We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing hotel”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night and only wish it had been for longer. The hotel was amazing and we loved every second of our stay there. The staff were incredible and one in particular addressed us by name each time he spoke to us which was a nice touch. We had afternoon tea which was lovely, and had it in the conservatory due to the rain outside - just a shame we couldn't have sat on the lovely terrace, but we still enjoyed the ambience and tranquility of the conservatory. We also had the taster menu with wine option in the restaurant that evening and the food was superb - we both agreed it was probably the best meal we have ever had, with the wine complimenting the food perfectly. Breakfast the following morning was also very good quality. The room was lovely but didn't offer the view of the garden/terrace as advertised, but still lovely all the same. Molton Brown toiletries were a lovely touch too. We were disappointed we had to leave the next morning and are already planning to go back again as soon as we possibly can. Nothing to criticise about this hotel as it was perfect for us, and definitely one of the nicest we have stayed in at the Lakes, being only minutes away from Windermere. Book a stay here if you can - you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Brilliant, thanks very much indeed.
To be clear, the hotel enjoys great views but there are only 5 bedrooms with views of the lake so you need to book them fast!
However, we have 30 rooms altogether and sometimes when it's hot it's good to not have a room with a view of the Lake.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,
Regards
Mike Bevans
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
There are newer reviews for Linthwaite House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

487 - 493 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

2014 marked our eighteenth year of 'coming home' to the Linthwaite. It is just perfect for that wonderful relaxing experience when you need to unwind and let go. It all starts the minute you get out of the car and are welcomed by the amazing staff. Nothing is too much trouble. The food is wonderful, as is the choice of wine. Sitting out on the terrace with pre-dinner drinks and canapés with that view simply takes the breath away. I'll be back in October. Can't wait!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Welcome home indeed. Eighteen years; you deserve a medal!
This week is our 24th anniversary since buying the hotel in 1990.
Thanks very much for your continued support and loyalty!
Best wishes
Mike Bevans
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

A friend got me and my partner afternoon tea for two, decided as it was a nice weekend we would make the most of it , trip
To Windermere and afternoon tea. Upon arrival the hotel looked lovely in beautiful surroundings with a lovely view. Service was very good and staff were ever do helpful. The selection of cakes and sandwiches was good with plenty of choice and very fresh., would go again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Afternoon tea
Well your friend has good taste indeed!
Glad you enjoyed it and we hope to see you again,
Mike Bevans
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

A lovely hotel to stay in the Lake District ,comfortable rooms, very clean,with all you need in the bathroom in toiletries.The staff are all very helpful,and can sort out anything else you need.The food is excellent,a real pleasure to sit and enjoy lovely views and eat a wonderful meal.

Room Tip: You pay for what you get,standard is good,but of course luxury is much better, ie bigger room,better...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Ah very true. You do pay for what you get in this life.
Amazing how important the toiletries are. I know my wife measures a hotel by this standard. We use Molton Brown. We are constantly trying out new products (tough job but someone has to do it) in order to maintain high standards.
Thanks very much for the great review
Mike Bevans
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Probably our best hotel experience ever - and we have stayed at quite a few special hotels across the world. Not grand, marble, doormen type place just everything that really matters done beautifully. We had good weather so sitting on the terrace overlooking Lake Windermere was magic, comfortable cosy lounges, seriously good cooking, a wonderful garden with its own tarn, and excellent genuinely friendly staff who mostly had time to talk to the guests in a beautifully judged fashion - relaxed but never over- familiar. We had a minor hiccup with the TV and the manager came to put it right within minutes and this was after he'd spent the evening supervising a busy restaurant service. But perfection is reserved for the Gods so our large, stylish, comfortable room with a huge bed (29) which was always perfectly serviced was also 2 floors up with no lift and didn't have a " view" . But they have a number of bedrooms on the ground floor and lots have magnificent views. We'd be back like a shot when next in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ecosoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Well from someone who obviously travels a lot this is indeed a highly complimentary review and we love it!
We believe a good hotel is all about attention to detail, plus a good deal of cosseting. It's easy to build a magnificent hotel in terms of bricks and marble, if you have the money. But money can't buy you the intangible luxury of high quality service. It takes years to achieve.
Many thanks for your very kind review,
Best wishes,

Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Wanted to put a review for linthwaite but on looking a bit deeper into reviews I was really surprised to see the reaction from management to negative reviews. The management appear to ridicule people who are negative to linthwaite and it has really put me off. I have my own business and value my clients opinions and take those opinions inboard to improve my service it is a shame linthwaite don't do the same. However I had a lovely time there. The staff are lovely, the room was nice 27. Dinner was lovely the guy in charge excellent. Breakfast a bit stressful lots of rushing around and shouting by staff, orders wrong and one particular male waiter very sharp and slammed glasses down so hard he broke them. This hotel is lovely, not stuffy and excellent quality food but management take criticism on the chin your customers are your bread and butter accept criticism gracefully

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thanks very much for your review, and I appreciate your directness. I don't believe we set out to ridicule anyone however.
I believe in honesty and directness and we know the feedback is read by all of you reading the reviews.
There are often two sides to a negative review and you will have seen where we got it wrong we admit it.
I think some reviewers actually regret the haste with which they review, and a cooling off period would provide a more sensible viewpoint sometimes.
Anyway, we hope we can welcome you back again one day,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We hadn't been to the Lake District for many years, so we decided to return for a three-day break for our 44th Wedding Anniversary - and what an hotel to pick! After reading the reviews, we didn't think it could be quite as good as that - but it even exceeded our expectations! From the welcome on arrival, the card in our room to wish us a Happy Anniversary, the comfortable & quiet room with Lake view, excellent food, a good selection of wines, lovely grounds and friendly and helpful staff - what else could we wish for?! The weather was even kind to us!

The hotel grounds are wonderful - after a day touring the area to refresh our memories of the Lake District, there was nothing more pleasant than walking up to the tarn with our books and sitting in the evening sun at the Summer House.

We hadn't intended to dine at the hotel each night, as we thought that an evening drive to other restaurants would make a nice change, but after experiencing the food on our first night, we ate there each night. Sarah, who manages the restaurant, was friendly, helpful & efficient; and her staff looked after us really well. We had an excellent meal in the restaurant on our first night, but having lunches out on the next two days, we decided to have the lighter menu on the Terrace for the next two nights - and once again, excellent quality food.

A minor grumble was the failure of their Wi-Fi modem, which meant that Wi-Fi wasn't available throughout the hotel as promised. But they provided an iPad in their Tourist Information room.

Without a doubt, we won't leave it as long to visit the Lake District again; and we will certainly return to this outstanding hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalellaDePalafrugell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Many thanks for your very kind review.
Sarah is great and the staff is hardworking and cares greatly.
Sorry about the wifi, we had one of the transmitters blow and were waiting on the replacement which has since arrived.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,
Very best wishes,
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $256 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing