We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Linthwaite House
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$154
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$213
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$143
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$173
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$239
$162
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$335
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
$162
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,474)
Filter reviews
1,474 results
Traveler rating
1,192
188
49
24
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,192
188
49
24
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsloft suiteprivate tarnsummer houseafternoon tealake districthot tubfine diningbeautiful hotelcourse dinnerwedding anniversarylog firecountry househigh standardsconeslounge areabirthday treatfantastic views
Filter
Updating list...
1,321 - 1,326 of 1,474 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2008

Beautiful reception rooms and terrace with views of the lake.

Excellent restaurant. Very impressed with the individual attention to my dietary needs.

Lovely quiet position, but this does mean that you can’t easily walk into the town....so the DVD and CD library are a plus!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SarahNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

My husband and I spent our first wedding anniversary at the hotel and as we weren't going abroad we wanted something extra special and the Linthwaite House was certainly that. Check in was very efficient and very good customer service. The room was beautiful (we stayed in room 14) and the view of the lake was superb.

The grounds of the hotel are truly beautiful. You can walk to the private tarn (very large pond) where there is a summer house to sit in and enjoy the view. The views of lake Windermere from the grounds are breath taking.

The food was the best I have ever tasted. Canapes are served in the lounge/terrace before the meal and then you are taken through to your table once the meal is ready. The staff are very attentative and make you feel very special.

Overall this was a fantastic hotel - the best i have ever stayed in in the UK. If I had to state a downside it would be the price as this did make us possibly reconsider staying at Linthwaite House. However, you get what you pay for which is a truly luxurious 5* quality with outstanding service.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Shropshiretravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

Perfect for a relaxing, luxurious break set in beautiful surroundings with fantastic views. The staff are attentive, yet not intrusive. The food is exceptional and weather permitting a pre-dinner drink on the terrace sets the mood for a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janetholloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

This was our 10th stay at Linthwaite and as ever it was wonderful. If you are looking for a perfect location, with perfect views, ambience, luxury and food, Linthwaite is for you.

The team at Linthwaite have achieved an ideal mix of sophistication without the stuffiness and pretentiousness that you find in many superior quality hotels.

Staff cannot do enough for you to ensure your stay is memorable and they are a credit to owner Mike Bevans.

It is an ideal location for exploring the wonderful delights of the Lake District with several walks available direct from the hotel.
A walk around their tarn after breakfast is a must and a fantastic way to start the day.

The local towns of Bowness on Windermere, Windermere and Ambleside are all good for shopping and also for decent food - although not on Linthwaite's scale.

We cannot recommend Linthwaite highly enough. Go on, treat yourself, you won't regret it!

We will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnshireBakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Although I only stayed for one night, I can categorically state that this is the best hotel I have ever stayed in. I spend a huge amount of time in "business class" hotels and none of them are a patch on Linthwaite House. The personal service, attention to detail and food were all fabulous. I cant wait to stay again - this will now be my regular treat to me..


Fab Fab Fab !!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sewies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews