We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small wedding ceromony”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

stayed one this on Wednesday 18th September, what a spectacular hotel, the staff are so pleasant and nothing to much trouble, we were witnesses at a small intimate ceremony, they made us feel very special, the food was superb on the evening, even sandwiches in the afternoon was a delight, the hotel has stunning views of lake windermere, cant wait to go back and visit again soon.

bright airey rooms and spotless clean, added turn down service on the evening was also nice.
would like to thank all the staff that made my friends day a special one.

Room Tip: nice views over the lake is an added bonus, some rooms are up a few steps so just ask before you boo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

We were so happy for you on your wedding day. Small intimate weddings are what we do. I'm also glad you loved the lake vIews.

Do come back for your wedding anniversary,

Kind regards from us all,

Mike Bevans
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
There are newer reviews for Linthwaite House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

The two of us stayed for one night in September for my birthday. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and I would go again. Our evening meal was outstanding (that lemon tart with turkish delight icecream was certainly delightful) & afternoon tea which came with our autumn deal was delicious (too much to eat so the waitress kindly offered to box it up so I could take home). Some of the staff were also outstandingly charming & made the stay so enjoyable (I loved the one liner at evening meal you know who you are!). I dont like to say it but I was a bit disappointed with the preferred room - the view was great, bed very comfortable and the decor and bathroom good but the bench/table (which housed the fridge) did take up a lot of room as it ran the length of the room and there would have been more space to relax without it. Another small point was there could have been fresh milk in the fridge - I know this could be requested but I don't like to keep mithering staff. . These are only small points and I would give 4 and half stars if I could and 5 for ambience, setting, beautiful gardens and grounds, views, communal areas,dining rooms, and food as we loved our stay. Plus 5 and a half for one member of staff!
Look forward to my next visit and did not want this special
one to end.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Well 4.5 stars isn't bad as the AA and Visit England give us 4! So we must be doing something right.
The long dressing table/desk is designed so that it's easy to eat room service breakfast for example. Many people have remarked over the years there wasn't enough space to put things down so this way it avoids the need for another piece of furniture.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I write from the super king size bed in the luxury room we have now been in for 2 nights contemplating jumping into the hot tub before breakfast. I travel extensively on business but unlike the previous reviewer feel this is every inch a five star experience. The room is well equipped and spacious but it is the little touches that make a a difference such as
High thread count cotton bedding
Huge comfy beds
TV in the bathroom
DVD library if its wet and you want to stay in - Wellies if you are brave and want to venture out

What really sets this place apart is the quality of the service - this is our 3 rd stay and every single member of staff we have encountered has been excellent - they achieve a perfect balance between attentive and friendly whilst not feeling intrusive. The food is also excellent - the menu does not change as regularly as it once did but when it it this quality, that is not a problem and I could eat the crab every day for a month with absolutely no complaint.

Yes it is not cheap, but we are once again returning home refreshed and relaxed feeling like we have been away for much longer then 2 nights and you really cannot put a value on that. We will definitely be back (booked in for New Year and might try to squeeze another night in before if we can)

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Frauvogle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Thanks very much indeed for the fabulous review,
We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had the great pleasure in staying at the hotel and would like to extend our thanks for a fantastic stay.

The staff were all very friendly and clearly well trained as the professional way in which all guests were treated was second to none. Despite this professional 'distance', staff were able to engage with guests on a personal level which made us feel welcomed and individual. From the staff in reception to the restaurant team (who all seem to cross roles and never seemed to go off duty) are all clear assets to your team.

The location is excellent at this hotel with a well thought out viewing lounge. Great for walks and despite our day being a wash out with rain this did not stop the exploring as the hotel very cleverly provide large umbrellas (and wellies should you wish)

The restaurant experience is very good. We were asked to be in the lounge for 8pm for drinks and canapes. I have read some reviews that suggest this to be a ploy to get you to spend money on drinks. Absolute rubbish. If you are the kind of traveller who inisists on free tap water in a bar or restaurant and looking for chips with every course then this isnt the restaurant for you (although id be willing to bet that they would not have a problem catering for you on that one). But if you want a reasonably priced, mitchelin star style dinner then it most definitely is. The breakfast was excellent and loads to choose from, and the restaurant staff addressed the guests by name which is unusual to find in most hotels ive stayed. Goes back to what i said earlier about the professionalism mixed with a personal touch.

The rooms are comfortable and we were pleasantly surprised to return from our afternoon out to find our beds 'turned down'. I wish id known though beforehand as i would have left the room a little tidier. I agree with some of the reviews about the rooms requiring updates but you need to bear in mind the age of this hotel and thankfully they havent got rid of or tried to blend in all the original features. This to some may give a feel of neglect or poor upkeep. I didnt find that at all. Beds extremely comfy and a great bath that filled in under 2 minutes.

Ive given an average for value simply because im sure you can get cheaper elsewhere and as i have not been to every single hotel in the lakes then its unfair to compare on that. Yes, the price of £224 per night for 2 people on b&b basis in a standard room is the higher end of the scale (which does vary depending on the time of year of course) and for most of us this is a one off treat (which it was for us). Basically, if you are looking for somewhere to visit with a great location, great food, great ambience, extremely helpuful and friendly staff, great views and room features then i would suggest this is the place to be.

Room Tip: We had room 21 which was quiet as it was opposite the gardens but no views. I understand there is a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KANDB L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Picked the Linthwaite from Lastminute....a little concerned at the price - over £200 per room feels a little steep these days especially toward the end of the high season. We stayed three nights and had one of the most relaxing stays at an hotel I can remember.
The staff are very attentive but not overly so. Rob (Assistant Manager) was superb when we decided to spend one day at the hotel on the terrace. The staff really did make you feel as if you were at your own country house!
There were a couple of minor niggles that could do with looking at
- we were in room 25 and although there are soft close mechanisms on the doors they give up toward the end allowing bedroom doors to slam - not great if you're enjoying a lie in.
- the heated towel rail was nuclear powered and only has two settings (on/off) which made for a slightly uncomfortable first night while the whole room cooled down.
- the shower would benefit from a pump.
These really are minor issues and did not detract from a fantastic stay and we were comfortable with the room rate.
Well done Linthwaite!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Fabulous! Thanks very much for your very kind comments and review. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

If the room rates at this hotel were half of what we paid, I would have little to complain about this hotel. But when I pay an eye-watering amount of money I then expect serious value for money which was lacking. The gorgeous bathroom shown on the website is one in an upgraded room - it is not the norm so expect pretty dated plumbing in most rooms. The brown/grey walls in the interior corridors are depressing and reminiscent of a 1960s boarding house rather than an upmarket hotel. The food is a cut above, without doubt but I got seriously edgy with a menu that did not change for our entire stay of a week. With six choice of mains three of which were fish, if you are not a fishy person by day 3 you have problems. My problems were compounded by the fact that the poultry options were not comfortable chicken but rather too underdone duck and pigeon. The starters however were masterpieces especially the crab mousse and the salmon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thanks very much for your review and I am delighted you appreciated the food. We had you staying for four nights and not a week as you stated.
I'm not surprised you found it expensive but you did book the Suite, single occupancy, for your son and one of the best rooms for yourself, both of which you confirmed and agreed in writing in advance.
The hotel has been developed over 23 years, and inevitably there is a leapfrogging of design and some prefer the new bathrooms and some the older traditional ones.
The fact that you didn't like the corridor colour is a subjective view but it is a colour we have used since it was chosen by leading Interior Designer Amanda Rosa who also designed Malmaison, amongst other hotels. It is a taupe, made famous by Kelly Hoppen!
Kind regards
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We decided that we would do something special for our 10 year anniversary so as the lakes is one of our favourite UK destinations we decided to make it a time we would never forget.
The overall experience of being in the lakes with absolutely superb surroundings and dedicated staff made this break possibly the best we have ever had anywhere.
The rooms are to die for and I would definitely recommend going for a hot tub.
Previous Lake District breaks have been spent sight seeing and touring however in this break we never left the hotel and its grounds.
We were made to feel very special when the staff found out that we had just got engaged.
We both agree that we would not have wished for anything more.
A beautiful hotel with great staff and gorgeous surroundings.
Can't wait to come back.
Katie and Rick x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilikecheeseyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Fantastic! Delighted you enjoyed the hot tub room, it is very popular indeed. We hope to welcome you back again one day,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,015 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $256 - $719 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing