We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I want to move in”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I want to move in”
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We stayed here for two nights in May 2009. It was just incredible. The hotel is a 100 year old Edwardian country house, and it has been updated without being cheapened at all. The hotel and gardens are beautiful, and the service is sublime. And the food--incredible! It's comfortable and sophisticated without being stuffy. I really felt as if I was visiting a great friend whose only goal in life was to make me as happy as possible.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri91604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    186
    48
    22
    21
See reviews for
168
999
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
stockport
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We were lucky to receive a gift of afternoon tea.This we had on the terace overlooking the lake.What a beautiful hotel, and setting.The staff were very friendly, even though we weren't residents.I would dearly love to stay there some time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stockportlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2009

A classy but not stuffy hotel with impeccable but friendly service and truly scrumptious food. Wonderful views, comfortable home-from-home atmosphere made this a truly special weekend.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MummaMorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We booked this hotel last minute for a weekend away and didnt really know what we were booking. Well, it was the cleanest, best presented, friendliest and most welcoming hotel we have stayed in. We stayed in a 'standard' room so cant wait to see what the superior and new loft room is like when we visit again. Surroundings were amazing and the staff were so kind and friendly. The food was very good. We didnt even notice it was raining!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allywallyboom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2009

Linthwaite is warm and welcoming, rather like visiting family or good friends, but not over-familiar.
It's accommodation is elegant, comfortable and relaxing. With superb views of Lake Windermere and surrounding the mountains.
Other senses are catered for too through imaginative food, candlelight, fires and flowers.
Music lovers are offered a wide selection of CDs for in-room entertainment. or, one can choose a DVD from the hotel's library.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mia029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful bank holiday stay, and we cannot speak highly enough about this hotel. Arriving on a sunny afternoon, the gin and tonic on the terrace overlooking lake windermere set the scene for the weekend. The food was as good if not better than anything we have had at similar hotels - their chef is a real find. Service was relaxed but very efficient and the manager Sarah was an ever present smiling face. The public rooms are spacious and comfortable, and we simply cannot find fault. Not perhaps a hotel for young children, but all ages well represented. It is not the cheapest hotel we have ever stayed at , but well worth the money. We will be back, if allowed !

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baggins16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2009

This was our second visit to Linthwaite house and, if anything, it was even better than 5 years ago.
Room - very smart and very clean. We had a standard room and it was big enough.
Bathroom - very nice. The towels are absolutely the best! Molton Brown toiletries also very nice.
TV in room - very attractive, slimline although not really needed.
Service - Excellent. They all work very hard and are very efficient.
Food - They have been awarded a third rosette since our last stay and the food merits this. It is delicious. The pre-dinner canapes are also very tasty nd well presented.
The hotel is obviously very well run and reflects good management.

Not so good points - the room was very warm and opening the window let in the damp air.
The hotel is on high ground and the walk back up from town is daunting!
Overall, however, an excellent hotel and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caribAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing