We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“amazing wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2008

We booked our wedding reception to take place at the Linthwaite
for May 2008. Kate - the wedding co-ordinator was superb, very efficient, listened carfully to what we wanted and worked along side us very well. Booked the hotel for exclusive use for the day of the wedding and the next day. it was great to have the hotel privately with no worries of the general public turning up at any time even to the point of the hotel refusing entry to the public with us only having 5 minutes left on our exclusive usage!.
The staff were excellent and accommodating. One of my guest's had a 6 month old and the staff did everything they could to make their stay enjoyable, my friends really appreciated the staffs kindness and attenion to detail right down to providing a baby monitor.

The food was superb, top marks to the chef it was wonderful. The rooms were spotless ( apart from my room that had been taken over with ribbons and flower petals all courtesy of the bridal party!). the rooms were well presented and had all those extra touches like the high quality "Molton Brown" bath accessories...eat your heart out! oh and and for the men...the flat screen tv's!

The veiws over lake Windermere were fantastic especially from the pine trees at the top of the slope. The private tarn was fantastic to get away for those all important romantic photos. The gardner had promised me a month earlier the garden would be spotless and it was.

All the staff lived up to all expectations and were kind and curteous. It was the wedding reception of our dreams and highly recomended. Even now all our guests still tell us how lovely it was and how relaxing, posh but unstuffy it was. Plenty of brochures were taken for return visits!

The hotel really pampered to all our wants and needs and we felt prviliged to have had their expertise and hotel all to ourselves for a day and night. Thank you Linthwaite. thank you Kate top marks and now I'm gushing.....

  • Liked — superb quality, fantastic location, excellent staff, fab food. everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank estest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    183
    48
    22
    20
See reviews for
165
991
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

An excellent period country house hotel. The staff are very helpful and friendly and, simply ,cannot do enough to make your stay a wonderful experience. The service and standards in the restaurant are excellent and the food is superb! The hotel is very well managed. We were looked after from the moment we arrived. The hotel is very clean and stylish. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Standard of service and food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank photocreate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2008

Stunning views and attentive staff.

We booked this hotel last minute and thought we might not get something great due to the short notice. But our fears soon disappeared as this hotel is beautifully decorated and the staff were welcoming and friendly.

We had a lovely room, not big, but well decorated and comfortable - just enough to enjoy a single night stay.

The food at dinner was superb, the waiting staff very knowledgeable and the wine recommended was delicious.

For a quiet weekend in the Lakes this is a great stay.

  • Liked — Excellent dinner menu
  • Disliked — Would have liked a bigger room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mazzyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

eastern european staff were curt not curtious
chef must be an amateur
we made a very polite comment and £170 was deducted from our bill

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rubyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exile on the Mersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

We have just completed a three day exclusive use corporate meeting and social gathering at Linthwaite House. All 37 of the participants found the hotel, its staff, facilities and food wonderful . The conference facility was first class and generated the best meetings we have had for a number of years through the ambiance and discreet service provided during our meetings.
It rained for three days but this did not dampen spirits. The new rooms are amazing particulalry the loft suite with its egg shaped monster bath.

Helpful?
Thank CaptJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2008

The Linthwaite House Hotel is absolutely divine...there was not a single thing we would change about the hotel or our experience.

We booked the Linthwaite after exhaustive research about Lake District hotels, and we are positive we would not find another hotel to rival this site. While the drive up to the hotel was a little treacherous, we were rewarded with a beautifully converted country home on a pristine, impeccably landscaped tract of land high above Lake Windemere. Upon a very friendly check-in, we were shown our booked room (with a double bed and no view), in addition to an available upgraded room (with a king bed and a lake view). We chose the king bed room -- Room 14 -- although the double bed room -- Room 1 -- was beautiful.

The rooms are contemporary and spotless, and there is no detail that is overlooked. Despite it's remote location, Linthwaite offers wireless internet, sufficient cable channels, and a wide selection of CDs and DVDs. There is no need for this, though, because you'll want to spend as much of your time possible walking the grounds and eating in the in-house restaurant. After receiving our drinks and canapés in the sunroom, we were treated to a five-star dinner in the romantic dining room that was unrivaled during our week stay in the UK.

The hotel is currently making some exterior upgrades (looks like additional patio space? front reception space?), but this would not affect your stay in the least. We are jealous of those that will receive the benefit as it's sure to be beautiful. If you have the opportunity to visit the Lake District, please stay at Linthwaite -- you will walk away planning for the next time you can stay there!

  • Liked — Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, gorgeous surroundings
  • Disliked — Loved everything
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg3738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

Wonderful setting overlooking Windermere. A large garden and lake (though too cold when we went for swimming). Make sure you ask for one of the larger rooms. Very comfortable series of lounges with views of the garden and lake behind. Staff very helpful and friendly. The food and wine was excellent both at breakfast and in the evening - Probably just below a Michelin Star level but very good and good value. I can certainly recomend this hotel to couples who want to enjoy the beautiful walking nearby and enjoy good food and comfort at the end of the day,

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — A bit dark in the bathroom
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveller118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing