice (but only start at 8.30am..). We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vircot, Owner at Virginia Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    151
    26
    4
    6
See reviews for
51
576
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2013

my wife and I stayed for here for 4 nights from 21st oct 2013 . we found the hotel a great location for walking and also the evening , as its not too far from restaurants and pubs in the area . Graeme had only just taken over the hotel .. but everything was clean and the rooms where made up daily . The room we stayed in was very comfortable with a great view of the mountains ( when its not raining) . the shower was a spa shower which was lovely .. the breakfast was lovely with wide choice of bread for toasting also wide choice of cereals and choice of menu from full English to croissants ... definitely stay here again

Room Tip: room 8 had great views of mountains on a clear day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewA2103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vircot, Owner at Virginia Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Having just purchased the business your kind words are much appreciated. Thanks Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Excellent place to stay, great location close to the centre of Bowness. Rooms are great. If you are travelling with a dog room 12 is great. It is on the ground floor and has a large bay window and plenty of floor space for a dog bed. I have also stayed in room 12 with two dogs, they even get there own sausage at breakfast. Lovely touch by the owners. I have stayed again without my dogs and found room 10 to be just as spacious and the four poster was lovely. Would highly recommend. Car parking is at the bells field hotel just up the road. You also have access to the leisure facilities at the 'Old England Hotel'

Room Tip: Choose no 12 if travelling with dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nuttyniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thank you Helen & David for the upgrade to the four poster room , the lovely welcome and amazing breakfasts. The free entry to the macdonald hotel spa was a real treat. Please dont bypass this wonderful b&b , for the price it was spot on , in an excellent location & with the added free parking over the road it was just perfect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxynewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Lovely small hotel in a beautiful place. Walking distance to the lake and the town which has an abundance of pubs, shops and restaurants (and a really good chippy). The owners can't do enough and employ lots of nice touches like a glass of wine on arrival and cup cakes and biscuits in reception. Breakfast was faultless. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here in July to celebrate my husbands birthday. The cottage is in an ideal place. Literally 1 minute away from the lake, private parking just across the road in the bellsfield hotel the use of the spa facilities at macdonald old English hotel and spa and so many restaurants/cafes to choose from right on the doorstep, the owners are lovely, really helpful and give you advice on the best places to go for gorgeous views over the lake. We were welcomed with a glass of wine each and chocolates on a silver tray, our room was lovely (room 3) extremely comfy bed, fridge and fabulous power shower with jets in the wall aswel as the massive shower head! And detatchable normal sized shower head, the breakfasts in the morning were fab too! Really nice and filling and plenty of choice, the cottage is beautiful and we were made to feel like guests rather than customers, nothing was too much effort. We will definately be returning to Virginia cottage in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raccles1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This B&B was just what we were looking for. The price was great, the room was so nice, breakfast was delicious and Helen and David are so sweet!

We stayed in the "Audrey Hepburn" room, it was beautiful! Big four poster bed, leather sofa and the best bath in the world! Spa baths :)

Helen and David made us feel so welcome we could even check in early and the added perk of free parking in the carpark opposite was so convenient!

The town is small so this isn't so important but the location was perfect - right by a nice pub and literally two minutes from a really cool tapas place.

Two thumbs up from a very happy couple!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 so if you want a spa bath this is for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,877 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,398 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,002 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Cottage Guest House

Property: Virginia Cottage Guest House
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Virginia Cottage Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Cottage is a quiet and relaxing guest house situated just two minutes walk from Lake Windermere, where you can catch the many ferry boats around the lake, and the centre of Bowness with its many bars, restaurants and excellent shopping. The cottage has WiFi throughout including the bedrooms. The Beatrix Potter Museum is less than 5 minutes walk away. It is ideally placed for seeing all that the Lake District has to offer and local bus services are 150m away. All rooms are en-suite, some with four poster beds and spa baths, and they include a TV with DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits, a fridge and hair dryer. Pets and children are welcome by prior arrangement in specified rooms, private parking is available and free leisure facilities can be enjoyed at the Old England Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Virginia Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Virginia Cottage Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing