We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy Country Hotel with 1st class service”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2007

Planned 2 night trip to celebrate wedding anniversary
Booked hotel direct, great late deal and got a personal email saying how they were looking forward to seeing us.
Upgraded on arrival to make our anniversary extra special.

Good points:
Nice rooms
Friendly staff and generally great service
Fantastic breakfast
Great views from hotel

Could improve points:
Expensive evening meal (£48 per person) - we're a young couple and so didnt want to spend that much - but speaking to other people it was worth the price.
Not many options for room service other than sandwiches.

Overall felt really looked after and had a great anniversary.
Thank you Linthwaite for making it a celebration to remember.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Amsyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,379 - 1,385 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2007

This trip to Linthwaite was the 3rd for myself and my partner and first for our friends. From the moment you step through the doorway of this vintage hotel, you are transported to a land of luxury and relaxation. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, the food is a delight to the taste buds, the setting a dream! With vistas of lake Winderemere and the Lakedistrict in the distance from the peaceful gardens of Linthwaite house hotel the setting is ideal for weddings, or just chill out weekends.The rooms are pleasant and service top notch. The only thing not guaranteed is the lake district weather...but it seems inconsequential when relaxing with an afternoon tea by the open fire!

Stayed: May 2007
6  Thank RosienChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2007

Everything about our stay at the Linthwaite was perfect from start to finish.

The staff were incredibly friendly and attentive yet discreet. The rooms were lovely, the food was absolutely amazing and the grounds topped it all off.

This is the most perfect hotel I have ever stayed in. It manages to get the right balance of service and friendliness to make guests feel special but without any smidgen of snobbery coming with it.

What a fantastic place for couples looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Elburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2007

My husband and I have just come back from a 2 night break at the Linthwaite House Hotel. We were at the Hotel for the Keith Floyd cookery theatre. First night of arrival we had dinner with Mr Floyd and Mike Bevans, the larger than life Hotel owner! Both the food and company were exquisite. The cookery theatre with Mr Floyd was highly entertaining, he is no different to how you see him on the television. He made it all look so easy!
The multicultural staff at the Hotel are wonderful, very attentive but in no way obtrusive. Whatever you wanted, they would see to it straight away. The food was incredible. The attention to detail is great. The grounds of the Hotel are extremely well kept. The views are lovely.
If you are looking for a relaxing and indulgent time, then this is definitely your place.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank kagsyturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Stayed at Linthwaite in the middle of April. We upgraded to a deluxe lake view room and found the room itself was nice and well presented. Everything was very clean.

Our receptionist, a lovely lady from Cologne, was very professional, friendly and informative. In fact all the staff were excellent and seemed a cut above the norm.

We ate at the hotel several times (Breakfast/ Dinner etc and found the quality superb. The Dinner menu is expensive but all things considered it is worth it. We also had Grand Afternoon Tea, which was wonderful, reasonably priced and enjoyed on the terrace, whilst overlooking the wonderful gardens and Lake Windermere itself.

This hotel isn't cheap but then nothing about the service was either. It was a wonderfully relaxing break in a comfortable and tranquil setting and our only wish is that we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ytshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

I returned on Friday from my first visit to the Lake District and stayed at the Linthwaite House Hotel located just a 6 minute drive from Lake Windermere. The hotel is wonderfully situated in a hill above the lake and there are views of the lake from the terrace and many of the hotel rooms, including my own. As I was staying on my own, the room was one of the smaller ones (although with a comfortable double bed) - which only proved a slight problem when I had an in-room aromatherapy treatment!

In all other respects, the hotel is set in impressive and extensive grounds, with its own tarn! At this time of year of course there are daffodils everywhere and this added to the charm of the gardens.

All the staff were attentive and helpful, without in any way being obtrusive.

The food deserves a review on its own and I'm not really a food critic so I shan't bore anyone with a step by step description. Suffice to say the 4 rosettes are well deserved and I hugely enjoyed all 3 evening meals, cod the first, beef the second and the 60 degree lamb on my last. I particularly commend the lavender ice cream!!

My stay at this hotel will not be my last. I hope to visit again to aid my further exploration of the Lake District - truly a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank lynxxiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

If you only dine at one restaurant during a stay in the Southern Lakes, make sure its this one! The quality of the ingredients shines through in each dish and the care in the cooking and presentation is evident in each exquisite mouthful. My other half said the Baileys creme brulee with the white chocolate sorbet was quite honestly the best thing he's ever eaten! Yes, its not cheap and the atmosphere rather formal but it adds rather than distracts from the awe the food inspires! Can't wait to go again!

Stayed: April 2007
Thank londonlady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
734 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $258 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing