We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Linthwaite House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,474)
Filter reviews
1,474 results
Traveler rating
1,191
188
50
24
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,191
188
50
24
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suiteprivate tarnsummer houseafternoon tealake districthot tubfine diningbeautiful hotelcourse dinnerwedding anniversarylog firecountry househigh standardsconeslounge areabirthday treatfantastic views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
567 - 572 of 1,474 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Ok, one would have to be really nitpicking to find fault with this the Linthwaite. It's simply a wonderful place to stay. The Hotel is in an excellent position, overlooking Lake Windermere. All the staff, from reception, to restaurant, to cleaners, were very pleasant and polite (special mention for Kathleen from the restaurant). The food is superb, and the service just about perfect. No overbearing waiters/waitresses, but they seem to magically appear just as you need them!! We stayed two nights. Both evening meals were excellent. Breakfast also excellent, with wide variety of choice.
Although the hotel was virtually full, all the staff seemed to know our names. Now that's the sort of attention that makes you believe they really care about looking after you.
We were spoilt by the Linthwaite, and made to feel very special. Why go anywhere else in the Lakes???

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior room, no. 32. Lovely sized room, with large bathroom. Our friends have stayed in 33, which has a balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TruthieTrutherton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

It's great to be appreciated! Means a lot to the staff, so thanks very much. Andy and the team work hard on using people's names, so much better than yes sir no madam isn't it? And we are in the 21st Century after all, it's not Downton Abbey!
Thanks so much from all of us, and we look forward to being able to welcome you back again one day.
Regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Because almost everything else was perfect! Came over for a special weekend and had a wonderful time. The staff were wonderful - attentive, helpful and courteous, the rooms were great - we had a lakeside room which was very special (when the rain eased to let us see it!). Our room was of a decent size, impeccably clean and as clean a bathroom as ours at home. Dinner on the Saturday was simply stunning - sea bream and grapefruit roulade, gin salmon with tonic sorbet, Bombay cod, lamb, rhubarb with custard tart, chocolate pudding with a thin slice of Kendal mint cake! all washed down with a wonderful Lebanese find. The breakfast was slightly disappointing (the Full English was not warm enough on two attempts) but the overall impression of the hotel was of a wonderful hideaway which we loved and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Lakeside view
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Thanks very much for your very kind review and I'm sorry to hear about the problem you encountered at breakfast. We can do something about that but sadly the weather is beyond us!
Kind regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

A weekend away in a cold wet February is a great tonic and Linthwaite House Hotel really looked after the four of us. We were grateful for the ideas for a low level walk (given the mist and rain) Delicious dinner on Saturday night. Breakfast choices just perfect too.lots of lovely touches in the bedrooms.
Staff and Manager very receptive to a small suggestion we made. I'm sure we'll be going back next year

Room Tip: We selected the standard double rooms which were small but beautifully furnished but with limited view - this didn't matter at all in a wet February
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Low level walks can be as nice as high level ones, but there us something about getting up the hill. Which is sort of what it's like running the hotel. Most of the time it feels there is a hill to climb but it's worth the effort when you get there.
Always another hill to climb. Thankfully, you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your taking the trouble to review it.
Kind regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

When you return to somewhere you really enjoyed there is always the risk that it will have changed. In this case it was just as wonderful. The staff are so friendly, helpful and efficient and do go out of their way to make your stay exceptional. The room had a lovely view of the lake and was very well equipped. The fresh milk in the fridge is one example of how little touches make such a difference. The grounds are wonderful to wander around or, weather permitting, soak up the exceptional view. The public rooms are very comfortable and welcoming. A gem in a superb location which provides a great escape.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank keepitupLiverpoolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Many thanks for your review. Most of our business is repeat or recommended. We know that's worth its weight in gold.
Come back soon!
Kind regards
Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here for two nights as part of our honeymoon in September 2012, have since returned three times because we loved it so much. I have MS and use a wheelchair, before we arrived the roll-out ramp had been installed at the front door! We have used rooms 22 and 28, the latter was my favourite, it has it's own parking space, front door. small garden and walk in shower. Scrupulously clean, comfortable and well decorated. The meals are divine and the service outstanding, in fact the whole experience deserves every superlative you can think of! The staff were so friendly and we felt like royalty! As soon as we can we will visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews