We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place, but a bit ahead of itself.”
Review of Linthwaite House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Linthwaite House
Certificate of Excellence
North Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, but a bit ahead of itself.”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I have to say I have been nothing but impressed with Linthwaite. We stayed in the room with the hot tub, beautiful, spotless, hotel service excellent.

The chef is also fantastic, on par with some Michelin star restaurants I've been to in the past.

Some people dress up, there's really no need it is quite an informal environment, with very formal and professional staff.

Unfortunately the last night let itself down, and this is my reason for a 4 star rating. The food service was exceptionally slow, with no apology or attention paid to that fact.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dannn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Many thanks for your great review. I am truly sorry to hear about the service in the restaurant on your last night. Not good enough and certainly inexcusable that no-one communicated with you. I'm sure you, like others, do appreciate that hotels and restaurants are run by people and sometimes people get it wrong. But it's how you handle it that counts. We will just have to try harder! Managers need to be empathetic at all times
Many thanks again,

Mike Bevans
Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    186
    48
    22
    21
See reviews for
168
999
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed at the Linthwaite House Hotel for their 'Festive Break' between Xmas and New Year 2012. It was excellent. Took the dog and the room was ideal. Walks around hotel were great and the suggested walks available were really helpful.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff - I couldn't find my 'doggie bags' so reception helped by providing some. Cooked breakfast made to order so was hot on arrival. Can't say enough in their favour.
An Excellent break! And the dog came too!
Pauline Gammon

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Brilliant. Thanks for writing the review. Delighted the dog had a good time too!
Mike Bevans
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

I booked a night in room 21 for my boyfriends christmas gift and we stayed between christmas and NY. Room 21 has a hot tub and outdoor patio and fantastic views of the lake and surrounding landscape. I felt completely relaxed and although the weather wasn't great it didn't detract from the breathtaking view. The room was perfect - the furnishings and lighting were fantastic. I asked for the 'indulge me' package as an extra for the room and we had chocolate coated strawberries and prosecco on ice waiting for us which we enjoyed in the hot tub! We ate in the restaurant at night and the food was second to none. I have been in many fine dining restaurants before and the hotels food was excellent. Both of us felt very relaxed and it was just what we needed after a busy year. Thanks to all at the Linthwaite for giving us a wonderful stay and a couple of days of luxury!

Room Tip: The Lake View Rooms are definately worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chellxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

Great location. Fabulous food with exceptional service. Room was small and, for me, doesn't justifythe full price tag. Half price in Jan/Feb meant it was worth it for food,service, and variety of small lounge areas.

Room Tip: The more you pay the better the room. If you can afford it - do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mysteryshopper911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thanks very much for your kind review. yes, the 50% off dinner rom and breakfast has made us very busy in January. We have a variety of rooms, all shapes and sizes, different outlooks and prices. But one feature which is consistent is our brilliant staff giving unflagging quality service throughout the stays. Doesn't always work of course; we are human after all. But we never give up trying to get better.
Looking forward to welcoming you back one day
Mike Bevans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We recently stayed for 1 night to celebrate my wifes brithday,we have been for meals before but never stayed.The situation is superb high overlooking Lake Windermere,the sun enhanced it.We opted for a larger room with a king sized bed as i am rather tall,its worth paying the extra.All the staff are friendly but efficient,they remember your name.We started with afternoon tea,the scones were lovely although a little small.At dinner canapas are served first which is a nice touch,the dinner itself was full of interesting and beautifull flavours,the helpings were a little small particuarly the cod starter but you dont feel bloated after the meal.We are quite well travelled and it makes all the difference when somebody with experience is in charge of he bar and restuarant which is the case here,she was very good.The atmosphere in the hotel is relaxed,it has all the usual facilities without being too big.Breakfast was outstanding,my full cooked was made to order,research has been done to source the best flavour products.The roasted plums beforehand were unique but tasty and the blueberry pancakes out of this world.I would strongly recommend this hotel and with the Winter offers on represents good value for money taking into account the whole holiday expereince.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangerinelancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This is a really, really impressive Hotel with an understated elegance. Most importantly, everything works with maximum efficiency (the rooms, international travel adaptors and arrangements for dinner!). The staff are very professional, very friendly, very helpful and obviously well trained and led. Room service (fresh milk) appears in less than a minute of calling. Assistance with luggage gladly given. First class toiletries for the bathroom. I Iooked hard for things to criticise and was found wanting. The public areas of the Hotel are beautifully furnished in a country house (almost Club) manner. It being winter (log fires abound), we did not explore the gardens, but they appear extensive. The Restaurant is wonderful. Local produce cooked beautifully. An extensive wine list, including by the glass. Focussed waiters, discretely servicing their tables. A serious and confident Hotel. Well done.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicholasAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I dont normally write reviews but having read some of the very few negative reviews I felt I had to lend my weight to counter them as I dont recognise their desctption of their experience. We first visited Linthwaite in 2008 and decided to use it as a wedding venue that June as we were having a very small civil ceremony. We were made to feel so special by the staff and their attentiveness that it really added to out day. Our parents were so delighted with it they have stayed several times since and have recommended to friends who have also stayed. We came back in 2011 for an aniversary meal and stayed at the start of January in 2012 for dinner bed and breakfast for 2 nights. The quality and care given to us by the staff over the three years has been of the highist standard throughout. The food has always been sublime. Having had the evening meal and breakfast the next day, we managed a 9 mile walk before returing for dinner the second night. Despite the activity we only managed a scone for lunch whilst out and about. No, this isnt the cheapest hotel in the area but in our opinion it must be the best.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House, responded to this review, January 14, 2012
A big thank you from all of us for the wonderful review. We try to get it right all of the time of course, but are never complacent as things do happen occasionally.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Mike & all the team at Linthwaite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House

Property: Linthwaite House
Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Business Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the Lake District's best country house hotels, but unstuffy! Great views, acres of private grounds, fishing, golf nearby, hiking, walking, extreme sports all within easy access. Great food, from fine dining to the Unstuffy Hamburger! Many wines by the glass and beers from local macro breweries. Lots of staff to pamper you and help you relax. Two rooms have private hot tubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Linthwaite House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel
Linthwaite House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing