We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing attention to detail”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing attention to detail”
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I booked this hotel as a gift for my parents 60th. They stayed during my mum's birthday in February and the staff could not have been nicer. My partner and I surprised my parents by turning up to stay and celebrate with my mum which the staff knew about. The staff then went out of their way to keep my parents on track for the surprise when they tried to change their dinner reservation and kept everything under wraps in the process. Dinner in the hotel was amazing and it made my mum's 60th very special. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel, the only problem being you may not want to leave and explore the gorgeous surroundings.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen7878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthwaite H, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Fantastic. I hope my boys treat me the way you treat your Mum and Dad!
Thanks for a great review
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    188
    50
    24
    21
See reviews for
170
1,008
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A complete joy. Understated luxury reinforced by the excellence of the staff. Beautifully appointed rooms, fantastic location and a wonderful kitchen. Already looking forward to returning, we certainly won't leave it as long next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_Masters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed at Linthwaite House end of Feb, myself and my wife had a Loft Suite (rm 30) and my teen daughter had one of the standard double rooms. We stayed for two nights dinner, bed and breakfast. The decor was perfect for us best described as "classically modern" whilst still managing to have a country house ambiance but without the chintz with, everything executed to a high standard and well maintained giving it a newly renovated feel with a lovely relaxed atmosphere. Certainly the photos on their website are an accurate picture of what you can expect.

Food was truly great (dinner and breakfast) and tastefully modern in execution and presentation. Our sometimes fussy teen enjoyed all her meals during the stay trying things out she wouldn't normally (thanks to the chef). Whilst Linthwaite is maybe geared towards couples as a family break I'd highly recommend it, they have top quality milkshakes on the bar menu as well as french toast and pancakes at breakfast (plus lots of maple syrup) perfect for the younger palate.

The bar was fairly priced, large G&Ts c£9, bottle of beer c£4 and an extensive and well considered wine list that ranged from £19 for a wallet friendly Chenin Blanc upwards to Chassagne Montrachets at £40 plus, so something for all. Service was attentive without being invasive and the young and well turned out front of house staff are to be commended as its not easy to get this balance right. Housekeeping was excellent with a turn down service in the evening.

Overall a perfect visit and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Linthwaite to others including family groups although I'd suggest mid to high teens for children. Whilst breakfast closes at 10am on both days we arrived at 9:55 and had full service including cooked breakfasts with no problem typically finishing at 10:45 so time for a lie in.

Room Tip: On booking just check what the view is in case this is important for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Sarah_Sophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Our fourth stay at Linthwaite and just as lovely as ever - the decor is so warm and welcoming, offsetting the period architecture with more contemporary style, and as the rain buckets down and the mists descend, there is, perhaps, no better place to be than sat in front of one of the myriad open fires with a plate of tantalizing canapes and generous glass of red wine. The staff are exceptionally warm and welcoming, especially those working in the restaurant. We have always had impeccable service in the restaurant, and the meals we had this time were the best yet - perhaps this means they'll be aiming for an even higher score in the 2015 edition of the Good Food Guide! We always keep our eyes out for a special offer at Linthwaite and use this as an excuse to make a trip up to the Lakes - if you can book with one of these, you'll find this to be the most value for money luxury B&B experience you can find in this beautiful corner of England!

Room Tip: we've stayed in 4 different rooms, all of which have been very different and absolutely delightf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank synaptoneurosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Just returned from our first visit to Linthwaite House Hotel and loved every minute, We stayed in a standard double room and whilst it didn't have a lake view it was a really lovely room, comfortable bed and extremely clean. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful which enhances the whole ambience of the house. I would have no hesitation in recommending Linthwaite House and we will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Macala51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thanks very much for taking the trouble to write this wonderful review.
We hope this was the first of many visits,
Regards
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stayed for 3 days and nights here in Feb. 2014 and it made us feel we had been away for a week. The welcome and service was always attentive and friendly without being suffocating or stuffy.
The service balanced dealing with outdoor pursuits and good dining so well. Having returned, wet, from a 14 mile walk our wet boots and outer garments were whisked away to the drying room, while we were then able to dress for dinner without a care. And what meals: 3 course delectable, evening meals, no wonder the hotel has won awards. I am vegetarian, my husband a meat eater and we both had excellent succulent food. Breakfast too, was just stupendous, wonderful fresh fruit and smoothies as well as the full gamut of wonderful cooked food for all tastes.
Having pre-prandial drinks in the lovely, intimate lounge setting sampling the chef prepared hors d'ouvres was so relaxing, it was a tonic in itself. I would highly recommend the staff, their skills and the beautiful setting.
Though the hotel hasn't a swimming pool it has an arrangement with another hotel only 3 mins. drive so I was able to go the gym and swim.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Many thanks from all of us at Linthwaite for your fabulous review! We couldn't ask for more.
Kind regards
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Treated ourselves for an overnight stay. For us, the hotel is a lovely retreat from the outside world. I particularly love the mixture of decor and quirky touches which give this hotel a unique feel. All staff are friendly, professional, and courteous without being overwhelming. The food was superb - some very inventive courses at dinner and wines to suit all budgets. Breakfast - it is just so nice to have it cooked to order and beautifully presented. The hotel is spotlessly clean with attention to detail. Compliments to the housekeeping team, who often don"t get a mention. A lovely personal touch was the welcome letter from Paul welcoming us back to the hotel.
Hopefully, one day we will be lucky enough to stay in the Loft suite or a hot tub room as a luxurious treat perhaps to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary next year! I,m so glad that most people who stay here have a positive experience and appreciate the hotel. I do find it unfair for some reviewers to give a one-sided negative review without acknowledging attempts to resolve any issues. There isn't a 100% perfect hotel but for us the Linthwaite comes pretty close!!
Keep up the good work and we"'ll definitely be back as soon as we are able.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Wow. Well we do strive for perfection but as you write it is very difficult to achieve. Yo always need to be aiming higher though. Thanks to the great feedback we get here, we are able to deal with problems more objectively. The staff get it and so do the managers.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Kind regards
Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing