We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Service, Food and Comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
North West England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Service, Food and Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

We have stayed several times at Linthwaite and have always found it to be excellent, it never fails to impress. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, and it is good to know that the owner is directly involved and always asks for your comments and responds to them. It shows the care taken in ensuring guests' comfort. We have recommended this hotel to many of our friends and family.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dib2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, February 5, 2010
Running hotels isn't just about making a living. For us (staff and owners) it's all made worthwhile when we get feedback like this. Big thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    180
    48
    22
    20
See reviews for
163
985
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, Lancashire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2010

After reading the reviews on TA and being offered 50% off "January sale". I booked this hotel for my husband's birthday treat. The hotel is located in a fabulous position with great views over the lake. We booked a standard room which was a decent size, it had a very comfortable bed and a clean bathroom. We ate in the restaurant on our first evening (This was part of the deal). We thought the price £50 each, was expensive but found the meal to be very tasty and presented beautifully. Breakfast was also presented nouvelle cuisine, which looked and tasted fabulous. The staff were very pleasant and the atmosphere was great. The lounge and conservatory were charming and very comfortable. You must take a walk around the grounds especially the tarn which are beautiful and well kept.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieAnne60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
65 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights for a short walking holiday and miraculously for the Lake District it didn't rain so we managed to do several of the walks on the hotel website!. Our room was quite small but very nicely appointed. The food was of a very high standard, lovely breakfast and evening meal. What makes the hotel though is the staff, they are all so pleasant and welcoming without being overwhelming. We enjoyed our stay very much and will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelguru55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2010

I stayed here with my partner on our anniversary in January. The hotel was lovely inside and set in beautiful grounds. The public areas are cosy with fires and there is a nice view of the lake from the conservatory. We were staying in room 29 which is on the 2nd floor in the eaves. It was a lovely room, large and nicely decorated with natural light in the bathroom. We had dinner in the restaurant on one of the nights, having drinks and canapés in the lounge first and then taken to our table in the restaurant where we had some fantastic food. The service in the hotel was excellent, all the staff were very helpful, friendly and professional. The hotel is a 15-20 minute walk to Bowness which we found fine in the evenings. We managed to get a deal on the hotel rate as it was January and I could imagine that the hotel would be quite expensive at other times of here however I would definitely like to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loopi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

Charming b&b with well reputed restaurant serving good meals. Well equipped rooms, with modern touches. Great location for visiting the UK's Lake District. Friendly staff. Lovely views to a lake in the distance and lots of nice foliage on the grounds. Nice sunsets. Overall a 4 out of 5. 1 point off as was a bit pricey relative to what guests receive.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ostramundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2010

We chose to stay at the Linthwaite House Hotel because of its outstanding reputation for its fine food and wines and we were not dissapointed! What made our break even more pleasurable was the warm welcome, beautiful accomodation and surroundings and the first rate service which all added up to make our stay both memorable and one which we will eagerly repeat in the near future. An absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank getaway70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

Staggering - the arrogance of the place. I organize group trips all over the world and on viewing the website of this hotel I was keen to come visit this spring with a party of 10.
Upon calling, merely to enquire as to availability, without even a mention of rates, I was told it is not possible to book for " so many ". I enquired as to the number of rooms at the hotel - 32 !! " but we can not make a booking for more than 4 rooms - it´s a matter of policy".
I appealed to the lady´s business sense and asked her if she really wanted to turn away a 5 room booking for 3 nights - that´s 30 b+b sales !! No sir, policy does not permit.
I am flabbergasted - in this economic climate you have turned down a minimum of 1250 pounds of business. Good luck to you!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Scotgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, February 11, 2010
Yes we can be serious about not taking groups that MAY affect the enjoyment of others. Predominantly we have couples who stay for a nice quiet romantic treat. The hotel is relatively small (31 rooms as of February) and we've found that large groups (10+), when they get together, inadvertently become a disturbance for others. We do welcome weddings and private parties to take over the whole hotel, but 4 rooms is the limit otherwise. We're not sorry for looking after the majority of our guests interest. Some hotels take any sort of business anytime. This one believes that we should stick to what we are good at; individuals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing