We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hide-away”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect hide-away”
Reviewed February 23, 2007

What a fabulous place. This is a real oasis from the rat race and away from the, sadly, increasing tourist tat of parts of the Lake District.
The hotel is stunning and the welcome, with cosy log fires, superbly comfortable rooms with massive beds is unbeatable. Breathtaking views and beautiful gardens. fabulous food and a great wine list. You seriously could not ask for more. We will certainly be going back this year.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank weekendfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    188
    50
    24
    21
See reviews for
171
1,007
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

Have stayed at the Linthwaite 3 times in the last 2 years. It is just perfect - the service, attention to detail, the taste and quality of the food, the divine beds and bedlinen.....etc.etc.
However, it is so good that other hotels with higher ratings just do not compare and each time you try somewhere different you just reflect back to your stay at the Linthwaite and wish you had gone there instead.
We are lucky enough to live in the lakes and the evening meals are superb as non residents...the downside is having to drive home and miss the excellent freshly cooked breakfasts!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2007

I was lucky enough to be taken to Linthwaite Hotel for a birthday surprise. Having heard that the hotel had recently been awarded a third rosette, I had formed high expectations.
What a truly wonderful experience!! from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were made to feel welcome and the overall service was first class. The lounges are welcoming and warm and you are made to feel at ease and able to relax and enjoy your evening.
As for the food, I had the Cumbrian feathered beef, which was melt in the mouth, with a delicious array of hotpot vegetables. My partner had the John Dory which was cooked to perfection.
Overall, we had the most amazing evening and will definetly be returning. Three rosettes are definetly well deserved!

Helpful?
2 Thank ZaraCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2007

Just returned from our second visit. Standards are as high as before. It's not cheap, but the sheer number of staff trained to a tee explain this. If you want the best service etc., I am afraid it costs --- and this is one of the best !!!

Service is brilliant. Staff cannot help too much. Food is nouvelle cuisine. However even at £46 for the full dinner, is actually value for money, in my opinion. You get canapes before (while you study the menu), starter, main, dessert, with petit fours and coffee afterwards. One northerner has complained of small portions, but I have to say here we have quality not quantity. Having said that, if you are not full after all these courses, you must be eating monstrous amounts of food normally. Also, remember these meals are prepared by, without exaggeration, top chefs. Everything local and fresh, and cooked to perfection. It cannot possibly be cheap as well !!! As for someone saying it was cold, on our recent visit it was only 5C outside, but everywhere in the hotel was warm as toast -- you really didn't even need a jacket.

Highly recommend Linthwaite -- if you don't like it, it possibly is not the fault of the hotel --- perhaps just not your niche.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank MoCoBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2007

My wife and I have stayed in many hotels around the world, but I can honestly say that the Linthwaite House Hotel is at the top of our list. The customer care is second to none, the staff just couldn't do enough for us. The food is fantastic, and the rooms were very clean indeed. The hotel grounds are perfect for walking, or sitting with a drink and just taking in the view. Very highly recommended!

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CP-Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2007

This is a lovely welcoming hotel with wonderful attentive staff but there a couple of things that potential visitors need to be aware of:

1. Dinner is nouvelle cuisine. If you like to pay large sums of money for absurdly small portions of food you will enjoy it here. But if you are Northerners like us and prefer simple wholesome value-for-money food you will become very depressed as the realities of this kind of meal dawn upon you.

2. Prices at the bar are excessive. Around £5 minimum for a glass of wine. At £3.50 or even £4 we would have had no complaint.

3. The lounge was very attractive but quite chilly at times if you didn't manage to grab the seat near the fire.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and attractiveness
  • Disliked — Evening meal!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jrl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2007

Linthwaite has totally broken us! Other hotel stays are a complete disappointment and ruined as they are not Linthwaite House - we cannot find anything that is remotely like this to our intense disappointment. Linthwaite is divine, Linthwaite is hotel utopia! Everything is perfect at this hotel. Go there and experience it for yourself, you won't regret it.

  • Liked — Everything! & This place is so relaxing!
  • Disliked — It's on the other side of the world to us so we can't go there more often.
  • Tips/Secrets — Go there now!!!!!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank zotaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing