We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday meal with friends”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We went to the linthwaite for a birthday meal, been a few times and it never fails to amaze , everything about it is a truly wonderful experience and they always seem to get excellent staff, the food and presentation is really something else ,there is nothing I can fault about it, well done linthwaite and all the staff will return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Wonderful! We're delighted you enjoyed your birthday dinner. Come back soon.
Kind regards
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2014

We booked linthwaite hotel for our wedding and we are so glad we did. They were amazing from the start, the first time we visited the hotel we knew it would be perfect for our wedding. From the first time we stepped through the front door, we were struck by relaxed and chilled atmosphere. The open fires, the super comfy sofas and the quirkiness of the trunk tables give the hotel a great character with a home from home feel. The staff were very accommodating from our first visit to discuss our options to the months running up to the wedding. The wedding planner Kate was excellent, very organised and extremely helpful. She did everything we asked and more she is a real credit to the hotel. The food on the day was truly delightful every meal we had was amazing, the service was fantastic, our every need was met. Even when we needed to change things last minute the hotel was very happy to help. We had the perfect day and didn't have to worry about anything as the hotel sorted everything down to the smallest detail. Many of our friends and family commented how great the hotel was and are planning a stay here themselves. The food throughout our stay was superb and we certainly enjoyed sampling the extensive wine list. The food and drink were nearly as good as the staff. Amazing! All the staff from duty managers to the cleaners were all fantastic we even booked an extra night as we didn't want to leave and we can't wait to return for another visit for our anniversary, if not before !! Would recommend this hotel to everyone for a meal, a weekend or as long as you can. Defiantly the best place in the lakes for a wedding!!!!
Simply a fantastic hotel!! Just quality throughout.
Thanks again to everyone at the hotel, you all made it so perfect.
Mr & Mrs MacDonald

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Wonderful wedding!
It's great to hear you were so happy with everything for your wedding.
Thank you so much for going to the trouble to review us so comprehensively.
We can book your anniversaries now if you like!
Congratulations from us all,
Best wishes,
Mike
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We didn't stay in the hotel as we live fairly locally but earlier this week we went there for dinner.
The food was excellent, one of the best meals we have had for quite some time.
The choice was very good, I think there were 7 starters and 7 main courses and either 6 or 7 deserts. Everything from the canapés beforehand to the hand made chocolates with our coffee were first class. My husband had duck for his main course and I had the venison both were superb.

The staff were also very good, there was plenty of them and they were all friendly and very efficient.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Underbarrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thanks very much for your lovely review of your dinner at Linthwaite.
I hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Kind regards

Mike Bevans
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We booked last minute through Booking.com, was glad their was last minute availability for such a lovely hotel.
We had a package DBB which I hadn't realised at the time. The food is really good, lovely diverse menu, interesting tastes, very attentive serving staff without being intrusive.
Hotel room was nice, lovely bed linen, very neat in cleanliness, decor and ambience. Nice cosy lounge to enjoy a few drinks in or have afternoon tea.
Location is 2mins drive from Bowness so although a secluded location very close to everything should you want it.

Room Tip: I would have liked the hot tub room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosey321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Thanks very much for your lovely review.
We hope we can welcome you back again soon,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Great Hotel excellent Food very helpful staff My Wife loved being back in an old world hotel in the lake district it was decorated very well we chose it because of the comments on trip advisor and it lived up to all expectations. Our children who live in the U.K. came and spent a long weekend with us they all thought the same great Hotel lovely food. For us it was a very relaxing unpretentious time at the Linthwaite House Hotel. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone. without hesitation.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Roxby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Amazing. All the way from South Africa to the sunny lake District. Thanks for braving our weather when it's so nice back home. But we are delighted you have enjoyed your stay so much and look forward to being able to welcome you back again one day.
best wishes

Mike Bevans
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I cant fault this hotel and trust me am very fussy when it comes to staying anywhere other than my own house and bed. Me and my husband loved our pre christmas stay here for the 2nd time everything was wonderful and the afternoon tea beats Betty's tea rooms in Harrogate any day! The staff are lovely and do the hotel proud representing it. Thank you Linthwaite see you in March 2014 for another stay before we have our first baby :-) x

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rintin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Wow, better than the wonderful Betty's! That's a compliment indeed. Thanks very much for your fabulous review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Although we were a young couple staying and other guests exceeded our years we still had an amazing trip and would return in a heart beat. Linthwaite House is flawless the only negative we can draw from our stay in the suite was the location of the bedroom at the end of the corridor. Therefore everybody passed our room talking on the way to breakfast and so we heard every door slam therefore this interrupted our sleep.

The suite was amazing with a lake view and a hot tub very scenic and picturesque where we spent most of the afternoon with lots of champagne. The lamb main course was a highlight and the chocolate dessert was probably one of the nicest I've ever tasted. We have also visited Gilpin Lodge which is an equal standard but the food at Linthwaite House stood out for us. After dinner we retreated to the lounge room for more drinks, the log fires were burning, drinks flowing and the ambience was perfect. Would recommend this hotel to anyone of any age.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thanks very much for your very complimentary review.
R21 the room with the outdoor hot tub is very popular and we're delighted you enjoyed it.
I am especially glad you felt that Linthwaite was a hotel where age doesn't matter.
We get people staying from families through three generations, which we're very proud of. In the end, great hospitality and service is appreciated by everyone regardless of age.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
744 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $259 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing