We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful few days away.”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a personal recommendation and it was all we were told it would be. Beautiful location, fabulous relaxing hotel, attentive service without pretension, thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Overlooking the lake. Watched the sun go down over snow covered hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013

There cannot be many better views than from the veranda of the Linthwaite House Hotel.
The staff are friendly knowledgeable and helpful and whole ambience of the place is designed to relax you in the shortest possible time.
Try out the restaurant which is excellent for both breakfast and dinner.
If its a special occasion, go for the taster menu. Awesome!
Loved it! Back when I can.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Bekahlina
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just returned from a stay here and we were blown away by the hot tub jacuzzi suite. Can't speak for the other rooms but this one (room 21) is spacious, bright, classy & comfortable. Rebecca the girl who checked us in told us all we needed to know and was warm & knowledgable.

The hot tub was amazing, sitting in the hot water drinking champagne (corkage fee added) overlooking lake Windermere was breathtaking, a real must.

The food was extremely good & we had breakfast in bed (paid a supplement for this). The bath is large and has a TV fitted at the end, a great touch.

Altogether a very pleasurable stay and all credit to Rebecca on reception & the room. Will definitely be visiting again. However this luxury doesn't come cheap but obviously you get wgt you pay for. In my opinion this should be a 5 star property.

Amazing place

Room Tip: Pay the extra & book the hot tub room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunseekers2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Ah, the magic R21 with the hot tub. So popular we have just put a second one in to R22. You'll get a view of the Lake too, just not quite as good as the one from R21.

Delighted you enjoyed your stay so much.

5 star or 4 star? The criteria is based on facilities as well as quality. So it is much more likely to find a 5 star property is much bigger than our little 30 bedroomed place.

Come back soon!

Regards

Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

A fine venue set above Bowness Comfortable rooms, attentive staff, good food, all in all a wonderful experience. Good base for exploration of the Lake District and Kendal. We are regulars that is a good accolade

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Begbroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Many thanks for the succinct review which says it all.

One guest recently mentioned he was a new guest and felt alone amongst so many returning customers. He wants to be one of those. Which of course is great, as so many keep returning to us.

Kind regards

Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Linthwaite was recommended to us a few years ago by a Chef friend as being the best place to eat in the Lake District. We live reasonably locally and over the last few years we've been on numerous occasions for lunch as a couple, with friends, and with family. We've also been for birthday dinners in the evening and have stayed overnight a couple of times. Later this year we're attending a small intimate wedding here, which definitely warrants a 2 night stay! I think the food has improved recently, it was excellent before, but now I reckon deserving of a Michelin star, when compared with other establishments in the area which hold a star. The best thing about Linthwaite is the "feel" of the place - from the beautiful grounds where you can wander, to the roaring fires and the comfortable rooms. The staff are amazing and have that perfect balance of efficiency, friendliness and attention to detail which makes visiting a pleasure. Another thing we like is that each time we visit we seem to meet other guests of a similar ilk to ourselves, ie out to enjoy their surroundings and great food, but not at all pretentious, or maybe its just Linthwaite that makes everyone relax? Who knows what the secret is? So a big thank you to our friend who pointed us towards Linthwaite in the first place, and to the whole team who run this fantastic, unstuffy, friendly piece of paradise!

Room Tip: They're all lovely - photos on the hotels website!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Amazing review; many thanks!

Of course Chef thinks he deserves a Michelin star too but they don't give those things out easily. We believe the food is miles better and not only the fine food. We now offer an simple alternative because let's face it, you don't want to have a Michelin Star dinner every night if you come for a few days, do you?

So we do the Unstuffy Burger, and the Fabulous Fish 'n Chips, as well as home made soups and sandwiches, steaks and salads, all of which can be enjoyed on the terrace with a view over the Lake.

And the secret to our unstuffy ambiance is just that. We try to be unstuffy, relaxed, use people's names, reduce the number of hotel rules, which I personally hate, and at the same time we do things well. People want a relaxed but professional experience.

Thanks again!

Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I'm surprised that this hotel s only ranked as no. 2. Spent a most enjoyable two days in great comfort, pampered by high class staff and fed with gourmet standard food. I've stayed in probably too many 5* international hotels from Southern Africa to the Far East and this equals the best

Room Tip: The rooms are all of a high standard with no noise to disturb a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Why not No 1 indeed. Well for a start the excellent Cranleigh at number one isn't a hotel as such, not full service like we are; it is guest accommodation or B&B. So these things aren't really on a level playing field. If there was differentiation between B&B's and hotels we would be No 1.

Anyway, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much and hope to be able to welcome you back again one day,

Kind regards

Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
736 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $258 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing