We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Heaven, as usual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Heaven, as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Just been back to Linthwaite House Hotel, it just gets better and better. Great room with lovely bathroom, beautiful grounds, excellent food but the best thing is the staff who combine efficiency with friendliness and just enough chat to feel welcoming. The hotel's situation looking over Windermere is perfect and it is possible to have tea or drinks on the terrace weather permitting. Everything about the place works from the open fire in Reception to snags ( a non working light)being put right really quickly. Totally welcoming and definitely worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EeyoreBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Many thanks indeed for the wonderful review.
It's very gratifying to know we are getting something right!
We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future,

Kind regards

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,105
    165
    46
    21
    19
See reviews for
148
927
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seascale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our friends from times past had booked in for a short break, and had invited us to join them for dinner. So we took up an offer and stayed overnight. The situation and grounds - and views - are stunning. The hotel is in lovely condition; the staff are really pleasant, welcoming and obviously well trained. the room was excellent and the food was up to the highest standards of Lakes Hotels Fine Dining. The food is interesting and excellently cooked by an obviously inspired chef. (Breakfast menu is really interesting.) We will return! Well done!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WestLakesMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Many thanks for the very kind review.

Chef and all the team work tirelessly to keep our guests happy and it's good news when you tell us we do.

It's nice to get such a positive comment about breakfast; after all it's just about your last experience of the hotel.

Come back soon!

Kind regards

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here in November '12 as a base to find a wedding venue in the area, after finding a last minute deal on Expedia. We felt so at home and were so well looked after that we booked exclusive use for 5th May bank holiday weekend, and it was PERFECT! It's not easy to find a luxury hotel with great food and wine where the staff are so down to earth, feels relaxed and is 'unstuffy'. Kate and the whole team couldn't have done more for us, our friends or family to make the weekend so memorable, so often without having to be asked. Big hats off to the chef for a delicious wedding breakfast that wowed our guests. Rooms are beautiful (especially the hot tub and loft suite) and the poached eggs for breakfast are always spot on! Thanks to everyone at the Linthwaite, see you soon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue-n-Ben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Brilliant.

Weddings are really important to get absolutely right as you only have one go and as you say Kate who handles the bookings and all the operational team know this. (Kate got married here herself!)
So it's tremendous to hear such positive feedback.
Many thanks from all of us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon,
Kind regards

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My husband & I stayed at Linthwaite House Hotel in early March 2013. Even though the weather was chilly and damp we had a delightful visit! The staff were charming and helpful, always ready with suggestions for sightseeing, walks and dining. The accommodations were comfortable and completely unpretentious -- a nice surprise in such a grand old house. I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary-Margaret R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Fantastic, those magic words will definitely visit again.

That's what we love to see because it means we are keeping our guests happy.

We rely very much on our reputation, recommendations and of course repeat business.

Thanks again,

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had the absolute pleasure of spending 3 x nights here when my sister got married.
Firstly I must compliment the staff here. They were all brilliant. They were professional and friendly, extremely helpful and they helped to make my sister's wedding very special.
The rooms are lovely; ours was fabulous with a lovely big bath for two - which we loved! We enjoyed some fantastic food (and wine)! The breakfast menu had lots of choice and the atmosphere at breakfast time was relaxing. We enjoyed an evening dining on the taster menu which was fabulous. The Linthwaite House is in a lovely location and is all lovely inside!
We hope to return and would highly recommend the Linthwaite House for a short Windermere break!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biscuits_in_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went for two nights as a birthday treat. Despite the rather cold weather for May, we managed to sit outside on the patio one day for a drink. Then the showery weather started so that put the end to that! The room was very nice, slightly on the small side but with a lovely en-suite beautifully fitted bathroom. We can't rate the food highly enough - it was excellent and breakfast had loads of choice, everything you could want I think. We'll definitely be back for a second bite of this cherry!

Room Tip: Our room was at the front with a lake view, although it's quite a way away to be honest. I doubt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol_chintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review!
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
719 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went for an overnight stay via an email special offer. The room was fairly small but it had an excellent view onto the garden with a small pond with fish in it. Very relaxing. Dinner was included and although a set menu it had plenty of choices. There were three different choices of fish: I chose the sea bream delicious. Staff were attentive and friendly. Breakfast was also included and again lots of choices.
The views were stunning out onto Lake Windermere and the grounds were lovely.
The only downside was the attempted overcharge on our bar bill, however once I challenged it it was sorted with an apology.

Room Tip: The garden view is lovely and cheaper than a room with a lake view. The conservatory and terrace pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank graham198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Great. Thanks very much indeed for the lovely review.
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 1,113 reviews
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 2,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
21.5 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Castlerigg
5.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing