We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Linthwaite House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,474)
Filter reviews
1,474 results
Traveler rating
1,191
188
50
24
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,191
188
50
24
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suiteprivate tarnsummer houseafternoon tealake districthot tubfine diningbeautiful hotelcourse dinnerwedding anniversarylog firecountry househigh standardsconeslounge areabirthday treatfantastic views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
495 - 500 of 1,474 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Very comfortable rooms in a lovely setting. The service is first class, neither too formal but very helpful and attentive. The food is of a very high quality and the portion sizes neither too large nor too small. i particularly approve of the fact that it is served on china instead of the current fashion for serving on slate, wood, tiles etc .Finally the price was good; this is good value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Many thanks for you kind review.
I personally don't like eating off wood or slate either!
I must confess though, Chef does sometimes use both so you were lucky not to have chosen the dishes he serves them on.
Hopefully the fad wil die!
Kind regards
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We only stayed one night and arrived at this hotel in the pouring rain. Our room was outside as requested as we had our dog in tow. It was a lovely room and bed was so comfortable. Our evening meal was first class, food and staff were fantastic. Breakfast was a delight, we loved the roasted plums. What a fantastic location to wake up to in the sun.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Fantastic. Thanks very much for taking the trouble to post a review.
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Hotel situated amongst stunningly picturesque grounds. The view from the terrace where we had (very good) afternoon tea on arrival was enough to iron out any wrinkles in one's brain. The room (21) was v tastefully decorated, also with incredible views - I didn't want to close the curtains until the sun had completely gone. Outdoor private hot tub overlooking the mountains and lake an extra luxury treat which made it feel much more like a celebration. We ate dinner there both nights as part of our package and all food was stupendous, bang on trend with very fine locally sourced ingredients that were allowed to speak for themselves. Masterchef lovers will adore the beautifully presented appetisers and aerated soup amuse bouche. Delicate flavour combinations to die for in the starters and main courses and an extraordinary Parma Violet ice cream which I suspect will never be beaten in my eyes. The service was excellent - attentive and friendly but not intrusive. All in all everything we could have wished for in a hotel to celebrate our engagement. We will definitely be back. Thank you to all for a lovely stay.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Congratulations on your engagement from us all all at Linthwaite.
Thanks for your review; I'd say you nailed it!
Chef'll be asking for an increase, but never mind.
We hope to welcome you back again soon,
Best wishes
Mike Bevans
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We wanted to return to Linthwaite having stayed on a number of occasions when we were first married! On our 20th Wedding anniversary we wanted to return. Well just as we remembered beautiful setting, homely feel and wonderful staff all so friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. we stayed in room 22 with a private hot tub with a view looking down to Lake Windermere its worth paying the extra for this room.
Our evening meal was fab great choice and enjoyed everything we had, we were looked after by Marcin a credit to the hotel.
We really wanted to stay another night! We will be returning in October.
don't hesitate in booking this hotel you wont be disappointed. Thanks to ALL at Linthwaite.

.

Room Tip: Room 21 an 22 both have hot tubs
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paigetoone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Many thanks for your very kind review.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back again later this year.
best wishes
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I only stayed one night at this hotel but really wish it could have been longer. It's in a great, quiet location overlooking the lake with ample parking. It is tastefully decorated but also homely and my room (a simple standard double, single occupancy) was very nice, with a modern clean bathroom. We didn't have dinner that night but breakfast the next day was really good (full English). The staff were also very friendly and helpful. If I had only one peice of advice, it would be to ask for a room that does not face out onto the kitchen area. It can become noisy at lunchtime and also early evening until about 11-12 pm. So if you have driven a long way, or flown in from abroad and need a nap, it's worth bearing in mind. After that though, I slept very well indeed.

Room Tip: As for a room away from the kitchens, if possible
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thanks very much for you very kind review.
Come again and stay longer to get the true experience!
With all best wishes
Mike Bevans
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews