We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure class !”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pure class !”
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We first went to the Linthwaite in 1995 and have been many times since, yes there are cheaper places but if you want the best or an exquisite treat then this is the place. The food is fantastic and on a sunny day there is nothing finer than sat on the patio with a beer or glass of wine overlooking the lake.

Some of the comments will say the staff are non UK or Polish, I find the staff now the some of the most highly trained, polite and even witty I have found in the north of England and are trained to an exceptional standard. And on the extremely rare occasion you need to ask for anything the staff are only too willing to help.

Bowness On Windermere is around 5 minute drive to the bottom of the hill and is nice place but can get busy on bank holidays or summer time.
For a special treat there is nothing finer.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Astonchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    186
    48
    22
    21
See reviews for
168
999
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

This hotel is exquisite. Set in the hills above Lake Windermere, with breathtaking views across the lake, it is beautifully appointed and luxurious. The rooms are light and airy and spacious. The bar and lounge are comfortable and cosy. There are books for guests to read and it has the atmosphere of a country house rather than a hotel. The terrace has a view over lake Windermere, and there are beautiful walks in the grounds, one leading to the hotel's tarn. The restaurant is highly acclaimed and the food is exceptional and it would be difficult to better it anywhere. Even breakfast is a gourmet treat. From the hotel you can walk down to Lake Windermere and enjoy the lake and all it's amenities, including the old steam Lakeside and Haverthwaite railway on the west side. I would recommend this hotel at any time of year. Treat yourself, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belmont_Wrights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2009

We stayed in the new loft "suite", which is ludicrously overpriced for what is essentially a medium-sized room. It is full of electronic toys, and has a very large bath, but it is located at the back of the hotel with a view of the car park, not the lake.

The room has some very poor features. You can hear every single extractor fan, toilet flush and shower from the rooms below, ensuring that you will not get to sleep until all of your neighbours have finished their nightly ablutions - therefore rarely before midnight.

There is a ridiculously bright LED in the room (I guess in case of fire as an emergency light) but which makes the room insanely bright at night - we covered it with sticking plaster so that we could sleep.

The large raindrop shower is nice, but the temperature depends entirely on those around you having their showers. Turn the cold tap a fraction of an inch the wrong way and you'll be scalded or frozen.

At over £500 for a night, this is twice as expensive as a suite at the Lakeside Hotel, which features a private patio, in-room sauna, free spa and swimming and a far superior experience. That alone should be enough to convince you not to stay at the Linthwaite.

Now onto the catering. On our arrival, we sat on the terrace at Linthwaite and ordered sandwiches and Champagne. We then had the pleasure of consuming this whilst listening to some lunchtime guests bemoaning the quality of the food and service. The patient manageress explained that it wad the chef's day off.

It was therefore with some trepidation that we went down to dinner that evening. Boy, were those previous guests right. The service was attrociously bad, with absolutely no cohesion front of house. One couple were ignored for over half an hour and had to get up and ask for drinks. The staff were chaotic but ineffectual, burning up energy without achieving anything.

When we finally got into the restaurant, we were shown to a terrible table even though we were staying in the most expensive room. The restaurant itself was fairly gloomy, and has no view worth speaking of.

We were offered some cold and unappealing bread, and eventually served the wrong starter. Even though my wife had asked for a jug of water on the table, none was forthcoming. As there was no water or wine service - the staff were too busy panicking for that - her patience began to wain as she had to continually ask for someone to top up her glass of water.

Amazingly, the kitchen pulled off a minor triumph: pork cooked almost pink enough to be dangerous that was also dry. My venison was poor, with badly cooked carrots (not raw, not al dente).

Clearly, whatever sort of chef that was on duty had little or no idea of how to prepare the reasonable ingredients at his/her disposal.

The cheese was fine (it's hard to ruin cheese) and they were generous with the dessert wine that my wife ordered.

Breakfast wad good, although the service still left a huge amount to be desired; on one day we ended up asking/being asked three times for juice before some grudgingly arrived.

To summarise the dining experience, it is extremely expensive for mediocre food and poor, albeit mainly friendly, service.

Ultimately, Linthwaite Hotel is vastly overpriced, and offers a comparably and measurably poorer level of service and dining than it's near neighbours. The key weakness to the hotel can be summarised by the fact that they consider the loft "suite" to be worthy of a tour. It is this pretentiousness that prevents them from seeing the many weaknesses in their food, service and accommodation.

I would strongly recommend that you avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank DandEHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Booked this as a last minute get-away in the uk on a "3 night offer of dinner bed n b'fast for the price of 2". The hotel was easy to find with a great location. The views are stunning and the setting was very relaxing. We stayed in room 6, which was not one of the updated rooms, but still was a good size with everything to hand. The only downside of this room was that it was over the front door & close to the kitchens, which made it a little difficult to sleep in the early mornings !! The breakfast was a great choice of light or full cooked foods (great for filling up before going out trekking each day!) and the evening meals were beautiful. Each night you could sit and relax in one of the lounges with a pre-dinner drink & canapes whilst looking through the menu, which was a fabulous choice of mainly local produce and some of the dishes changed daily. We really were spoilt for choice as all the meals were stunning and always cooked to perfection ! The wine list also is "something else" ! Overall we had a truly memorable stay, a great place to relax & unwind after long days out "trekking". The staff were very friendly which made the place feel like home ! .....Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandNCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

It was a while since we were there, but the experience was good enough to write about.

Service - Very good. The bar staff and restaurant staff deserve particular praise for their attention to customers.
Food - Certainly above average, almost very good. Well presented and emphasis on local produce.
Room - Our room was on the ground floor and was quite small, with en-suite shower only. We did go for the cheapest room, but given the overall quality of our room I've no doubt that the other rooms are well appointed. It was a bit hot in there though.

Overall, stands out as well run, knowledable, not cheesy and well worth a visit, especially if you stay for dinner.

It is only a little more pricey than many of the other hotels in the area and more than worth the difference.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penguin_Family_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIRENZE
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2009

Lovely hotel, lovely rooms, perfect guest service, all the staff was very very kind and professional. The atmosphere is very cozy

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELISAKATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

thoroughly enjoyed our stay - from the first moment of arrival we were made very welcome. the food is out of this world - our refurbished room was gorgeous - the staff were extremely attentive and kind.

we did hear from some other guests that their rooms were not up to standard but we understand that the staff made allowances in this regard and could therefore not be faulted.

food - where do i begin - from the afternoon tea to the salmon and scrambled eggs this morning - we were in food heaven - thank you

we can't wait to go back and have already recommended to 3 sets of family and friends and we have only been home an hour!

i just hope you all enjoy the break as much as we did - we cant wait to go back next year

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aandsNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing