We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A peaceful haven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A peaceful haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend in February 2013 and could not fault anything. It is a small hotel, beautifully appointed with delightful grounds which include a small tarn. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome by staff who were friendly without being familiar, attentive but not overbearing.
When you see rows of brightly coloured wellies in their own shelving in the porch you get a sense of what is coming: no detail is overlooked. The reception feels warm and cosy - the small log fire pays a part here and the lounge has large windows offering a delightful view of Lake Windermere. Seating is cleverly arranged so that, even when you are adjacent to another party you feel in your own space.
There are nooks and crannies everywhere and clever decor including some beautiful etched glass panels on the stairs - all of which provides tasteful surroundings and a peaceful ambience.
We had chosen a "Preferred Room" and had a great view of the lake. The room was spacious enough for a king sized bed and two comfy arm chairs. The bathroom had a bath with shower and an option of dimmed lighting.
The nibbles before dinner are a taste of what is to come - the food is fantastic. We had pigeon to start on the first night which was full of flavour and perfectly cooked. The main course of venison was equally tasty and we just about found room for a pudding which was themed: we had "rhubarb" and "caramel" - delightful. After dinner the bar and lounge areas are great for relaxing with old trunks being used as tables. There is a good selection of magazines and newspapers.
The following morning, after a full english breakfast (sausages are very meaty) we walked from the hotel on a route recommended by Don - one of the BOOTboys. If you are looking for a walk during your visit check out their website which has a link from the hotel site - find it under "explore" or just download the free walks offered. Our route was called "The Windermere Three Peaks" and covered Brant Fell, School Knott and Orrest Head. We were lucky to have sunshine - although it was cold - and the peaks were just high enough to gain sufficient altitude for some spectacular views without challenging us too much.
Back at the hotel we walked around the tarn to loosen off, ordered a well deserved bottle of Prosecco and enjoyed the last of the suns rays.
Although this is not a hotel to visit on a budget we felt it was well worth the cost. Drinks are standard hotel prices and there is a good selection of wines, beers and spirits.
I would definitely return to the Linthwaite and recommend it - whether you stay, have dinner or simply visit for afternoon tea.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the lake ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarsAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,169
    179
    48
    22
    20
See reviews for
162
985
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I have been to the Linthwaite House hotel 6 times in 7years and it never disappoints. We always stay dinner bed and breakfast, it is an expensive hotel but the service, food and staff is excellent and very friendly. Most of the residents in January seem to have the same idea of getting away from the kids and it is a mile cheaper than a divorce! There are lots of places to visit in the area, (the national trust properties are closed in January). We went into Kendal this time which is an old market town. Put on your places to visit!

Room Tip: All rooms are good we normally just pick the smaller rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Linthwaite is a great hotel for some serious relaxing in a comfortable unstuffy environment, lovely public areas with great views and sofas you don't want to leave, expecially with the addition of a roaring fire. The Loft Suite is rather special and the bathroom amazing, the extremely large bath and massive walk in shower were a real treat. The food was beautifully presented and delicious, served by very friendly, attentive staff. Brilliant drinks selection and cocktails excellently executed. This was our second visit in twelve years, really musn't wait so long for the next visit!!
A couple of housekeeping issues, one being make-up on the collar of a bathrobe (forgot to mention on feedback), not something you would expect to see on a freshly laundered robe.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJC5965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My sister in law is recovering from cancer, and I wondered where to take her for a short stay to cheer her up. The Linthwaite came to mind, as she had treated me and my wife to a weekend for our silver wedding anniversary. A special offer price made the final decision, and so we booked and were on our way.
Arriving in mid January on a snowy afternoon, we were greeted by a charming receptionist and a glowing fire in the hall. As before, nothing was too much trouble, and we were soon ensconced in our beautifully appointed rooms. After an hour to recover from the journey, we went to the lounge, and were lucky enough to get the best spot with a wonderful view over the gardens, with Lake Windermere and distant hills in the back ground. Watching the sun go down while we had coffee and biscuits was a real treat. Dinner was next on the agenda and we were the first in the dining room. Last visit, the food was excellent, with service to match. Seems they recently appointed a new chef - he has kept up the standard and actually improved on the great food provided on our last visit, an almost impossible task. There was no improvement in the service - how can you improve what is perfect!
A great night's sleep followed - and that has just reminded me - even though its about four years since our last visit, when booking, I was asked if I still had a problem with feather filled pillows. Record keeping is obviously well maintained and accurate.
Breakfast was just as good as dinner, with some surprise items on the menu. I won't give away any secrets, but hope that you find them as great as I did when you visit.
Paying the bill was not at all difficult, and it was great value for money, and would have been even at the full price!
On the way home, my wife said - "only one problem - I did not see any chocolate spread". What she did not say at the time, was that she had not asked for it.

Great place, great food, but best of all, great service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hwalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at linthwaite house to celebrate my birthday and I have to say from the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel special, everything about the hotel is exceptional. Once checked in we were given a tour of the hotel and shown to our room, which was beautiful. We decided to have the champagne afternoon tea in the lounge, the service and tea were fantastic, the scones were especially lovely- still warm and served with local damson preserve. The evening meal was another delight, we were greeted in the bar with a selection of canapés whilst we choose from the menu and ordered from the extensive wine list, the food lived up to and surpassed our expectations, and we have eaten in some nice resturants around the world. The following morning we were greeted by our names at breakfast and felt like friends rather than guests. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and I will certainly be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our second visit for DBB in less than 6 months!...and we are now working out the logistics for 2 nights next time as we just want to be able to relax and enjoy the ambience...
Long story short, disabled child, limited support and even less "spare time"...so what we have as a couple is extremely valuable, and we have found that Linthwaite just hits the spot...
From the moment you arrive you feel that they really want you to be there, and are glad you've come (back).
When you come down for your rather late afternoon cream tea (late because you've just had to spend an unplanned half hour getting your car out of a muddy rut after an otherwise lovely walk in Kentmere...!) the waiters know your name, and use it, but somehow without a hint of obsequiousness or "TGI Friday-ness". This continues at dinner, and again at breakfast and indicates a very thoughful approach to both recruiting, and training staff, all of whom we found to be effcient, courteous but not at all stuffy.
The hotel seemed quite busy, with a full dining room, but this didn't appear to hinder service or standards at all.
Dinner was lovely, again, with the highlight for me being the rhubarb based dessert which included sherry jelly, vanilla ice-cream, rhubarb ice-cream in a white chocolate cigar... far too suble yet complex to describe....
We were in room 24, ground floor, view of wee pond, and a lovely seating area with couch by the window.
I could go on....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weeherdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our children bought us a night at this hotel with dinner and breakfast as a treat for my husbands 60th. What a fantastic present.
From arrival to departure everything was so well organised and delivered with quality customer service. Although we have not stayed there before the staff knew which room we were in without having to keep asking us - they made an effort in knowing all their guests.The hotel is very comfortable and warm, the room and food were top quality.
We will definately be back and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing