We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lived up to expectations again, second time round”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lived up to expectations again, second time round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Our second visit in as many years - taking advantage of the special 'reduced rate' deal they do at this time of year. we are not 'high rollers' (though she's a Dr.) this is becoming an annual 'treat'. We regard what you get under this deal as very good value for money.

As before: service is friendly but not fawning, smart but not stuffy. Food again excellent and eye opening. Room was warm, comfortable and spacious enough.

it is a gorgeous out of the way location, but also very convenient for windermere and the rest of the lake district.

i like the fact you don't have to wear a collar and tie to dinner if you don't want to (but don't wander in with an offensive t-shirt)

i think this hotel is genuinely interested in making sure that guests come back, and keep coming back.

For those who haven't been before - and i've read some of the negative reviews on here - guests need to understand this hotel is offering FINE DINING. they don't have a michelin star but are in the michelin guide - that is the standard and style they are aiming at. After a five course dinner you shouldn't go hungry. However, if you're looking for somewhere offering a 'slap up feed' then this hotel might not be for you.

they accommodate children but within certain rules (my family and nieces and nephews have been for sunday lunch before in the past - and the staff - and other guests - were very tolerant of them and theire 2- 5 year old ways ) but this hotel's offer for overnight stays is firmly aimed at couples and older family groups.

and finally - if you're not happy with something - TELL THEM - because they'll want to set it right. If you're not happy then come on here to moan about it, how can they set it right then?

Only minor niggles were:

last year's canapes were much more interesting (crab, arancini balls, bruschetta etc) ... this year's were all based on 'something you could serve in a glass to spread on toast'. Chicken liver parfait, hummus etc. She joked they were on a baby food theme - i think thats a bit harsh. this might be a reflection on current economic realities. would love to see the old canapes back next year though!

took nearly half an hour to serve up a chicken sandwich in mid afternoon on saturday (not sure what was going on there)

on the sunday night there were cubes of maple syrup jelly in the soup. I have no idea how they got there, i can only presume they fell in there by accident.

still the odd bit of over-seasoning going on e.g. on one occasion with the fish. and i like things well seasoned. (kitchen - its better under than over, then it can be corrected at the table if necessary)

Overall, terrific again though.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teutonic01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    182
    48
    22
    20
See reviews for
163
989
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

This was mine and my boyfriend's first visit to the Lake District. We stayed at the Linthwaite House Hotel for 3 nights. We definitely picked a stunning hotel, upon arrival, the reception staff were very helpful and showed us to our room. The first night we stayed in a preferred room with a lake view, room no.3. Very clean, newly refurbished room, great view (if it hadn't of been misty!). Such a nice touch having molton brown in the room. Food- canapes in the evening with drinks before you go into the dining room-splendid! Although would of liked a bit more variation, as it was a similar idea for 3 nights. The food was exquisite, beautifully presented and because they were small portions you were able to eat all 4 courses. The waiters and waitresses really could not do enough for you. Our second and third night, we spent in room no.4 WOW WOW WOW! this was such an amazing room, lake view, massive bath tub, tv in the mirror and a very comfortable bed. This is definitely mine and my boyfriend's favourite room we have ever stayed in, in a hotel. There was one lady in particular who we felt definitely gave 5* service, with a great personality too- we didn't ask for her name but she was one of the managers with brown hair, just thought I would mention her. Me and my boyfriend will definitely be back again, what an unforgettable stay- thank you. In terms of what to visit- the Beatrix Potter museum, great place to go and see. And to take the ferry across the lake to the National Trust Park, fantastic walks and views.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2011

What can you say one of the best hotels I have stayed in and I have stayed in many during my travels around the world. From the time we arrived the atmosphere was friendly and warm, the staff attentive and always available. The room was spacious with all you would ever need for a pleasant stay. The food was excellent, we recently were lucky enough to have a meal in a Michelin Star restaurant in London and we can safely say the restaurant at this hotel matched it in every possible way.
We could go on but all I would say to you, is pack your bags and treat yourself to a wonderful experiece at the Lintwaite House Hotel as soon as you can.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

Lovely Hotel with very mixed service.Sometimes very good other times very poor.Hoovering in public areas at 8.40 Sunday morning.Food mixed first night superb,second night not so good.Small portions,and not good value.
Gave up having coffee at 10.30,as service had taken two and three quaters of an hour and had'nt been asked.
Could do with being warmer and background music,so you could talk without everyone else listening
Needs to be a lot better to command the prices charged.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvantGuard22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walney island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed for 1 nite dinner bed and breakfast,as weve eaten here many times but never stayed overnite.We booked a deluxe room that was better than we expected lovely decor,large bathroom,huge bed and even a wall mounted flame effect electric fire.Dinner and breakfast were superb great food,lovely wine and service we stay in the lakes at least 6 times a year at over hotels,and will come and stay again as it is the best out of them all.(e.g.cranleigh,old england.miller howe to name a few)

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollywoodandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

We stayed at Linthwaite House for 3 nights in January and had a great time. The room was nice, not massive, but was clean and had all we wanted. We ate in the restaurant the 3 nights we we're there and it was really good. There was the odd occasion when the flavours weren't quite there but that was a rarity. The presentation and service was faultless! The staff were helpful but not overbearing (which is a hard medium!) and always on hand to help with all important wine choices. Of which there are many thanks to there superb (and award winning) cellar selection. The restaurant had a nice atmosphere. Formal and with the feeling of it being an occasion but not stuffy thanks to a good mix of guests and the staff not afraid to have a joke if the right moment presented itself.

The grounds are pretty special too, what with the view of Windemere, and the Tarn just up a well marked path (which was frozen when we visited but still beautiful). We were sad to leave as by the 3rd day we were just getting into our daily routine of a very nice filling (but not greasy breakfast), a day out exploring then back to Linthwaite for a Gin and Tonic and a great meal.

I keep mentioning the staff but they really did make our stay so much better, thanks to there warm welcome, always being helpful and friendly and above all always trying to make our holiday really special. There are more expensive hotels in the area to stay at but I doubt they'd be as welcoming and enjoyable to stay at as Linthwaite.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simonkeeping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights in one of the Delux Rooms, as a birthday treat. We could not fault it one bit, it was fantastic. We had everything in our room that we would possibly need such as Wide Screen TV, DVD Player, IPOD radio/alam, WiFi, kettle, fridge, iron etc. There was also a complimentary bottle of water and a jug of fresh milk in the fridge for our tea/coffee and we could even borrow DVDs and CDs from Reception. The breakfast was superb and there was plenty of choice. The hotel staff were so efficient and friendly; they made us feel very welcome. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snapes28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing