We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous stay - in every way”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fabulous stay - in every way”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary (and birthday) celebration at the end of September, From the minute we arrived, we felt completely relaxed. The hotel delivered the perfect balance between excellent quality and service, whilst making us feel very at home and welcome. We enjoyed drinks on the terrace outside, taking in the stunning views and in the evening we had a fantastic dining experience - delicious food and wine - impeccable service, but never rushed and never felt like the staff were intrusive. I can honestly say that the bed was one of the comfiest I've ever stayed in! The room was compact, but very well equipped and seemed to have everything just right - from the tea making facility to the black out curtains. Breakfast in the morning was also a delight. All in all, we really couldn't fault our stay. It's a long time since we enjoyed a night away so much. A beautiful hotel, with friendly and helpful staff, delivering excellent quality and a personal service without so much of a hint of stuffiness. Since our stay I have made a couple of enquiries (about the fabulous mattress and the lovely wallpaper!) and the staff got back to me immediately and even went to the trouble of researching the wallpaper availability, The faultless service continued even after our stay! We will definitely be returning to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Many thanks for taking so much trouble to write such a wonderful review.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Kind regards

Mike Bevans
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    186
    48
    22
    21
See reviews for
168
999
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Like most hotel stays, there will always be positives and negatives. The positives in this hotel are easy.

1. it is in a great location perched on a hill overlooking Lake Windermere (it is not lake side).
2. It is a clean, hotel with ample seating in the plentiful and comfortable array of reception rooms.
3. Dinner and breakfast were of good quality.

However, the negatives far outweigh the positives and as a result of my dealings with management, the over all experience of my stay at this hotel was disappointing.

Like many travellers, we booked this hotel through a third party Internet provider (hotels.com) . As a consumer, I'm mainly concerned about getting value for money. It is no concern of mine if the hotel I book has to pay commission to hotels.com.

When making the booking, we advised hotels.com that we required a twin room(i.e. with 2 beds). It appears this request was not sent to the hotel and when we proceeded to check in, were shown to our double room with one double bed. As this room was not appropriate for our needs (and as a twin room was requested at the booking stage), we requested an alternative room. However, we were advised that any alternative room which would accommodate twin beds would come at a cost of an extra £60. While at first I thought this was a joke, the receptionist insisted that it was hotel procedure to charge is this fee. Naturally, we declined her insistence and demanded to speak to the manager. Surprisingly, the manager's stance was no better. He also persisted in seeking the fee from us to change rooms, even though the mistake was made in the communication between the hotel and hotels.com. To make matters even worse (and most unprofessional), the manager proceeded to explain to us the economics of how hotels.com operates and how tight the hotels margins were (as though we should have sympathy for him!).

As the room was prepaid, we were reluctant to go to an alternative hotel and forfeit the cost of the room. We were forced to argue our case with the manager for some time in the reception area. This is notwithstanding the fact that the hotel was not full and had alternative rooms available and it was late in the evening so the hotel was unlikely to sell all its rooms. After much debate, the manager finally waived the £60 fee when he realised we had booked dinner in the hotel restaurant. He was of the view that any "loss" he made on the room, he could recoup from us via the restaurant.

While I'm well aware hotels operate as a business and want to make a profit, I don't believe there was any necessity for this hotel to treat us as though it was money obsessed.

I wouldn't be in a rush to return here and think other hotels we stayed at in the area provide a better service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThomasheenOgRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Many thanks for your kind and constructive review.

The main crux of your disappointment, however, rests in the booking method. It often pays to phone direct so you get what you want without misunderstanding. If you just want a cookie cutter hotel then the online systems work well.

However, you chose to go online which is fine. The problem is we have no standard category twin bedded rooms. So you booked a double which you didn't want and added in the box which is for special requests like "I am allergic to feather pillows" and put 'twin bed requested'.

Not surprisingly when you checked in you were disappointed we didn't have a twin for you.
The receptionist offered you an upgrade for £60: she was simply doing her job.
We are not given your contact details sow e couldn't ask you in advance - another problem with online bookings.

You weren't happy.
You asked for the Manager.
Within two minutes he had waived the charge and upgraded you.

Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
218 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a dinner/bed and breakfast deal which was very attractive and we were stunned by the tranquillity of the place, the warmth and patience of the staff and the comfort of the rooms. They invited us downstairs half an hour before dinner for 'drinks' and canapés but were disappointed to hear when we got there to discover that the drinks were at our expense but the canapés were at theirs. Just felt a little bit conned but forgave them for their oversight. The food was an example of just trying a bit too hard, perfectly edible but a little bit too stretched. Here was a chef who was obviously experienced but I had a feeling he was out to impress the profession and had forgotten that the real foodies prefer highly recognisable dishes which dazzle with good flavour, sauces etc. Upon checkout I failed to check the bill and discovered I had paid for someone else's drinks on top of my own I forgave them for that too because the fault was mine and we had had a lovely stay. The hotel was very busy with some quiet americans but mostly indigenous Brits. Everyone seemed to have that relaxed and contented look when I looked at them over the breakfast room. Maybe because the breakfast was the last bastion of excellence they were just mesmerised.

Room Tip: The smaller rooms are good value and tend to be offered as part of their 'special offer' ran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RestingEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thanks very much for the great review. I'm sorry about the drinks canapés misunderstanding. We will happily refund the drinks you were charged for but which you didn't have though. Please just call the hotel or email them and mention this! It's no trouble to credit your card.

Many thanks indeed.

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

For personal reasons a booked this hotel late and was surprised at the price £314 for one night at a 4-star hotel. (Because of the late booking there simply wasn't anything else local to Bowness-on-Windermere.

When we checked in at about 15:00 hrs we were told that the restaurant was fully booked so my wife & I decided to walk into Bowness, a 10 minute walk we were told by the receptionist. That must have been jogging because it took us nearly 30 minutes and it was all downhill. Decided to get a taxi back. We ended up having dinner at the MacDonald Hotel right in the centre of Bowness with stunning views over the lake.

The staff in my opinion were snobbish & arrogant. The water in the room was house water. There was no fruit, the toilet roll holder was placed where it was virtually impossible to flush the toilet. at £314 per night even the newspaper was extra. The bathroom tap was catching on the wall tiles. Toiletries were low quality and meagre in size, there was no chilled fresh juice dispensers at breakfast so every time you wanted a refill in the small glasses you had to ask.

The only thing going for it was the weather was divine which had nothing to do with Hotel. Would we stay again, definitely not.


The 5-star Cranleigh Boutique Hotel was only 2 minutes walk from Bowness Centre and was nearly one third of the price (including breakfast) but unfortunately was fully booked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jacobmax191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thanks very much for your review.
In response, we had informed you by email at the time of booking that there were no tables available for dinner so it shouldn't have come as a surprise.
It is 20 minutes walk to Bowness.
The toiletries we use are Molton Brown which most people seem to consider as high quality.
The water is HOUSE water, but I'm not sure what your point is here.
The orange juice is freshly squeezed and no we don't use large dispensers because we prefer to serve people ourselves.
As you can see from the many reviews below most don't think out staff are arrogant, rather the opposite.
Sincerely
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great hospitality, nothing too much trouble and very accommodating to our needs. The food and dining experience were very memorable; superb menu choice and service in a lovely dining room.

The Linthwaite has a fantastic position overlooking the lake with some delightful walking trails from the hotel and even a small like itself in it's grounds! A wonderful place, we will be back; a big thanks to all the team.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidmyers25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks very much for you very kind review
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed there for 5 nights to get a comprehensive view of the Lake District, Ambleside, Grassmere, Conniston etc. The hotel was lovely but in a very secluded location with a beautiful view. You needed a taxi to go anywhere for lunch,dinner, shopping, bus trips,boat cruises etc. This can be quite costly. Meals at the hotel were very expensive but very tasty. Driving in the Lake District is very harrowing and unless you are a fearless skillful driver, is not recommended. So on rainy days, your activities could be costly. A fan is provided but, it can get warm in the rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally1943155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
It's fantastic that you took the green approach. Five nights is quite a long stay at Linthwaite, the normal stay averages out at two nights and has done since we started the business in 1990.

Coming from Canada you would find the roads small in comparison to home, but people do get used to them.

There is also a fabulous network of electric bikes you can use.

We really appreciate you kind and constructive views,

Many thanks indeed,

From all of us at Linthwaite

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Have recently stayed here for the 4th time and as always thoroughly enjoyed it. Its English luxury at its best with very fine service and exquisite food. I love phrases like " Dinner is at 6:30 for 7 with nibbles and drinks first" which is quintessentially l British and something I miss as a Brit living in the USA !

I deliberately used "Unstuffy" in the title because (if I remember correctly) is the name of the holding company of the hotel - a very apt name.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hstn2guys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Ah yes it must be great to come back to the UK from the States. We love America but it's always nice to get home. I am delighted you used the words unstuffy and quintessentially British; we must be doing something right!

Come back again for that 5th visit!

Kind regards

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing