We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We booked in last minute and got a great deal for dinner, bed and breakfast. Escaping from weeks of decorators at home. The room was comfortable and well furnished with all that we needed. The setting is lovely (in spite of torrential rain) and the conservatory and lounges are extremely cofortable. Dinner was delicious and the whole experience delightful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doupe1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    188
    50
    24
    21
See reviews for
170
1,008
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
www.tripadvisor.com
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Our recent stay was too short to fully experience all that Linthwaite offers, but we gave it our best try. We were weary from our delayed flight from the USA, but immediately felt relaxed when we stepped through the door and saw the burning logs and looked out over the beautiful grounds. There were no disappointments in the room nor the hotel and to say the food was excellent is an understatement. It would be hard to find better food even in a five star restaurant in America. The staff was friendly and sought to make sure that all requests were answered. We would surely visit this property again, but definitely stay longer!

Room Tip: Simply make your needs known when booking as they will assist with finding the room that works for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Wonderful.

Thanks very much for the great review. There is no higher compliment for a hotel than being able to sooth the ruffles out of a long flight. That's what we're supposed to do.

And a huge thanks for making the point about speaking to us to get the right room for you. We have just 30 rooms, but 26 different ones, all individual. Not the same as a Hilton!

You can't do it online as well as you can on the phone! It's bespoke hotel-keeping.

Many thanks again,

Kind regards

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easingwold, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our second short stay this year. Their offers provide excellent value and are ideal for short breaks offering the sort of luxury normally only found in top rate hotels. An ideal spot for exploring the Lakes

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nevison b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I like it, succinct and to the point. More than 50% of our business returns every year!
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a very comfortable hotel ,with lovely views down to the Lake, and good paths through the property.Our room was very nice, every detail well thought out, the bathroom was large, and had everything one could want.Nice and warm ,there is underfloor heating.Though we could hear movements above us in the early evening, it was very quiet during the night.
Dinner was well presented and very good, as was breakfast.The only negatives were that the half bottle of wine had already been decanted when we reached the table, would prefer to see the bottle as is usually the case, and the orange juice at breakfast was watery and acidic, certainly didn't taste like freshly squeezed. But overall a very nice one night stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review.

Regarding the wine, yes it is traditional to show the wine before opening, but we like to get it open to allow it to breathe properly in time for your meal.

If you open the wine just before your meal when you sit down very often it will not be as nice. Wine needs oxygen like we do!

If we open the wrong one, it is our error. We are the Unstuffy Hotel Co, and this is one of the ways we like to break down the pretentions of the hotel and restaurant business.

Regarding the orange juice, I can personally guarantee it is freshly squeezed. Oranges do vary in quality throughout the year so you do get variations, which you don't if it comes out of a box.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day,

Kind regards

Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here a couple of months ago. Yes it is expensive, we did a double upgrade when we arrived because we were a little dissapointed in the basic room. That made all the difference, it was only for 1 night and we loved it, for us it is a location for a special occasion, unless you can afford it on a more frequent basis. The location is gorgeous, food was excellent and would go back without doubt.

The only thing i can fault is that we were told that the staff woiuld move our luggage from the first room to our upgraded room when it was ready, so we could go off and enjoy ourselves. When we arrived at our new room a couple of hours later we found that the door was wide open with all our possessions in there, including my laptop. We told the staff when we went down for our meal, and we got an apology it was human error, but what if any of our possessions i.e. my laptop had gone? I guess that would have then been my problem through no fault of my own.

Putting the human error of someone leaving the door wide open aside, it was special and we would go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mawshe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Many thanks for the well balanced review.

Regarding the comment if your laptop had gone missing; in such a case, if we had left a door open, we would most likely have been liable because we would have been found to be negligent. If you had left the door open it would be your fault.

Happily in 22 years of owning the hotel, the only things that have actually been lost (despite a few accusations) have been the hotel's property! Yes, some sad people actually steal from hotels!

We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day and sorry for the mix up!

Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed in the Loft Suite for the second time and it was perfect. The restaurant is AMAZING with a great wine selection and fabulous food which is beautifully presented. The food was so nice we didn't eat elsewhere and even stayed on for Sunday lunch. The gardens are beautiful and a stroll around the tarn is a great way to walk your lunch off. Views from the conservatory are stunning, making it hard to look away. The staff and management were very accommodating and made our stay special. The loft suite is gorgeous - two very good night's sleep - just perfect.

Room Tip: All of the rooms look lovely - just book and enjoy a wonderful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanandchewwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Wonderful! Thanks for the great review. New Chef Chris really is being highly appreciated and scored a big 5 in the Good Food Guide just out. If only the AA would actually visit he might get his 3 Rosettes!
Thanks for taking the trouble to review us and we look forward to welcoming you backa again to the Loft Suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I were looking for nice peaceful, relaxing 2 day getaway and Linthwaite House provided that and so much more. It is luxurious, charming, non stuffy hotel in a perfect setting. The views of Lake Windemere and surrounding mountains are spectacular and the hotel even has its own tarn which we really loved walking around.

The staff was very attentive to all our needs and helped us with every little request. We stayed in the luxury lake view room and we loved waking up every morning with a view of the lake. Our room was very stylish and modern, especially the bathroom that looked like it was out of a magazine. The dinners are a must if you stay here. They are simply amazing and were the highlight of our day. My compliments to the chef. Every single meal was "perfection-on-a-plate"

We took walks around the property, walked to Bowness one morning and even managed to play croquet one afternoon in the lower garden at the hotel. What a wonderful, special hotel! We are from New York and we would definately go back to Linthwaite House again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank amber633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Fabulous; thanks for writing such a nice review.
We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day,
Kind regards
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
992 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 30-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Wednesday the 1st of November. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing