We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly hosts, central location, dog friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Friendly hosts, central location, dog friendly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights location is great very central and within walking distance of several shops, restaurants and pubs. We stayed with our dog and he was made welcome also with a sausage cooked for him each morning for breakfast. The room was fine for our needs (the water pressure in the electric shower could be better but was fine) breakfast was served 8.30 am to 9.15 am which is ok for us as we wake early but can imagine could be a little early for some. David and Mary were perfect hosts and even left sweets and home cooked cakes and chocolates out for all to help themselves to also a bottle of port and brandy is in the lounge to help yourselves to if you want.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moisprandceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    143
    19
    3
    6
See reviews for
44
532
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just returned from a stay at Virginia Cottage. We had a lovely time, despite the weather and would highly recommend to anyone looking to stay in the area. Dave and Helen were great hosts and we are looking forward to our return visit already!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

This little b&b on one of the main routes into Bowness is surprisingly peaceful and quiet, given that it is adjacent to the road, like many others. For me, peacefulness is paramount, and Virginia Cottage delivers.
It is a beautiful house with many original features and I would love to live in a house like this. The room my partner and I had was spacious, warm and delightfully decorated. (room 5). It had a proper hairdryer, tea making facilities and a powerful shower. Spotlessly clean and fresh fluffy towels and a luggage rack. Breakfast is served between 8.30 and 9.15 , not suitable for those who wish a long lie in. Lovely selection of breads and crumpets or brioche with a choice of cereals and fruits and yoghurt. Proper cafetierre coffee also served. A big plus in my book. There is also free wifi in the cosy lounge and free parking in the car park of neighbouring hotel. A lovely stay and a b&b that David and Helen and their other staff can be justifiably proud. Thank you for wonderful stay and hope to stay with you again soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spent two nights at Virginia Cottage with my partner and will definitely add it to my 'Will Return' list. The hosts David and Helen really made us feel very welcome and to feel like 'guests' not 'customers', nothing would have been too much trouble even though we didn;t need to ask as everything we wanted was provided (including a proper hair dryer in the room). Our room (No 5) was quirky and full of old world charm, very clean and very warm with a good bed and lovely bedding. The room was small but still contained a TV with built in DVD (just in case the Lakes don't provide enough entertainment) a shower and separate toilet, more than enough storage and tea / coffee making facilities. Despite its size the space is very well utilized and oozes charm. Even though our room overlooked the pub next door, noise was definitely not a problem and I had two superb nights sleep (Could have easily overslept). The breakfasts are also very good and super filling too, so if you are going for the cooked breakfast I wouldn't make any dinner plans !

Car parking is within 20 yards and Bowness center is probably only 50 yards away, the shore line being a lovely 5 minute stroll away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tandemflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Second visit since David and Helen took over. Once again a warm and friendly welcome (with a glass of wine). We stayed in our favourite room, with spa bath. The room was warm and comfortable, the bed also, not soft, so no sore backs in the morning. Excellent breakfasts. We stayed mid week, and were the only couple on one night, however we did not feel as though we were imposing, quite the opposite in fact. One major improvement is the parking, now in the main section of the Bellsfield Hotel. A very short distance from the guest house, and good off street parking. We will definitely be returning, it is so central and convenient a location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here quite a few times now and wouldn't think of going anywhere else when in the Lakes. We are made to feel very welcome by Helen and David. They have given us useful information on everything from walks to restaurants.
As the good restaurants get booked up at weekends we always make reservations in advance. (Jackson's Bistro and Villa Positano are favourites). The accomodation is very comfortable and clean. Everyone has already mentioned the welcome drinks and refreshments in the lounge, a nice touch. The breakfasts are fabulous too. We always use the spa pass to have a swim and sauna at the Old England which is great after a day in the fresh air. A perfect holiday break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

just spent a fantastic weekend at Virginia Cottage. location fabulous. hospitality 1st class. room and bed gorgeous. breakfast lovely.
enjoyed at the little touches the owners made like a welcome glass of wine and complimentary flapjacks/biscuits in lounge. made to feel welocme and would definitely return when we come back to Bowness.

Room Tip: room 11 was a room with 4 poster bed and jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,776 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Burnside Hotel & Spa
Burnside Hotel & Spa
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.2 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginia Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginia Cottage Guest House

Property: Virginia Cottage Guest House
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Virginia Cottage Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Virginia Cottage is a quiet and relaxing guest house situated just two minutes walk from Lake Windermere, where you can catch the many ferry boats around the lake, and the centre of Bowness with its many bars, restaurants and excellent shopping. The cottage has WiFi throughout including the bedrooms. The Beatrix Potter Museum is less than 5 minutes walk away. It is ideally placed for seeing all that the Lake District has to offer and local bus services are 150m away. All rooms are en-suite, some with four poster beds and spa baths, and they include a TV with DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities with homemade biscuits, a fridge and hair dryer. Pets and children are welcome by prior arrangement in specified rooms, private parking is available and free leisure facilities can be enjoyed at the Old England Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Virginia Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Virginia Cottage Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing