We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we have ever stayed at”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2008

We wanted a Christmas package with everything and we found just that ! Large beautifully furnished bedroom with the best and biggest bathroom we have seen. Food varied, perfectly cooked, beautifully presented, staff amazing and nothing too much trouble. Selection of wines unrivalled. Location wonderful, breathtaking views. Public rooms comfortable, everything possible available, even an ongoing jigsaw puzzle. The freshly baked scones with fresh cream and a selection of james was not to be missed! Package of activities and entertainment fabulous, never a dull moment, but plenty of time to relax with a superb selection of DVDs and CDs. WiFi access throughout the hotel, DVD/CD and Ipod players in room. Immaculate is the only word to describe this lovely hotel and its staff. Thank you for a fantastic and memorable Christmas and we were tempted to stay for New Year!
Adele and John Wilbraham

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Doffydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
There are newer reviews for Linthwaite House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,301 - 1,307 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2008

From the moment we arrived, we loved it. The srevice was exceptional - personal yet discreet. The food was fantastic and the views even better. A perfect start to our honeymoon......

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DiggyandRussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

We made a late decision to stay at this hotel and therefore booked within 7 days taking advantage of the offer for a bed, breakfast and evening meal package. We were celebrating my wifes birthday and despite the fact we only had a short time available over the weekend we made the most of our time. The weather was damp and dreary as could be expected for this time of the year but this did not detract from the magnificent views.
The hotel was welcoming with festive cheer and we were allocated a room on the first floor overlooking the lake, again not the best time to appreciate the scenery but we did enjoy the tranquility.
The food throughout our stay was superb. We have visited this hotel on a number of occasions and we were pleased with the quality and standard of service but this visit seemed to cap all previous with an excellent menu and wine list. The meal was well presented, the scallops cooked to perfection as was the second course of beef. We had a relaxing stay and after enjoying an equally good breakfast of kippers and smoked salmon we left the hotel to explore the surrounding area.
Mike Bevan and the team at Linthwaite just get better. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I arranged for flowers to be in our room and these arrived as planned to complete my wifes perfect birthday.
We are looking forward to returning to Linthwaite House Hotel in the coming months but thank you for making this pre Christmas break such a special occasion.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheshireSpices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2008

My wife and I stayed at Linthwaite House for a wedding anniversary weekend in early December 2008 after a fairly exhaustive search of hotels within a couple of hours drive of our home in Lancashire. After being impressed by what we could see on the hotels website, we chose Linthwaite House on the strength of the, almost unanimously good, Trip Advisor reviews after dismissing a number of other hotels on the basis of average/poor reviews. As it was a special occasion we decided to stay in the Loft Suite, which looked wonderful on the virtual tour. Expecting a lot can sometimes leave you disappointed, this didn't. The virtual tour doesn't do the suite justice, it is simply magnificent and worth every penny of the rate. Nothing has been spared in terms of luxury and comfort and in many ways it is almost a waste not to spend every minute of your stay in the suite.

The hotel itself is warm and welcoming, the staff friendly and the service second to none. My wife and I have stayed in many hotels over the years and have never before come across such well trained, courteous and attentive staff. This applies to all the staff we encountered and includes receptionists, bar staff, restaurant staff and the housekeeping staff. Nothing was too much for any of the staff, who all did as much as they could to make our stay enjoyable and memorable.

We were aware that the restaurant came highly recommended and the quality of the food and service did nothing other than confirm this. The dining room, like the rest of the hotel was welcoming and comfortable, the food was of the highest quality, cooked to perfection and extremely well presented and the service was exceptional. This was not just the case for dinner but also for breakfast.

The hotel grounds are another wonderful feature as the setting provides spectacular views of Lake Windermere and the surrounding Lakeland hills and fells. A short walk from reception is the hotels own tarn from which the views really are wonderful and from where you can take a short walk around the estate grounds. For those wanting to venture further afield there are a number of walks that can be taken without needing to venture out in your car. As there had been heavy snow falls in the days prior to our arrival the scenery was one of a beautiful winter landscape.

If you are looking for a little luxury and excellent food in a warm and welcoming environment do not hesitate to choose Linthwaite House; we'll be returning for our anniversary for many years to come!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sadblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

We stayed at the Linthwaite House Hotel to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday and could not have made a better choice. Every aspect of this hotel is of the highest quality, from the landscaped gardens in which it stands to the rooms and public spaces inside. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the restaurant is excellent and the level of service you receive from the multinational team of staff is unsurpassed in the UK. We would definitely recommend the hotel and restaurant to other prospective guests and hope to visit again ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BikerMidwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

After having to change our holiday plans at the last minute, we decided on a visit to The Lakes. We diligently studied Trip Advisor and finally decided on the Linthwaite House Hotel.
As frequent travellers and partial to the finer things in life, this seemed just the place for some R & R. We were impressed by the wonderful location and stunning view. We were met with a cheery greeting and given a tour of the hotel. This was a refreshing change and gave us all the info we needed and a warm welcome. After a tiring journey, we opted for room service and the evening’s dinner menu was delivered to our door within minutes. Our order for sandwiches was placed and in no time our delicious snacks had arrived.
We chose a ‘preferred’ room, which provided plenty of space for our walking gear, as well as a sofa and writing desk. The décor was refined and modern, with a pleasant bathroom, flat screen TV, DVD player, CD player and King size bed. We didn’t have a lake view this time, but would probably choose this next visit.
Breakfast was a fine do, with a choice of premium local fare and served in any possible combination. The manners of the staff were exceptional, showing an enthusiastic interest in their work.
Dinner was a wonderful experience, with guests taking aperitifs and canapés in one of the lounges in front of an open fire, while choosing from the menu. A splendid selection of dishes were offered each evening, with a choice of our favourite game as well as tasty vegetarian meals. We never did make it to desert, but are sure it would have been worth the wait. On occasion, it could take and hour or so before the main course arrived, but the surroundings didn’t warrant any haste.
All too soon, our trip was over, after visits to local attractions and some stunning walks. We were lucky with the weather, but on the one morning it did rain, we had a go at the huge jigsaw in the conservatory and worked our way through a few newspapers.
We couldn’t find any real faults with the hotel and were so impressed with the reception, housekeeping and restaurant staff.
We were sad to leave, but will definitely return next year to see the Daffodils in the Spring.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MrandMrsSmithonTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2008

This was our second trip to the Linthwaite, the Autumn Retail Therapy Package is a great way to experience a fine hotel and some excellent cuisine. Of course the surrounding countryside isn't bad either !

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FatMoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $256 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing