We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our pampered retreat”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2012

A friend told us our group of four American teachers must stay here. She was right. The lovely views, from the terrace and the tarn, the unbelievable solicitous staff, the delicious and elegantly presented cuisine--all combined to make our 3-day stay the highlight of our 7-day Lake District jaunt. I cannot say enough about the food: we were served a light and refreshing lunch, enjoyed wine and cheese as a supper one night. The breakfasts were superb, and the dining room has a wonderful 3 to 5 course selection. My duck was excellent. Adjacent to all the southern and western and eastern areas we wanted to visit, the location is removed from Bowness and peaceful yet quite accessible. Above and beyond expectations are the attitudes of all the employees. If someone in your party has limited mobility, book early to get a ground-floor accommodation. My second floor retreat looked over flowering shrubs and a hill view. Lovely all around.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

875 - 881 of 1,474 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2012

I booked dinner, bed and breakfast following a review of the hotel in the London Evening Standard. The front of the hotel overlooks lake Windermere and has a fabulous terrace, weather permitting. The whole atmosphere is unstuffy and the staff are laid back but at the same time are attentive. Dinner was excellent and an unusual Californian 'port' was on offer. Our waiter was friendly and skilled. We easily borrowed the ipod nano for the music system in the room and only wish I could have stayed longer to view the extensive dvd selection.. I particularly liked the provision of bright coloured Hunter wellies in the hotel porch; a nice touch given the likelihood of rain in the Lakes. I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edna_Clouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Wonderful. You have mentioned many of things close to our hearts: coloured wellies, music, and unstuffy.
Please come back and enjoy Linthwaite; linger for longer next time.
Kind regards

Mike Bevans
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was our third visit to Linthwaite House, and when we filled in the customer feedback form we couldn't think of any negatives! It feels more like a much loved, stylish family home rather than an hotel. We have stayed in Room 27 twice, which is tastefully decorated and spacious. There was a note on the desk to welcome us back and other thoughtful touches such as bottled water. The room is separate from the main hotel but only a short walk away from reception. (We also have stayed in one of the standard rooms on the ground floor within the main house and can recommend that too). The garden and grounds are beautifully maintained (there are great swathes of stunning wild flowers, including orchids, in parts of the lawned areas) and the tarn is magical, looking down on Lake Windermere. Everything feels and looks well cared for, and of course the service is excellent and the food - breakfast, afternoon tea, dinner - delicious.The conservatory looks across the Lake, so there is stiff competition for the sofa in there in the evening, but there are plenty of other comfy chairs in the lovely lounge areas. Sarah and Andy always make time to chat and are convivial hosts so it's a very unstuffy and very welcoming experience.We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

I love that word unstuffy!

That's exactly what we set out to do (22 years ago on the 31st July) when we bought Linthwaite. It was our home then too; we'd sold the house to buy the hotel, so we lived there for three years.

That established how we should run the business; it is very much part of the family, a home from home, with professional but UNSTUFFY staff!

We hope we can welcome you back again soon,

Many thanks

Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We chose to stay with friends from Thailand at the Linthwaite House Hotel for a three night Anniversary and Birthday celebration. Upon our arrival we were immediately made to feel very welcome. Our bedrooms were all extremely well appointed with lovely views. During our stay nothing was too much for the staff, we found them to be very professional and friendly. The Hotel is situated on a beautiful hillside location in its own grounds with a very nice walk that leads you up to a Tarn and even better views of Lake Windermere, one thing to watch out for is that the drive leading up to the hotel car park is narrow in places. Breakfast was a real treat, again the staff made every effort to ensure we needed for nothing. We had our celebration dinner at the hotel restaurant on the last night of our stay, we had a fantastic evening with beautifully presented food, Chef, Chris O'Callaghan and waiters Rob and Ben made it a night we will not forget.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Brilliant!
Thanks very much for that glowing report.
Gratefully
Mike Bevans & The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

A beautiful boutique property with all the amenities. Perched on a hill top with an observatory overlooking the lake is so picturesque. We checked in October when everything was green and fresh. It rains quite frequently in the central lake district so donnforget to carry umbrellas and rain boots with yourself. We just loved the warmth of the place which is so tastefully done. The stroll down Windermere town was awesome. They have a facility to get the cabs for pick n drop as well. It's at 15 minute drive from the railway station and on the outskirts.one can get a deal inclusive of meals as weldor you may walk down the town to have Indian food in Indian restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmitabhChaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Many thanks for your very kond review.
Kind regards from us all at Linthwaite.
Mike Bevans

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here at The Linthwaite for one night and were treat like Royalty from the moment we entered the hotel till the minute we left. This hotel is just a little gem. The staff are amazing and how they remember your room number, name and drinks is beyond me. The weather was awful but just looking out to the views across the lake was awesome. The room was immaculate and all the little touches like fresh water in a lovely glass bottle and Molton Brown products in the bathroom just made it even more special. Now the food!!! So tasty and freshly done to your requirements, that is some chef. We had our son's wedding here 3 years ago and everyone still talks about it now. Nothing negative at all about this hotel, just can't wait till we book again. Oh! and don't forget to walk up to the tarn, its breathtaking. Thankyou to all at The Linthwaite. xx

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blondidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 5, 2012

Woh, faultless is a tall order to live up to but we will try.
Many thanks for that wonderfully good review!
We are obviously delighted you enjoyed your stay again and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon,
Kindest regards
Mike Bevans & the whole team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This is a hotel where everything that you might think you need has already been thought of, by this very caring and efficient hotel staff. It is situated in lovely grounds in a beautiful spot with amazing views. The rooms are very comfortable and the food is absolutely fabulous. We have been to stay three times and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Many thanks for your very kind review.
We look forward to welcoming you back again,
Yours
Mike Bevans & the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,996 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: $276 - $374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The latest addition to the Leeu Collection portfolio is Linthwaite House, a 36-room country house retreat overlooking Lake Windermere in England’s scenic Lake District. Breathtaking views, private gardens and woodland grounds, and an award-winning restaurant make for an idyllic stay. Linthwaite House will be closed for refurbishment from Monday the 19th of June until Spring 2018. Leeu Collection will be upgrading this popular Lake District boutique hotel in order to bring you an even better, more beautiful Linthwaite House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing